Borgata Hotel Casino & Spa Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable workplace
Bank Teller (Former Employee), Brigantine, NJJune 4, 2015
Typical work day consisted of counted money which I love. I really enjoyed working with my co-workers. The most enjoyable part of my job was helping others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gives back to there employess
Customer Care Representive (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJMay 28, 2015
Pros: Close to home, appreciated there staff
Cons: Getting those angry calls
I learned a lot about Hospitality and Atlantic City while working at Borgata. The company appreciated there staff and showed that by giving back. Company picnics, family days, bonuses, gift certificates to rooms and restaurants, food sampling from any new restaurants, etc. The management were insightful and would help you when ever you needed. Customers were happy for your assistance, well most were happy. Overall I enjoyed working for Borgata.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
former massage therapist
Massage Therapist (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJMay 3, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
Massage Therapist
I have worked there for seven Years.
They keep changing peoples schedules on a whim with no regard to there employees.
Cant move up in the company either.
They are always taking things away.Benefits are unaffordable, management lies to your face,there is zero job security.

They don't even care about the customers.The place is filthy dirty,and the products keep getting downgraded.Management doesn't care about putting people in dirty tubs either.The employees are constantly sick from the filth.Towels are reused on people because there not enough,also the table warmers are all stained and have not been once cleaned in the 7 years Ive been there.Dont ever get a spa treatment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A terrible place to work
House keeper (Former Employee), Atlantic CityMarch 14, 2015
I worked in Borgata as a house keeper and I didn't like any bit of it.The supervisors in housekeeping R bossy and terrible,some going as far as using spotlight to check if there is dust where u have worked.They are those that will make u re do a room even thrice,The managers are fond of warning letters.
They use intimidation and threats to keep u checked ,Having employees paraded in a hall to be lectured on how they should work every morning and telling them how many employees were fired the previous day.
There is absolutely no job security,U can be fired any time by anyone.

Talk of pay,they pay minimum wage,and when there's is a lot of work ,u work 6 days with no defined day as ur off day.
All the while I worked there I always felt my self esteem going down and as a degree holder I had to quit and build my esteem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Waitressing
Costumed Beverage Server (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJFebruary 4, 2015
I have learned how to communicate better with people. Everyone is different and I understand how to adapt to everyone's different personalities. I am a people person and I enjoy that I am able to converse with different people on a day to day basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good company to work
Sr. Software Engineer, Java Developer (Current Employee), Hoboken, NJDecember 29, 2014
Its been operating the land based casino since a long time, but with recent gambling regulations by NJ state govt. it entered into online casino gaming as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy workplace with great coworkers by your side.
Costumed Beverage Server (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 13, 2014
Pros: my co workers
Cons: work in cigarette smoke
Borgata is a great place to work. The bar I work in is a 24 hour bar and the shifts are 8 hours long with a half hour break whenever needed. As soon as you come in you go straight to work in your section. You are constantly moving and assisting customers as much as you can, whether its beverage service to giving directions to answering customers questions about what is open and available in the casino. For example, restaurants, shops, where they can get cigarettes from etc. Our managers check in on us if we need anything, but if they are busy doing other things they are just a phone call away. My co workers are definitely the best part about my job considering the atmosphere we work in. They make it fun and when we are stressed out we make each other laugh. I learned how to be organized and to multitask. As I check on half my section I put in orders and as those drinks are being made I check on the other half of my section and do the same all while cleaning up the tables and getting rid of as much empty glassware as I can. This job makes me financially stable and gives me great benefits as well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Borgata Casino
PIT CLERK (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 8, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: no protection against any customer abuse
The job entailed working on the computer in the gaming department - where I opened and closed tables, put in fills and credits, and issued markers. Low security in any job and double-standards applied to any job..
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and prouctive work place
Customer Care Agent (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJNovember 7, 2014
Pros: free lunch at buffet
Process guest arrivals and departures, including all necessary payments Handle & coordinate room assignments and pre-arrivals.
