Find companies:
Boot Barn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
32 reviews

Boot Barn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
seasonal key holder (Former Employee), Missoula, mtMarch 20, 2014
Pros: nothin
Cons: everything
I helped open the Missoula store...first off the dm is an awful person..felt as though she played favorites. I was hired on as seasonal with the hopes of staying on. Although now I'm glad I didn't..If you aren't a skinny cowgirl you don't stand a chance. I was let go because I was seasonal told that my performance was amazing but since I was hired last – more... they had to let me and a couple others go...Shouldn't it be based on performance?! Instead they chose to keep the lazy young skinny cow girls! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store is great
Third Key Manager (Current Employee), Dickinson, NDMarch 14, 2014
This facility is great management is great. It is just the best environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant!!!
HR (Current Employee), Irvine, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: incompetent management
Company is very unorganized no policies set in place. Favoritism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a strong work ethic in company.
3rd Key Holder (Former Employee), Missoula, MTFebruary 8, 2014
All about customer info most customers don't want to give it anymore.When you don't get it you are written up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Longview, TXFebruary 5, 2014
I loved working in the western environment. Its a rewarding job to be able to help people pick out clothes and boots. They tell you what they are looking for and you show them what you have. I loved the people I worked with we always made work a fun place to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: discount, travel
Cons: horrible staff, disrespect, no training at all
I was a 3rd key + ICS when it was Baskins & loved my job, but as soon as Boot Barn took over I did leave my position for about 1month then I was called from my DM asking me to take over Wichita Falls store as the store manager & I did. The only type of training I received was going to Vegas for 4 days but that was NOT in office training. I started this – more... SM position on October 1st 2013 & did very well making sure everything was done as best as I thought. The staff could no call no show, be late, etc & I could not write them up without approval (why have a store manager then?) Then I also had employees that stole from the store but yet they got to keep their job wow. So my boss comes in & lets me go after I worked half the day because she had nobody else to run the store because of 1 error without any warning & I had NEVER been wrote up while in this position, I think they need to re think of how they treat people that always do the right thing, but they decide to keep people that steal & not show up for work I guess! You should be fine working for Boot Barn as long as you are NOT in management.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
retail associate (Former Employee), Turlock, CAJanuary 30, 2014
do not receive benefits but a very friendly and fun place to work. extremely clean!!! very organized!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Troutdale, ORJanuary 1, 2014
When we were busy, I always was on my toes and always had something to do. There were slow days which we spent making sure all of our clothes/boots were out on the floor, and that everything was in its correct place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, out-going environment to work in.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gallup, NMOctober 3, 2013
I greeted the customers and assisedt them with merchandise and answer any questions that they had about the products. When there wasn't any customers to help, I would stay busy by organizing the deparments, cleaning the shelves, re-arraning the displays and folding apparel according to store policies. I got along with the customers and my co-workers. – more... We were all team players and we helped each other get tasks done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee), Tulare, CaSeptember 30, 2013
Good stable job in tough economic times. A growing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Store Manager (Former Employee), Farmington, NMSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: read review
Cons: read review
In my time with this company I experienced great things and horrible things. The great things were, paid travel to special events, opportunities for advancement and a good benefits package. The negative aspects are as follows: No training when advanced, No training when things go wrong, Held responsible for others actions prior to your advancement. – more... I would recommend Boot Barn for a stepping stone, not a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Tulare, CAJuly 22, 2013
helping customers supervising employess meeting sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMay 27, 2013
meet and greet customers and provide them with everything they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but professional and fun environment!!
HR (Current Employee), Irvine, CaMay 20, 2013
Pros: growth opportunties!!
Not only is this company growing like crazy but it has incredible growth potential internally too! Down-to-earth employees and excellent benefits...with a great work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Environment, if you are in the "Circle"
SALE ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Modesto, CAMay 13, 2013
Pros: traveling (dining & hotel stays), contests, networking (with other stores)
Cons: no benefits, unstable hours, negative energy
My overall experience at this company was great in the sense that they work well with school schedules and give you the opportunity to travel, only if you show interest and you are in good terms with the district manager and store manager. Otherwise, one would never know of the opportunities. When I did travel to other store, I was given all the perks, – more... such as attending rodeos, meeting the Cinch Riders, meeting great people from other store (who I learned alot form), and learning the actual Boot Barn policies and procedures. I have absolutely no complaints in that area. In regards to this particular store's environment, it was not stable and always depended on the manager's energy. If you are not in the manger's friend circle, you will most likely have trouble and obstacles in order to maintain your work hours. Also, do not be shy and meet upper management such as district managers or the CEO of the company if the opportunity arises. Lastly, know Boot Barn policies! Management in the store may ask you to perform tasks outside of the company policy. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boot Barn is a very good company to work for.
Store Manager (Former Employee), Modesto, CAMay 9, 2013
Pros: proffessiona company, great leadership and heavy on customer service expectations
Cons: salary not as high as other companies i have worked for.
Upper management was involved in meetings and listened to suggestions. They like outside the box thinking and were willing to try any new ideas.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Sales Associate (Current Employee), ValdostaMay 7, 2013
Cons: everything.
Inexperienced and unorganized managers run this store. The South Georgia location is the worst location I've seen representing this company. My current boss is awful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management Awful/ NO teamwork
I.C.S/Sales Associate (Former Employee), Grand Jct, COApril 21, 2013
Pros: nothing
Cons: no team work
ICS-Sales Associate.
Morning chores,then freight,outbounds,receiving freight,tagging merchandise to put on sales floor.
As in Teamwork there is NONE from Store Manager.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over promise, under deliver
Manager in Training (Former Employee), Cheyenne, WYApril 4, 2013
Pros: getting to meet people from all over the world
Cons: being promised a promotion and not ever given a plan to achieve or earn the promotion.
Opening the store, counting the money for the drawers, focusing on current promotions and trying to sell merchandise. I learned the true meaning of "sink or swim". I started the week before Frontier Days. The store is one of the most iconic western stores in the country. As far as management, it is stale and they treat you like a number, not an asset. – more... Co-workers are great. Hardest part of the job was the waiting for my own store and never getting one. The most enjoyable part was meeting all of the tourists from all around the world. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worse Company Ever
Executive (Former Employee), Irvine, CAMarch 23, 2013
I worked at the corporate office and they could really care less about your well being. They are prejudice and they use people. I was appalled to see how they treat employees. I have never worked for a company like this. I would rather flip burgers at McDonald's than to work here again. I love how they promote USA but their boots are made either in – more... China or Mexico. Way to go Boot Barn. – less