Find companies:
Boston Children's Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Boston Children's Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not actually the main hospital
phone call center rep (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 25, 2014
my job was not part of the main chidlrens hospital. From what I see and the people that I interact with at the main branch, they are extremely challenged, happy and satisfied with their job. The culture at the main hospital is great.

However, I'm here to give you the review from the perspective of one of the side offices. My branch was extremely underfunded, – more... and under a lot of pressure. There were not enough people on hand to handle the extreme amount of stuff to do. The hospital itself is tight on funds, so that created situations where 2-3 people had to handle the work of the entire hospital ( a job that 9-10 people should have done). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hated it
Ambulatory Service Representative II (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 20, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
hated it!!!! worst job experience ever. horrible . hated it!!!! worst job experience ever. horrible managerhated it!!!! worst job experience ever. horrible managerhated it!!!! worst job experience ever. horrible managerhated it!!!! worst job experience ever. horrible managerhated it!!!! worst job experience ever. horrible managerhated it!!!! worst job – more... experience ever. horrible manager – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment with support from management
Manager (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 17, 2014
BCH is an excellent place to work if you are interested in advancing in the medical admin field.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun, but a lot of ping pong between groups.
ISD (Current Employee), Boston, MAMarch 14, 2014
Pros: easy access to major commuting routes. great work vs life balance.
Cons: unmotavated employees, terrible management, low moral, zero growth.
No one likes to take ownership of issues. "Managers" are really not qualified to be in management. If you don't self promote, you rot in a cube and never advance or move on. Highly unqualified individuals in their positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to learn
Neurobiology Intern (Former Employee), Boston, MAMarch 11, 2014
This position is great for people who want to do research. You will have to read a lot of articles and work with mice for your specific experiment. Throughout the process, you learn to use excel to compile your data.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Telephone/Page Operator (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 19, 2014
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
#1 in NYC
Great advancement
Great people to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, healthy work environment
Quality Improvement Consultant (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 13, 2014
Pros: good work life balance
Cons: limited growth opportunities
BCH is one of the most prestigious hospital in USA and provides very healthy work environment for its staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great care for very sick children
Administrative Assistant III (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 11, 2014
Boston Children's Hospital is a great facility of care for small children, and sometimes adults, to received care from some of the best clinicians.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed working with researchers from many different countries and cultures
Chief Technologist Radiology Research (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 5, 2014
Performed PET and CT Scans on rats and mice. Did a little ultrasound. Managed the lab. I enjoyed working with my co workers and learned much from them. Trying to schedule studies so all the investigators were able to complete studies in a timely manner. Knowing that I was helping to find ways to help people with illnesses to live better.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive and patient-centered environment
Quality Improvement Project Coordinator (Current Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 4, 2014
Boston Children's has a really positive culture that encourages collaboration, vertical movement, and personal input administrative and clinical decisions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are just a number
Office Supervisor (Former Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 23, 2014
Pros: big hospital
Cons: you just a number
Working here for so long and as soon as they decided they don't need you anymore you just let go with no explanation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
duty
Polysomnography Technologist (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 14, 2014
• Prepare equipment, follow laboratory protocols, calibrate video / audio recordings
• Perform portable studies in the ICU as well as research and clinical studies in the lab
• Perform CPAP, BIPAP and oxygen titrations using accepted standards and laboratory guidelines
• Perform routine and complex equipment care and maintenance; troubleshoot technical – more... problems with computer software
• Coordinate repairs with appropriate personnel as needed – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work that keeps you on your toes
Research Technician (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 2, 2014
Working in a research lab has taught me to realize that science doesn't have just one way to get to a conclusion. There are always several different assays or protocols to achieve the same goal.

I really enjoy coming in and being given a task that's new and trying to understand and complete it. You're never on your own though. There's always people – more... to help you through things and assist if necessary. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn. Leader in pediatric care innovations.
Senior Clinical Applications Specialist (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 28, 2013
Great place to learn. Leader in pediatric care innovations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers rocked! Management, not so much.
Admin (Former Employee), Boston, MaDecember 8, 2013
Pros: great co-workers, hours, work related events
Cons: powerless to make a positive change, no input from employees when managers are rated
I worked in a non-clinical environment with a great group of long-time employees who were dedicated and professional. Unfortunately, the manager was under-qualified for his job and therefore put very unreal expectations on the team. This manager, could not communicate clearly either verbally or written. I honestly believe he would feign his accent (English – more... was not his first language) whenever someone woukd ask him a question that he didn't know the answer to. On several occassions he would ask me into his office to help him compose an email reply to an email his boss had sent to him. I could go on and on, but I will leave it like this. High-level management and HR should really take into consideration so much more than a person's education when placing people in roles where people skills are critical! I cannot imagine that manager being in that position much longer. Its a shame, the department as a whole was awesome! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
HR Associateq (Current Employee), BostonNovember 21, 2013
Busy days, a lot of room to learn here. I love the company and i love that miracles do happen here.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dedicated Workers
Financial Analyst (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 16, 2013
Boston Children's Hospital is a great organization with a great mission.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace
Ambulatory Services Representative (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 21, 2013
Great atmosphere and benefits, but pay is lower than other Boston hospitals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of work with maximum exposure to many individuals and variety of diagnoses to work with
RN MSICU (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 13, 2013
Pros: benefits, schedule, variety and culture
Truthfully my happiest placement as a nurse was with Boston Children's Hospital. I worked in a multitude of settings and was very lucky to have built an excellent career branching from this hospital.

I developed a very solid knowledge base and am fortunate to share what I have learned within this company with others in the home care field.

In the – more... MSICU I enjoyed working with the acutely ill and restoring the health of my patients to their baseline or to increase their stability and transfer them to the step down unit. I worked with an excellent team of nurses who were supportive to one another and together we saved lives! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding hospital system, care focused, professional, elite.
Senior Administrative Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MAOctober 7, 2013
BCH is a world leading institution that strives to provide to utmost in care and compassion to its patients. The clinical and administrative forces work together to provide this high level of care and are leaders in the field of research and education. I enjoyed working at BCH where the environment was filled with both challenges and rewards; being – more... able to provide care for families and children was a fulfilling job. – less

1 2 3

About Boston Children's Hospital

How do you measure success? At Boston Children’s Hospital, it’s measured in patients treated, parents comforted, and – Read more