Find companies:
Boot Barn
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
38 reviews

Boot Barn Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid-back work environment, maybe too laid-back
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Billings, MTJuly 11, 2014
Pros: easy, low expectations (if that's what you like), a lot of down-time, good discount
Cons: not enough hours, lazy coworkers, messy store
This was the easiest job I've ever had. Unfortunately, I felt like I was always doing more work than my coworkers and I resented the store always being a mess when other coworkers were working. I loved my manager as a person, but as a manager she could definitely have been better. She gave the laziest people the most hours and falsely told me I would – more... be working fulltime when I started. I loved merchandising and folding jeans and putting away boots, even talking to customers and helping them try on boots and clothes. I feel I would have had a lot better of an experience if there had been standards set and followed for what was expected of workers. It was at times embarrassing to see the condition of our store when it could have easily been solved by putting in a minimal amount of work such as vacuuming and refolding clothing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
ICS/Sales Floor (Former Employee), Las Vegas, NVJune 14, 2014
Pros: staff was friendly and great to work with
Cons: was temp job
The typical day at work started about 8 am and we would start tagging merchandise if we didn't have anything to do in the back room I would go to the floor until the ups and fed ex trucks arrived.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Life Allowed
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMMay 9, 2014
Pros: 40% discount
Cons: hours, favortism, training, pay, benefits
Typical work week was 45-50 hours.. I was told going to college was a waste of time and was forced to drop a class. Then they refused to let me go to the hospital when my husband was injured in a car wreck during my shift. I went anyway, and quit.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Old, rundown store with high school mentality
3rd key (Former Employee), Show Low, ArizonaMay 9, 2014
Cons: promised healthcare after 45 days...never happened
Undertrained as a 3rd key, store meetings consisted of do's and dont's of behavior for insecure store manager, no room for growth, manager kept sale based rewards.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable work environment
3rd Key Manager (Current Employee), Cordelia, CAMay 7, 2014
Pros: health care benifits
Cons: no room for growth
Typical work day consist of processing incoming freight. Making sure the items are correctly labeled, censored, and placed in a visually stimulating way. Directing and helping customers decide on the proper fit of the boot for their need, assembling outfits, and providing boot education for proper care. Handle any customer issues such as faulty products, – more... returns/exchanges, locating specific items, and of course dissatisfied clientele.
Management assigns daily tasks and product education to staff, completing price changes, corporate directives, customer returns and issues. Handling all aspects of banking and opening,closing procedures of the store. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people to work with
Sales Associate (Current Employee), alexandria louisianaApril 28, 2014
It is a easy job as long as you do what your told. All around it is an enjoyable job. Worse part is the pay.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun enviroment
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), Minot, NDApril 14, 2014
days were usually easy and fun
management was good to all employees
coworkers were easy to get along with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
seasonal key holder (Former Employee), Missoula, mtMarch 20, 2014
Pros: nothin
Cons: everything
I helped open the Missoula store...first off the dm is an awful person..felt as though she played favorites. I was hired on as seasonal with the hopes of staying on. Although now I'm glad I didn't..If you aren't a skinny cowgirl you don't stand a chance. I was let go because I was seasonal told that my performance was amazing but since I was hired last – more... they had to let me and a couple others go...Shouldn't it be based on performance?! Instead they chose to keep the lazy young skinny cow girls! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Store is great
Third Key Manager (Current Employee), Dickinson, NDMarch 14, 2014
This facility is great management is great. It is just the best environment
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unpleasant!!!
HR (Current Employee), Irvine, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Cons: incompetent management
Company is very unorganized no policies set in place. Favoritism
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a strong work ethic in company.
3rd Key Holder (Former Employee), Missoula, MTFebruary 8, 2014
All about customer info most customers don't want to give it anymore.When you don't get it you are written up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Shift Manager (Former Employee), Longview, TXFebruary 5, 2014
I loved working in the western environment. Its a rewarding job to be able to help people pick out clothes and boots. They tell you what they are looking for and you show them what you have. I loved the people I worked with we always made work a fun place to go.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HORRIBLE
Store Manager (Former Employee), Wichita Falls, TXFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: discount, travel
Cons: horrible staff, disrespect, no training at all
I was a 3rd key + ICS when it was Baskins & loved my job, but as soon as Boot Barn took over I did leave my position for about 1month then I was called from my DM asking me to take over Wichita Falls store as the store manager & I did. The only type of training I received was going to Vegas for 4 days but that was NOT in office training. I started this – more... SM position on October 1st 2013 & did very well making sure everything was done as best as I thought. The staff could no call no show, be late, etc & I could not write them up without approval (why have a store manager then?) Then I also had employees that stole from the store but yet they got to keep their job wow. So my boss comes in & lets me go after I worked half the day because she had nobody else to run the store because of 1 error without any warning & I had NEVER been wrote up while in this position, I think they need to re think of how they treat people that always do the right thing, but they decide to keep people that steal & not show up for work I guess! You should be fine working for Boot Barn as long as you are NOT in management.... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), Troutdale, ORJanuary 1, 2014
When we were busy, I always was on my toes and always had something to do. There were slow days which we spent making sure all of our clothes/boots were out on the floor, and that everything was in its correct place
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive, out-going environment to work in.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Gallup, NMOctober 3, 2013
I greeted the customers and assisedt them with merchandise and answer any questions that they had about the products. When there wasn't any customers to help, I would stay busy by organizing the deparments, cleaning the shelves, re-arraning the displays and folding apparel according to store policies. I got along with the customers and my co-workers. – more... We were all team players and we helped each other get tasks done. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good stable job
Retail Store Manager (Current Employee), Tulare, CaSeptember 30, 2013
Good stable job in tough economic times. A growing company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware
Store Manager (Former Employee), Farmington, NMSeptember 11, 2013
Pros: read review
Cons: read review
In my time with this company I experienced great things and horrible things. The great things were, paid travel to special events, opportunities for advancement and a good benefits package. The negative aspects are as follows: No training when advanced, No training when things go wrong, Held responsible for others actions prior to your advancement. – more... I would recommend Boot Barn for a stepping stone, not a career. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Tulare, CAJuly 22, 2013
helping customers supervising employess meeting sales goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Bernardino, CAMay 27, 2013
meet and greet customers and provide them with everything they need.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed but professional and fun environment!!
HR (Current Employee), Irvine, CaMay 20, 2013
Pros: growth opportunties!!
Not only is this company growing like crazy but it has incredible growth potential internally too! Down-to-earth employees and excellent benefits...with a great work/life balance.