Find companies:
Boomtown Casino
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Boomtown Casino Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Least Ball-busting of the casinos
Table Games Dealer/ Floor Supervisor (Current Employee), Bossier City, LAJuly 9, 2014
Pros: fun coworkers and customers, easygoing job, free lunch, working indoors
Cons: low pay, low benefits, no advancement
Good people who aren't out to jackpot you. If money were no object this would be te place to work. Due to the drop in revenue opportunity to make more money or advance is virtually non-existent. Rest assured you will be paid at the lowest payscale you can get.

Guests are not the high-rollers, but more the neighborhood folks and low level ($20 buyins) – more... players. Tips are correspondingly scarce. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
HR Coordinator (Former Employee), Harvey, LAJune 9, 2014
Typical day at work answering phone, reviewing applications, on boarding and dealing with employee relations. The hardest part of the job is departing way with an employee and the most enjoyable part of my job is seeing a beginning and end.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A constantly changing and evolving atmosphere
Engineering Supervisor (Former Employee), Harvey, LAApril 30, 2014
Pros: constantly changing environment never a dull moment.5 min. from home
Cons: being on call 24 hrs 7 days a week and being put on salary due to that.
A typical day at work consisted of making decisions through experience and changing plans during jobs as needed. Completing paperwork and ordering material on a daily basis. Also making sure the building responsibilities where taken care of in a timely and efficient manner using the right people and tools for the job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fun place to work!
Hotel night auditor (Former Employee), Verdi, NVMarch 16, 2014
Pros: interaction with the guest
Cons: pay and benefits
This was a fun enviroment to work because it is a small Casino compared to others which allows one to interact with the guest better an on a more personal level. The layers of the bigger Casinos doesn't exist here and the comunication is a lot better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My day in the buffet
Server/Cashier (Current Employee), Biloxi, MSFebruary 4, 2014
Pros: smiles on the cutomers face. and the tips.
Cons: no breaks, and healthcare
First thing we do is pre-shift I cannot stand when a customer asks me a question about tournaments for that day or week. I always make sure I have the answer. With each guest that comes in I treat as I would like to be treated. I talk to them joke with them and make sure they have everything the need to enjoy their meal. I also have side work to be – more... done during the shift a lot of cleaning I hate working in a dirty environment. At the end of my shift I wipe of my tables and roll my silverware and that's it really. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and well managed company
Valet Attendant (Current Employee), New Orleans, LADecember 11, 2013
Pros: good coworkers
Cons: not enough pay.
Overall, this job was fun and laid back. Enjoyed meeting all kinds of customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service and Entertaining
Senior Swing Shift Manager (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSNovember 22, 2013
Working with the public and providing customer service. Great team work with the fellow co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of money and great lunches
Beverage Server (Former Employee), Bossier City, LANovember 9, 2013
Pros: great money and cute uniforms
Cons: slow nights, and long hours
. I loved talking to lots of people
. Also loved learning the game.
.
.
.
.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like working with my hands
Steward (Current Employee), Biloxi, MSOctober 31, 2013
A typical day at work is braking down the equipment to clean the kitchen and the floors
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced life of the casino industry
Network Administrator (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAOctober 11, 2013
Pros: good working enviroment and friendly co-workers
Cons: on call to maintain a 24/7 casino operation
Maintained systems and provided preventive maintenance.
Troubleshoot system and user issues as they arise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great guest
Pit Clerk/Poker Cashier/Dispatcher (Current Employee), louisianaSeptember 30, 2013
Cons: interacting with customers
Loved working with co-workers, interacting with the guest insuring guest satisfaction. I learn to value my internal and external guest without them I could have never accomplished what I did. the hardest part was not being able to satisfied each and every guest to the fullest. my most enjoyable was greeting new as well as previous long term guest each – more... and everyday. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed work, but not the place itself.
Custodian (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSSeptember 1, 2013
Pros: free clinic.
Cons: management, benefits
The work itself was not bad, however, management has a few things to learn about fair and unbiased treatment of employees. Benefits are lacking, EDR food is not great, and it is similar to high school when it comes to gossip, drama, and backstabbing.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
PRODUCTIVE , FUN, BUT CHALLAGING .
PIT CLERK / 21 DEALER (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAJuly 4, 2013
Pros: having a job, 2nd family, customers.
Cons: not having a job.
CUSTOMER SERVICE / ENTERTAINMENT, YOU LEARN PATIENTS AND ENDURANCE, MANAGEMENT:YOU JUST HAVE TO KNOW WHO YOUR WORKING WITH FOR THAT DAY AND KNOW HOW THEY WANT PROCEDURES DONE WITH IN COMPANY POLICIES, EVERY SUPERVISOR IS A LITTLE DIFFERENT. CO-WORKERS SOMETIMES FUNNY AND LIKEABLE. THE HARDEST PART OF THE JOB: IT'S NOT, YOU JUST DO YOUR JOB. THE MOST – more... ENJOYABLE PART OF THE JOB: ARE THE CUSTOMERS AND BEING IN THE MOMENT. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a job
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee), Shreveport, LAJune 20, 2013
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no buisiness
some of the management is very immature some are great ita an ok job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great foot in the door for a Casino Job and Fun!
Gift Shop Clerk/Players Club Rep (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSMay 15, 2013
Pros: free lunch great food!
Cons: could be very loud at times!
Boomtown was a great casino to work for a lot of promotions for customers and awesome place to grow in a casino

co workers were fantastic always helped when needed!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Cook (Former Employee), Harvey, LAApril 17, 2013
Pros: great job security.
Cons: slack management.
Despite working the graveyard shift, it was a fantastic job all-in-all. Customer volume was very high, so meeting the mark secured great hours and overtime was not frowned upon, as they were more than capable of compensation. The management was a bit to relaxed at times which led to some minor issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not stable enough to manage a household.
Food Server (Former Employee), Bossier City, LAMarch 9, 2013
Job lacks skill of communicating with the guest. Only offers part time shifts with little pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting working enviorment
Assisting patrons (Former Employee), Harvey, LouisianaFebruary 26, 2013
Pros: great people, discount on food, great hours
Going in to work was a pleasure, dealing and helping the customers to learn how to play the different casino games was a thrill. Just seeing the smile on their faces was worth it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Vacation inviorment
Player Club Shift Manager (Former Employee), Biloxi, MSFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: awesome benefits, vacation, 401k, medical and free lunches
Cons: working 11p.m - 7 a.m
I learned about the Gaming Industry.
I did not get to interact with the general management, as I worked the Grave Shift, but the ones I did have occasion to meet always seemed to be stressed.
My co-worked were great.
The hardest part of this job was, dealing with Guest that had lost a lot of money especially the VIP that came in on a regular basis some – more... ending up losing their homes, family, etc.
The most enjoyable part of this job was the environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun for a while
Cashier, Stocker (Former Employee), Bossier, LAFebruary 18, 2013
Pros: as long as you come to work on time your good.
Cons: when you want to doing something else they dont want to let you go.
Come to work on time. Talk to co workers and customers. I liked my managers. I like the different cultures they brought in like the foreign students. It was fun to work with them.