Find companies:
Borough of Manhattan Community College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
47 reviews

Borough of Manhattan Community College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BMCC
Receptionist (Current Employee), New York, NYJuly 2, 2013
Great place to start your career. Comfortable environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start your career and grow.
Office Assistant (Current Employee), New YorkMay 28, 2013
Pros: free tuition, promotions.
Cons: low salary and your kept hired if their is still a budget
At Borough of Manhattan Community College/EOC I was able to develop my skills with the supervision and mentorship of my supervisor Ms. Walida Najeeullah she is a wonderful leader in Staff Development. I was not only able to sharpen my skills as an office support staff but I was developed to interact with higher ups such as Executive Directors and other – more... Coordinators. I am now able to identify my skills such as procurement, operations and logistics, research or resourceful, implement and execute. Working with my co-workers is a great experience also, there are others who is willing to work together and that's a plus. The hardest part of the job is to meet the dead lines of certain project with little time given. My most enjoyable part is when the deadline is met and I see the finishing project. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quiet space to work in with a lot of freedom, students make you enjoy your job more.
Speech Tutor (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 30, 2013
Pros: helping students daily, breaks, co workers
Cons: no benefits, work space
A typical day at work for me would be me sitting at my assigned table from 3-8 pm, I would ususally get at least 6-7 students each day I work, working with them as a group and some individually. I learned that everyone has different ways of understanding things, not everyone uses the same techniques. I also learned how to manage my time so I am always – more... on time for work. My co-workers were very helpful to me, sometimes when they had no students and I had a lot they would come to my table and help me and I would do the same for them. The hardest part of the job would be sitting at the table for long periods with nothing to do, learning how to find something to occupy me. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I am finish tutoring a student and they thank me for my help with a smile on their face, and come back to me and tell me how well they did. That is the best part of my job, the feeling of helping someone. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional workplace
College Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 17, 2013
Help guide student towards their career by assisting them with their resume and facilitating workshops.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The office can be busy or slow on certain days
College Assistant (Current Employee), New York, NYFebruary 14, 2013
Interesting and busy when it comes down to registration days. I learned more about customer service. Co-workers are friendly. Dealing with students day in and day out can be challenging especially the difficult students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great school environment to work
Reading Lab Student Aid (Former Employee), New York, NYFebruary 12, 2013
Pros: collegial and friendly environment. no pressure of any sorts!
Cons: balancing work and studies was a constant struggle for me!
The Borough of Manhattan Community College is a great place to work. As a student there and as a college lab student aide, I was learned a lot about the real world application of courses I had taken at the college. The supervisors and staff were very helpful. It was a lot of fun working with and for my fellow students on campus. Loved working for BMCC. – more... It was a great experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Warm Environment which allows students and staff to feel at ease
S.I. Leader (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 31, 2013
Working with students to help them understand the class materials is something that can be approached in many different ways. Each student has a different way of learning, the same way everyone has a different way and technique in getting the work done. A typical day working at CUNY BMCC is signing in at the front desk and having students come to you – more... to help them prepare for exams. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor
Tutor (Former Employee), New YorkJanuary 31, 2013
Tutored Introduction to Psychology to students in the ASAP program along with other senior students.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm enviornment
Filed paper work and did data entry (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2013
File paper work
Swipe students I.d Cards
put in data into computers
Helped students with comuter related problems
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun learning experience
Student Classroom Aide, Child Care Center (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: fostering positive rearing to children
Cons: no breaks
I enjoyed working with the children and collaborating with the other student aides. I received more of an understanding of the children and of myself. The teachers within the classrooms are knowledgeable and communicative. There were no hard parts about the job. You do tend to get a bit tired after running around with the children, but that's to be – more... expected. The most enjoyable moment for me was when I spent time painting, drawing or even putting puzzles together with the children. To watch them react and tell you what they've learned! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office work.
Office Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 3, 2013
Filed and copied papers and little more. Good low stress job, good co-workers. Didn't stay long enough to ascertain real working conditions as it was a work study contract.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Receptionist (Former Employee), New York, NYJanuary 3, 2013
i learned how to take a lot of notes, how to speak very well in the phone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITS OKAY FOR A STUDENT WHO IS BETWEEN THE AGES 16 TO 20
College Assistant, Library (Current Employee), New York, NYOctober 20, 2012
Pros: they work with your schedule
Cons: you can only work 19 hour /week
ITS OKAY FOR A STUDENT WHO IS BETWEEN THE AGES 16 TO 20. THERE IS NO PAY ON DAYS OFF.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive place, atmosphere was friendly and busy.
College Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 15, 2012
Pros: attending free seminars, workshops.
Cons: not very good health care, pay rate.
Typical day would be to check Senior supervisor/Student counselor's Calendar for all appointments for the day.
Set up student packets for appointments prior to appointment.
Accessed all messages left in the voice mail box, answered and directed all voice mails left according to requests.

Maintained and managed all student cases according to individual – more... needs.

Handled the ordering of office supplies, expenses as well as coordination of school trips and events.

The whole environment was enjoyable, there was great satisfaction in helping students cope with college transition, and any other difficulties that arose during their academic career.

Had the privilege to attend workshops in conflict and resolution, Safe Zone for LGBT students and learned a great deal of knowledge and skill in conflict and resolution with all kinds of personalities and issues. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to work for
College Assistant (Former Employee), New York, NYOctober 9, 2012
Everyone is wonderful, caring and helpful.
My day consist of helping students to register for classes.
I learned how to be patient, and considerate to everyone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work..
Multimedia Assistant/ Instructional Technology (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 18, 2012
The place I work is very nice. My supervisors are fair and nice, however, this has always been a part time job and I am looking for a full time job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good City employer
Technician (Current Employee), New York, NYSeptember 10, 2012
Pros: very attentive to its employees for a municipal employer.
Cons: some departments are rife with ethnic nepotism
Very good City employer. Very attentive to its employees for a municipal employer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated professors,
Adjunct Professor (Current Employee), New York, NYAugust 13, 2012
The school was lucky to have teachers who cared about their pupils and the subject matter. As an adjunct professor it was difficult to find your way/take care of administrative tasks because of the irresponsible staff/departments.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very creative and informative place of work.
Clerical (Former Employee), New York, NYJuly 10, 2012
Instructive and room to advance. Good place to work. There is not a bad approach in the department. It was a very friendly atmosphere. A very enjoyable place to be and work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office of Student Affairs (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 11, 2012
Pros: exposure to share my story and build my self confidence
Cons: it was for a short period of time, so i need no cons
it just the perfect place to work at, because it helped me tell my story through someone else's story