Find companies:
Books-A-Million
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
197 reviews

Books-A-Million Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Believably the worst company to work for
Bookseller/Cashier (Former Employee), South Portland, MEJuly 7, 2014
Cons: no advancemnet, ungodly horrific treatment, poor wages.
You can go into BAM as an entry level employee, and for me it was a dream job, and learn quickly there is no room for advancement despite how hard you work (the store manager admits she only promotes those that brown nose "because that's how the world works"), my life (and the life of my grandparents, an infant in my care, and people I care for) were – more... threatened by an employee, and according to management it wasn't the store responsibility to ensure my safety, nor was it their problem because the offender could sue the store if they intervened to protect an employee, and to top all this off an assistant manager laughed at the death of my unborn child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Statesboro, GAJuly 7, 2014
I enjoyed helping customers purchase their merchandise. I helped them find what they were looking for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place if you like books
Customer Service and Overnight Truck Crew (Former Employee), Concord, NHJune 29, 2014
Pros: good discount
Cons: not a career
I worked the night crew mostly so it wasn't too bad. we were left to ourselves from 10-7:30. Management of the night crew wasn't very good so we couldn't get much work done due to lack of explaining and training. good discounts on books. It had a fun environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive work environment.
Customer Service Clerk (Former Employee), Wilson, NCJune 25, 2014
A relaxing day filled with educated minded people. Serving customers whether as a barista or bookseller was always fun and exciting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Trussville, ALJune 24, 2014
Pros: access to books
Cons: low moral
I worked in both the cafe and the book side of the store so tasks varied from day to day. Though the morning shifts involved setting up and preparing for the day while the evening shifts involved cleaning up, taking inventory, and making the store presentable. Some of the sales objectives were difficult, but my co-workers were fantastic, and made the – more... days enjoyable. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Invaluable real-life business experience
General Manager (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLJune 24, 2014
It's been my privilege to work in the book/publishing business for the last 14 years. In terms of keeping your finger on the pulse of what goes on in our society; from popular culture, to politics and beyond, one would be hard pressed to ask for a better job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable work atmosphere.
Barista (Former Employee), North Little Rock, ARJune 21, 2014
I served drinks and pastries to a variety of customers in a fast-paced environment. I gained people skills and learned a large amount about customer service. The management personnel, my co-workers, and I worked as a team. It was a great environment to work in. The hardest part of the job was we had our weekly truck delivery.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job in the most unmotivational way ever encountered
Specialist (Current Employee), Bossier City, LAJune 21, 2014
Pros: beginner experience
Cons: everything else, and more
Here's a basic rundown of how the typical day goes at BAM:

Manager opens the store a couple minutes late.
The usual customers come in to find new books or get a drink.
Cashier/Barista get informed of how many cards they have to get to make percentage.
Customer Service becomes a madhouse as there is only one person to run the desk/operate the phones.
Manager – more... wanders around and does something helpful every now and then, sometimes rarely at all.
Store closes after a long day and all the customers leave unhappy because the cashier/barista would not stop harassing them over the discount card.

On the bright side, if you work at the Customer Service desk, you can learn how to be personable and make a few friends as well as stock some shelves. It's easily the least stressful job in the store, unless you're supposed to do 15 things at once which occurs on a semi-regular basis. It's a thankless job though, considering you're not directly involved with the metrics of the store.

Management in this store is ridiculous to say the least. The first thing the new General Manager did when he got to the store was have a meeting about how everyone was replaceable and we needed to meet metrics. He then proceeded to inform us on how to sell cards and magazines by avoiding pertinent information on how to cancel them and encouraging shady ways to sell customers on them. Epic scams are abundant with this company.

As an added note, the store becomes unbearably hot in the summertime. The A/C can be broken for weeks and there is not a fix for it in sight. I had a customer inform me that the store has been that hot during the summer for over 10 years!

