Borden Dairy Company Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 25 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company
Driver salesmen (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMarch 14, 2016
Not a good company to work for. They don't care about your personal life they just want you to sell milk for less pay. You work long hour for less money. If you need to take a day off work for a personal reason they gonna question you n try to talk you out of not taking off. You have to load your own truck of milk. Superviser is full of games and always trying to scheme something! No job security.
Pros
Free milk
Cons
Long hour and not compensated for it. All around not a good company
Was this review helpful?Yes29No7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Done
Lab Tech (Current Employee) –  Dallas TXJuly 16, 2016
Obviously someone from the company is writing these great reviews. I am currently employed at Borden on Lamar st and it is definitely one of the worst jobs in Dallas. The mgmt doesn't given a zip about you or your family life, it's milk and nothing else. The only people making a decent wage is the ones in a click. The turnover is the highest I've ever seen in a co.
Think what you will but you'll see if you go there.
Pros
A job until you find one
Cons
Everything from mgmt to pay to poor training and extremely high turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not very good
Outside carrier (Former Employee) –  Dallas TexasJuly 12, 2016
I'm a truck driver with another company and the guys in the receiving bay are flat out lazy. They complain about the lack of money and all but 2 guys are looking for a new job.
This place has a priority for milk haulers instead of First In First Out (FIFO)

I've heard that Conroe Texas has their stuff together
Pros
Nothing
Cons
Lazy employees. Long waits to scale in. The priority list.
Was this review helpful?Yes5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hard working supervisors
Driver (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 14, 2015
Typical day at borden is routine.. Come in at 4am and move trailors for 12 hrs.. Ive learned to move trailors in very tight places. The management really wasn't in tune of what e were doing on the yard.. Overall good job to work at..
Was this review helpful?Yes25No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buyer beware
Driver (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHMay 14, 2016
I got fired on my day off,after the company called me in to help out distribution!!! Another driver called in a vehicle emergency and I was asked "to do my best", I guess that wasn't good enough.
Was this review helpful?Yes12No3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an oaky job for a person just coming out of high school
Shipping and Receiving (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAOctober 26, 2015
Its an okay job for a person just getting out of high school but a person with bills etc the pay want make it. The job not hard at all but it should pay more
Pros
GOOD BENEFITS
Cons
SHORT BREAK, PAY NOT ENOUGH
Was this review helpful?Yes27No8Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Start-up company working to integrate many plants and IT systems
Director of Procurement (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXOctober 27, 2012
Company is struggling to establish a culture and implement their vision that will enable the growth expectations of their Chairman of the Board.
Pros
good compensation benifits and ceo leadership
Cons
lacking supply chain and hr leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes29No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace
Route Driver (Current Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLNovember 24, 2015
good place to work just a little hard work and long days.enjoyed my time at borden good good good good good very enjoyable
Was this review helpful?Yes16No21Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very productive company,growth with this company
any (Former Employee) –  opelousas, laMay 25, 2015
I heard that this is great company to work for,and I would make this job my priority.I can grow with this company, would love to be part of the team,I'm a team player. I have a great personality.
Pros
benefits
Cons
Like to grow with the company
Was this review helpful?Yes23No45Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Merchandiser (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TxSeptember 21, 2015
The people there are very knowledgeable not only about the products but the industry as well. They will provide the tools that you will need to succeed. And there's nothing like knowing that you are making countless of lives healthy.
Pros
Free lunch at meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes20No14Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I want to quit working here but don't have the time to apply any where else
Route driver ( current ) (Current Employee) –  Mercedes TxJune 27, 2014
Poor management , low wages , long hours ( go in at 12 am thur 12 noon ) no one help you. Truck are old ( no ac on truck ) they are always breaking down. You always over weight on trucks. And you do close to 20 to 30 stop a day.
Pros
free milk
Cons
no help from management !!!
Was this review helpful?Yes117No23Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Borden's was one of the friendliest and up beat places that I have ever worked. The plant was very clean and had very high scores from the health dep
Accounting Clerk/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Conroe, TXJanuary 22, 2013
A typical day at work was very busy. It was fast paced and the day went by quickly.

