Borough of Manhattan Community College Employee Reviews

Found 112 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to learn.
Science & Math Tutor (Former Employee) –  New York, NYFebruary 15, 2017
I was an intern and it was a great environment. Great scientist. Modern facilities. I received a lunch voucher and transportation.
Pros
new facilities
Cons
none.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm, diverse, lively
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 30, 2017
The school is huge but friendly. The student body is diverse and included many first generation college students. The faculty is sincere and robust.
Pros
In NYC
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BMCC is a good place to work
Office of the Registrar (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 30, 2017
I have been working at office of the Registrar in BMCC for three years as a part time College Assistant Position. I have done data entry, help desk assistant, assisting several hundreds of students enrolling in courses each semester by CUNYFIRST system and so forth.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  199 Chambers StreetJanuary 26, 2017
Long chain of command, difficult to execute tasks in a timely manner if they require approval. No clear organizational chart, it's often unclear who to report to. Salary is decent, and benefits are great. Once you are full time, you will have job security
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive
Student Assistant, Bursar/Registrar's Department (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJanuary 10, 2017
Always something to do, often moving around more than you want to.
always assisting someone with something, either a student or a faculty member.
Was this review helpful?Yes2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Customer Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 9, 2017
A typical day at work consisted of customer service and administrative work.

The benefits and health insurance were awesome.

The co-workers were a bit tough to deal with but manageable.
Pros
Hourly rate
Cons
unpaid holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work
Academic Advisor/Lecturer (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 4, 2017
The staff were very progressive and helpful to other staff members, we were all very professional and genuinely interest in the students success. I would work extra hours during the summer to get students averages (GPA) in order so they wouldn't be dismiss from college or placed on Academic Probation. This is what we call the appeal process.
Pros
allowed for personal time
Cons
stayed within the allotted time for lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great palce to work
Adjunct Accounting Professor (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJanuary 2, 2017
I love what I do there. My job there is teaching, and I enjoy the students.
As an adjunct, I do not get involve the the administration, so I have no opinion on anything outside of the classroom
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workstudy program at BMCC .
Clerical - Delivery (Former Employee) –  Manhattan, NYDecember 23, 2016
Working at BMCC was great , I met people from all kinds of walks in life and the job taught me how to scan packages. Along with being able to balance my classes and social life . I would recommend anyone that signs up for college to join the Work Study Program and embrace that new experience. you won't regret it
Pros
great pay rate, short hours, friendly co-workers
Cons
lots of walking, short lunch break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 15, 2016
would advice to take the city exams this will make your permanent . Must work part time for awhile before your even considered full time employee . If a student good
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many of the students are inadequately prepared to do college-level work. Their writing, reading and critical thinking skills are poor.
Adjunct Lecturer, English (Current Employee) –  New York, NYDecember 5, 2016
Class sizes for English Composition classes are far too high at 29. It is not possible to do any kind of in-depth work with that many students when many of them should still be in remedial level courses.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place for a career start
Disability Services (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 18, 2016
BMCC was a good place to start a professional career. You can learn a lot to bring to other places, but I have also seen colleagues from other institutions take jobs there to work with the diverse student population.
Pros
summer fridays were usually off
Cons
location is great - right near the water and west-side highway
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Adjunct Professor, Corrections (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 12, 2016
Highly recommended environment where professors and students learn from one another with different perspectives and diverse backgrounds.

Great experience for those interested in teaching.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An opportunity to get foot in the door.
Work Study Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 18, 2016
Well this was a chance to get my foot in the door to find and learn about how the benefits learning from school to get new connection towards a career.
Pros
Convenient, diverse environment, and doing homework friendly.
Cons
Less pay, less work, and no challenges.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to Work at
College Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 12, 2016
Staff are great, you gain lots of experience in your area of study. Opportunity to develop your skills as a professional worker, peaceful environment and very culturally diverse population.
Pros
Hours are flexible
Cons
Micromanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Library Aide (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 9, 2016
What I liked about attending borough of manhattan community college is that I was able to work and go to school at the same time which worked best for my schedule
Pros
READING FREE BOOKS
Cons
NOT ENOUGH HOURS
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
C.O.P.E. Program Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 13, 2016
A typical day at this job was meeting and greeting students. answering phone calls and doing errands for my supervisor as well as for my director. Handling files of all the students in the school who were affiliated with our program, and assigning students to the job specialist and supervisors for financial aid assistance.
Pros
potential to grow in the job
Cons
not enough pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission to work for
Client Services Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 5, 2016
Management at the time was very good and competent. Salary structures are too low for New York City. School has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Clerical Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 16, 2016
A typical day at work would involve me answering the phone and making sure everything was in order. I would assist students in helping them locate their proffessor when needed. I would type in data into the computer system. The staff in this department is very friendly and overall my coworkers were a joy to work with. There really wasnt anything difficult about my job, the most enjoyable part of the day was assisting students because I am a charismatic person
Pros
I leanrned the basics of office work
Cons
I had to leave because I graduated the institution
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot of standing. No
Campus Security Assistant (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 15, 2016
I worked there from 2009-2010, at the time i was only getting payed $10.00 and they are hiring now. Pay rate is $11.53. They start you as part-time. Had fun but had to move on withmore money elsewhere.
Pros
Part-time
Cons
No money, no good increase. Bad union.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Borough of Manhattan Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 113 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.1
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.5
Management
3.8
Culture
4.0
86%

CEO Approval

Based on 22 ratings
Add your rating

Borough of Manhattan Community College Reviews by Location