Boot Barn Employee Reviews

Showing all 118 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Sales Associate and Cashier (Seasonal) (Former Employee) –  Bristol, TNFebruary 15, 2017
Not a bad place to work, exciting and fast paced environment. Breaks are few and far between. Stays busy, mostly everyone is friendly. Low pay, hours aren't great
Pros
Fun environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Albuquerque, NMFebruary 13, 2017
A Basic day was to do a chore before opening or closing, stock merchandise throughout the day, assist/ sell to Customers. Pay was Commission plus base.
Pros
Management
Cons
Coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
typical retail store
Management Assistant (Former Employee) –  Glenwood Springs, COFebruary 7, 2017
Greeting customers on daily basis and making friendships with returning guests as well as fellow employees, working in a small store in a small town always has advantages.
Pros
employee discount
Cons
pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where is Boot Barn in 5 years?
DISTRICT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNFebruary 6, 2017
. This is a fast growing company with a lot of potential for growth opportunities in the company. Grown too fast? Possibly! This was a great place to develop and fine tune a skill set to later land a great job! Make the most of your circumstance and a bigger and better door eventually opens.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a positive place to work!
Sales Associate (Current Employee) –  Vernal, UTFebruary 4, 2017
I enjoy working here because I have learned how to grow in my personal and work life. I have had opportunites that are amazing, such as going to NFR in 2016 to sell product. The support group I have at my store is wonderful.
Pros
Excellent coworkers, management is awesome, awesome opportunities to grow
Cons
Hours are limited, main management is not organized, scheduling conflicts happen often
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun environment
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Sioux City, IAFebruary 2, 2017
I suggest working here if you have knowledge of the items sold, or if youre willing to learn about the products. its always fun to have a friend to friend basis with your regulars.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Some nice products
Key Holder/Sales Lead (Current Employee) –  Canyon Country, CAFebruary 2, 2017
best part about working here is the employee discount. unfortunately it is a large corporation and as such sales employees are bean counters and do not really matter to the people higher up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Key Holder Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Boise, IDJanuary 18, 2017
Working at Boot Barn is a very good job, you have a lot of room to grow with the company. You get to meet all kinds of new people while you're there, customers and other boot barn employees. A typical day at work is getting there assisting customers with anything they might need, that could include sizing them for the correct boot they need or clothing. Management works very hard to make sure everyone had the shiftgs and time off they need. The hardest part of the job is just dealing with customers when they get upset, you really have to learn patience and how to talk to people without offending them.
Pros
Great discount.
Cons
Not many breaks except lunch, busy all the time. Only 2 holidays off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Store Manager (Current Employee) –  Norco, CAJanuary 15, 2017
There is a decent work/life balance with Boot Barn. Boot Barn represents a lifestyle that is shown through the dedication from the customers and the overwhelming positive response from its employees. Depending on the Regional Area there is room for advancement and additional Management training.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my job!
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Mesquite, TXDecember 13, 2016
At Boot Barn in Mesquite it was never a dull moment. The management and co-workers treated me like family. Great place to work! I learned how to talk and help customers in anyway that I could while developing relationships with the customer to make them continue to come back and shop at the Mesquite location. There is nothing hard about this job as long as you put your best effort forward just be sure to always smile and give it your all! The most enjoyable part I would say is dealing with customers and helping others out and becoming friends with other co-workers.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sales
Sales (Former Employee) –  Dickinson, TXDecember 12, 2016
It was a nice and very chill place to work at when I was still in high school for a part time job, and all the workers were there were very nice and polite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable Job
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, MNDecember 11, 2016
I loved this job! Because of the western atmosphere, and my passion for horses, rodeo, and the cowboy way of life, I fit in very well and could associate well with both co-workers and the general public.It was fun, and rewarding!
Pros
Aligned well with my interests.
Cons
No work location closer to where I lived.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay company
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Oxnard, CANovember 28, 2016
It's an okay company to work for it used to be really great until some employees who are lazy got hired other then that it's been great and it has been a fun job
Pros
Good location
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a family store
former employee (Former Employee) –  TexasNovember 23, 2016
They don't care if you have no life or family or your sick as long as you are making them money is all they care about. You are ALL the time and cant even have a saturday off
Pros
meeting new customers
Cons
no weekends off DMs that are still wet behind the ears
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Counterproductive Work Environment
3rd Key (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNNovember 10, 2016
Boot barn corporate and management coach customer service as number one priority but force schedule minimal staff even on high traffic days and force employees to juggle keeping up with inventory, visual merchandising, and keeping actual product stocked on the sales floor with assisting actual paying customers in the store. The management I experienced were more concerned with running reports and answering emails in the back room than coming out the the sales floor and interacting with customers and getting their feedback and concerns when we did or did not have what they wanted or needed in store and on hand. Store advertises low price guarantee, but prices in store do not match what is online, and customer's know it-and get made at sales floor staff constantly b/c the low price guarantee is advertised on radio ads and in store over the radio and when they come in what they have looked at online at bootbarn.com is less than what it is priced in store. Many lines offered online aren't even available in store, and the manager's make no attempt to make accommodations or recommendations when their locations store product needs to be updated and refreshed to meet their customer's needs. Management and corporate office pushes that sales associate's meet so many sales items per transaction but then also have key items they push associates to sell, regardless if their customer's actually truly have a need for those items, or can even afford them. Sell sell sell, that is all that boot barn's management cares about.
Pros
brand discount, 3.5 training discount
Cons
lack of management support, no health insurance, no support from corporate, lack of product availability, lack of ability to assist customer's properly
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Wichita, KSNovember 10, 2016
Hard worker stay focused don't let other conversations destract you do your work ask for help will give you opportunity to exceed go for what you want in life don't wait for a hand out
Pros
lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Bakersfield, CANovember 9, 2016
A typical day at Boot Barn consist of recovery and attending to customer needs. Majority of the work there is hands on. Management at Boot Barn can improve.
Pros
friendly establishment
Cons
Managment needs to improve
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but stressful environtmrnt if your not a shark
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Oceanside, CANovember 4, 2016
Boot barn is a cut throat place to work. Although it is not based on commision you do have to make sale goals daily. But if you do well with this you get compensated for high items you sell and they reflect on your paycheck. It is fun to get into a little competition but if you have high stress I do not recommend this job
Pros
Discount
Cons
Stresfull
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  McAllen, TXNovember 1, 2016
A typical day at work would be coming in and finding out you quada on your sales for the day.
Good customer service
good management
good co-workers
Pros
Benefits, good working environment
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Floor Manager (Former Employee) –  Greeley, COOctober 30, 2016
i learned how to properly seal the bottles and how to fix problems on the bottling line if something went wrong. i also learned how to operate a fork lift. it was a fun place to work very laid back but when it was time to get serious, it meant it was time to get work done
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boot Barn. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.1
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3