If you are offered a job here, I would seriously consider turning it down. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Customer Service Specialist/Book Keeper/ Basrista (Former Employee), joplin, moJune 17, 2014
Pros: laid back environment, family like coworkings. great line of work
Cons: hours
i reccommend this job to anyone, good company. coworkers are all friendly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Accounts Payable Processor (Former Employee), Birmingham, ALJune 12, 2014
Pros: i liked the work. 401k match. vendor sales.
Cons: low pay raises, communication, health care expensive.
I worked in the corporate office for 4 years. Good environment. Pay raises bad. Small opportunity for advancement. Communication from management to employees was not good.
The HR team that is now in place at the corporate office has been doing a great job of pulling the employees together with events.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great for book lovers
Barista (Cafe) and Customer Service (Former Employee), Alexandria, LAJune 10, 2014
Pros: fun enviorment to work in
Cons: management
loved working with the general public and serving them I like learning new things so this job was great always had too learn at least three new drinks a month it was fun. the coworkers were great we were all like a big family
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no longer a good place to work
Receiving Specialist (Current Employee), Lawrenceville, GAJune 9, 2014
Morale is low. Many are leaving. People are stressed for numbers but little help is given.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outdated company with little to no growth potential
Dept Specialist (Current Employee), Lake Charles, LAJune 7, 2014
Pros: working with children and assisting customers
Cons: lazy co workers and lack of a true team environment
I thoroughly enjoy my job with the company and taking care of my department. My area is well managed by myself and continuously receives great reviews from regional and district management team members. When I am not at work, it is abundantly clear that no one else cares to try and maintain my same high standards.There is a lack of team attitude and – more... decline in morale due to outdated pay scales, no raise system, and zero benefits to anyone except full time employees. (which only applies to management) The hardest part of working for the company is maintaining a positive attitude when excellent work is not rewarded. It is even harder for me to continue to over perform while so many others under perform and receive the same benefits, or lack there of benefits at all. Management seems to continually hire warm bodies instead of qualified individuals. I am not shocked however that we cannot get quality employees due to lack of competitive pay. It greatly saddens me because I see so much potential in the store for growth. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant job
Order Filler (Current Employee), Florence, ALJune 6, 2014
I enjoy the atmosphere in this workplace. I like that the management are involved with their employees and care what the employees think.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exiciting and entertaining!
Book Seller (Former Employee), Niles, OHJune 4, 2014
The employees know how to make work feel less like work, and turn everything into a way to pass the work day by while enjoying it!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, good working environment, stable family company which treats the employees well and stands behind them.
Customer Service (Former Employee), Auburn, ALMay 31, 2014
Pros: good healthcare, company discounts.
Cons: decrease of work hours during spring and summer time of the year.
Greeting customers, finding what they were looking for and taking them to the right location. On some occasions ordering books for them and letting them know the availability and the expected ship date.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Modern Bookstore
Customer Service, Cashier, Barista (Former Employee), North Canton, OHMay 30, 2014
A typical day at work revolves around manning registers and helping customers on the floor, or working in the cafe making drinks for customers. Whilst working their I learned about pushing products on top of sales and the layout of the store in an almost librarian-esque manner. The management at the store has a few fantastic faces but over all they – more... play more of a passive role unless one of the personalities does not blend with an employee. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment with a great staff
Cafe Barista (Current Employee), Martinsburg, WVMay 30, 2014
Pros: friendly staff, quick advancement opportunities.
Cons: demanding sales goals
Retail can be a highly demanding field of work, especially when you're competing with the growing internet marketplace for sales. The management team sets high goals for their employees and expect no less than great salesmanship, but anyone with a knack for customer service and a willingness to get the job done will have no problem succeeding in this – more... company. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's retail
General Manager (Former Employee), Pennsdale, PAMay 29, 2014
Overall the atmosphere was great, the team that worked for me was phenomenal, but it was retail. Unfortunately, it didn't work to balance my family, work, and school life in the way that was needed.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Customer Service Specialist (Former Employee), Abilene, TXMay 21, 2014
Pros: you get a decent discount on books
Cons: harrasment, bad attitudes, and horrible management
This job started out as an awesome place to work. We had great management and had lots of fun. It was all about the customers. But once they brought in new management it all went downhill. They were rude. We had to sell discount cards at 20$ a card to make our sales quota. If they customer didnt want them we were told to make them or else we had to – more... buy it ourselves. I currently have 15 cards to my phone number. We had this nice old lady who came in weekly and when a new associate told the manager that he charged her for a card without her noticing he was praised! We had another customer who was a regular who applied for the job. She was perfect for it but our manager told us he didnt hire her bc she was too fat and we needed attractive sales people to make our percent. This business is no longer about the customers. It only cares about making its sales. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Books-A-Million

Books-A-Million caters to readers who aren't millionaires. The third-largest US bookseller (behind Amazon and Barnes & Noble) – Read more