Handle guests' concerns. Offer referral for services and handle requests for information. Assist other departments as required
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Ambassador (Former Employee), AC NJOctober 28, 2014
Pros: hours
Cons: heathcare
had fun made lot of money long days long nights
lots of running back & forth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting environment
Security Officer (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: free lunch, tips
Cons: very strict rules against employees
Typical day was always fun, exciting and challenging. I loved working with my co workers and management was professional and fair. The hardest part was breaking up fights and dealing with intoxicated belligerent people, the best part was helping customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Sales/ Sales Rep (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJAugust 7, 2014
The company is a great company to work for. The management for the department that I worked for had to many problems.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Busser/ Euro (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJJuly 30, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: 1 hour brake
It was a great job working with great co-workers. It was a pretty fun job 1 hour brake and a lot of energy there but i could say management needed a lot of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace, very strict company policies
Customer Care Representative / Front Desk Agent (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJJune 4, 2014
Pros: free lunch, some positions gratuity based, and great facilty
Cons: tough hours, tough and many customers, too many managers
They have a competitive pay based on location and other companies. The hospitality department is very strict when it comes to policies of employee actions both personal and professional actions. Advancement and transfers between departments were very difficult for me. I have a bachelor's degree in math with 4 years experience in hotel audit and could not even get an interview in the finance office in 3 different positions because the requirements were finance or accounting degrees. Most requirements are flexible with experience but not with this company.
An average day you will deal with 100's if not 1000's of customers. It is very loud when working on the casino floor. You must love to talk with customers sometimes arguing for what they want while maintaing calm and courtesy while satisfying customer. Management is very diverse dealing on a daily basis. Most departments require uniforms that are provided to you but are kept and laundered at the location. Flexibility to come in a few minutes early and leave late for given shift is a must. Coworkers are very diverse with most doing there absolute minimum to get thru the day. A few coworkers do more than required and do get rewarded, but the rewards given are not worth the effort in my opinion. The most enjoyable part of day was always lunch hour. Cafeteria is free lunches and dinners and was very high quality food and desserts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace environment with great opportunity to grow.
Box Office Intern (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJMay 10, 2014
Pros: one-on-one meetings and reviews with the management team.
As the Box Office Intern I assisted in managing the box office and usher staff and created staff schedules. My job duties also included assisting the coordination and set up for showroom events. I built events for internal and guest usage and created ticketing maps with New Era and Matrix P.O.S systems, distributed tickets to local radio stations, titanium guests and internal employees. Dealing with an usher staff further improved my interpersonal skills and how to be a team leader. I was able to absorb countless management skills from my employers and put them to use by the end of my internship. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the high clientele at the Borgata. Each customer had their own specific wants and needs and learning to adjust to all of them was challenging in the beginning. The most enjoyable part of this internship was forming great relationships with my management team, usher staff, and returning guests.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive fun workplace
Housekeeping (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJApril 29, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: short breaks
I like the job that I was doing because I dont see myself doing that for the rest of my life. But dont get me wrong it was a productive fun workplace, nice place, and good coworkers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Place to work
Crowd Control Specialist (Former Employee), Atlantic CityApril 18, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: horrible management, juvenile atmosphere, snobs who think theyre working on wallstreet
I was a crowd control specialist. Borgata varies much by department. The nightlife is a horrible place to work at. The management is juvenile and they treat you like a kid. Do not believe these reviews. Borgata will fire you without hesitation if you ask for more hours. They want to pay you what they want, you will not ever move up because Atlantic City is dying and the management will do anything to keep their spots because they are uneducated and the town is so small. Believe me this is an unprofessional place to work, ton of people eating in a cafeteria, its like high school all over again with people who want to work in a casino.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very well established
Workforce Planning Manager, Customer Care (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 31, 2014
Pros: well established, very organized, very well managed
Cons: pay, hours, overworked
Great Management group but a little over worked and under paid. In a competitive but dying industry.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and productive work
Lead Spa Attendant (Former Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 19, 2014
Pros: free meals
Cons: sometimes no breaks because of busy shift
A challenging experience every day in working and solving customer complaints and supporting the quality of customer service. A diverse community in the behavior of employees and cleint satisfaction quota Learned a great deal in problem solving techniques and providing feedback to customer to assist in finding positive results and soutions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and exciting place to work
Prep-Cook (Current Employee), Atlantic City, NJMarch 17, 2014
They treat you very well here. Free lunch, great health insurance, Christmas gift cards.