Borden's sent me to classes to learn Micosoft programs and also sent me to Fre Pryers classes.

The management came through in the hardest of times. During the huricanes they brought gas in for our vehicles and fed us breakfast lunch and dinner. Also gave emergency supplies for our families. i thought that was special.

The co-workers were a good team. We all workded together. It was tight knit and we communicated very well.

The hardest part of the job was getting the trailors picked up before they got hot.

Elsie of coarse was a big part of our company. The Rodeo was a big deal around there. It was so much fun going down there and seeing her and the children interact. The concerts were also good.
Pros
we received advertisement things. (like caps, shirts, keychains ect)
Cons
there were meetings all the time.
Was this review helpful?Yes36No15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
operating
Operator (Current Employee) –  austin, txSeptember 14, 2015
im typically take care all of machines, relief worker for breaks and lunch. pay attention all the time on labeling, code data and butter fat.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No34Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management in AR
FINANCE (Former Employee) –  DallasFebruary 21, 2015
I would not recommend this company ever. The management is a joke. Very disrespectful and jealous. Doesn't like when others have ideals that are better than their own. The moral of the team is based on the manager condescending attitude. I hated this company.
Pros
location is convenient
Cons
management in ar is horrible.
Was this review helpful?Yes52No13Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging and rewarding
Sales Rep (Current Employee) –  TennesseeFebruary 26, 2015
A typical day at work would be going from location to location to service your accounts. Management seemed fair to me.
The hardest part of the job was juggling multiple accounts and allocating my time efficently.
Pros
lot's of freedom to manager your accounts
Cons
very low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes24No22Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joke of a Company..
Route Driver (Former Employee) –  New jerseyNovember 2, 2014
Management ? What management

Never saw such a complete bunch of Idiots in 30 years

No direction to take the company in..

Only solution is to close plant after plant to justify there bloated salaries.

Many hard working people put on the street
Pros
if you like unemployment..go for it
Cons
corporate idiots that don`t have a clue how to run a dairy business
Was this review helpful?Yes103No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with lots of potential
Systems Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas,TXDecember 26, 2012
Borden is a good diverse company with lots of potential. They appear to still be in start-up mode trying to intergrate systems and also adapt to management changes.
Pros
all the borden and lala branded products you can consume.
Cons
managment changes, lack of direction, poor planning.
Was this review helpful?Yes23No20Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, nice people
Route Sales/ Driver (Current Employee) –  Lafayette, LAMarch 20, 2013
Good place to work, just did not coordinate with what I wanted to accomplish in my life
Pros
good health care, nice benefits
Cons
hardley any time to grab anything to eat, often went all day with no food, early morning hours, sometimes close to 30 stops a day
Was this review helpful?Yes62No28Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cleveland ohioFebruary 10, 2014
The office I worked out of was very back and forth with all their policies and the communication was unreal. Management is terrible.
Pros
liked the work
Cons
management hires their friends and favorizes, no policies but still can get written up with no warnings
Was this review helpful?Yes57No16Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One man position, responsible for all Hardware
Mobile Hardware Administrator (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FloridaSeptember 6, 2013
In general Borden Dairy was a good place to work. My position was Mobile Hardware which included Intermec Handheld and Printers. I was left on my own to complete the daily task of the position. My immediate supervisor worked out of North Carolina, and my co-worker out of Dallas, Texas. The company was purchase by LaLa Foods of Mexico, that resulted in my position being outsourced to Stratix Corporation in La Cross, Georgia.
Pros
free ice cream products.
Cons
job was fairy routine
Was this review helpful?Yes21No28Report

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
2.8
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
2.8
Management
2.9
Culture
2.9