Find companies:
Boston Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
35 reviews

Boston Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day of hard work.
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Boston, MADecember 3, 2014
After a day of work you are extremely tired but if you would to see kids successful, you enjoy it.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to work for less fortunate communities.
Cluster Substitute, Grade 1 Inclusion (Current Employee), boston, maNovember 2, 2014
Pros: weekends and holiday breaks, benefits and compensation, union, adequacy, a sense of accomplishment by the end of the day
Cons: stressful, breaks are never truly "duty free", after school professional development
Working for BPS is truly rewarding. Its an awesome way to give back to the community and work in the inner city with children that are less fortunate. The children are given the opportunity to explore and learn things beyond the typical classroom setting. Relationships are build with parents to enrich the teaching experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great environment
Bus Monitor (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 28, 2014
great working here with great people love the atmosphere,postive vibes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Education is the key to success!
Call Center Customer Service Representative (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 4, 2014
Busy, past paced environment. The focus is always the CHILDREN!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
All About The Children
Preschool Teacher (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 1, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: breaks
Working in the inner City with children is a very challeging job. You really have to be able to wear many hats. You learn very fast not to judge any child or their situation. Building trust with a child is the best thing you can do. Then you are able to see the challenges and help the child and family with resources. Classroom managemant must be stern – more... with consistency or you will not have any classrooom management. You always have to work as a team with your co-workers. The hardest part of my job is seeing what childdren have to live with in their home environments. The most enjoyable part of my job is the accomplistment inner city children can achieve with resilence and pride under unbelievable circumstances – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A nuturing learning community for children
Teacher (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 17, 2014
Pros: working was young children is one of the most rewarding careers a person could have.
Cons: teaching can sometimes be a stressful job. it is a huge responsibility.
Children were provided with a wide variety of learning experiences across all disciplines. I learned that people have many different styles of learning. Sometimes management and teachers didn't agree, but we always seemed to work things out. My coworkers were a very diverse group of people, but we had a common goal, success for all students. The biggest – more... challenge of this job was differentiating instruction so that each child could be successful.The most enjoyable part of the job was celebrating the sucesses of each child. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for BPS was both challenging and exciting.
English Teacher (Former Employee), Madison Park H.SAugust 8, 2014
Working for Boston Public Schools was both challenging and exciting. I found it culturally diverse, and sometimes innovative.
Some drawbacks were frequent changes in administration. Lack of leadership and maintaining discipline.

Some strengths were strong teamwork from associates, and the opportunity to use my creativity in teaching. The benefits are – more... also good. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Engaging and fun place to work
Family and Community Outreach Coordinator (Current Employee), Jamaica Plain, MAJuly 14, 2014
I enjoyed working with families in an urban school. Fast paced and busy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Substitute Teacher
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 1, 2014
Pros: freedom to choose what school and class i wanted to do
Cons: lack of teacher plans and organization
Supervised and proctored classes from Elementary to High School classes.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive workplace
Boston Student Advisory Council (Former Employee), Boston, MAJune 11, 2014
Pros: met mayor and govt. officials, free lunch, free trips
Cons: underestimated by govt officials because of our age, rejected proposals that were time extensive
Worked with other students and program leaders to help improve Boston public school policies that were not beneficial to high school students. As a group we analyzed the policies and gave suggestions where they needed improvement. Once we came up with solid proposals we would edit them and present them to thousands of students. We sent surveys to all – more... the schools to gain the approval of our new suggested policies. If a majority of the students agreed we would than bring the proposals to school legislatures and government officials. We would present to them the statistics of the students that agreed with the new policy and explain why we believed they should change it. Our efforts in helping to alter existing policies was to diminish the drop out high school rate in Boston. We were extremely successful in changing many policies that were harmful to students. We also helped diminish the drop out high school rate in Boston public schools. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exhausting
teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 5, 2014
The students are amazing and I love my work, but it is exhausting and increasingly difficult to meet hundreds of demands while teaching from 6am until 5pm daily. It is very hard to sustain energy and enthusiasm and ways to advance within this company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston Public Schools
Music Teacher (Former Employee), DorchesterMay 31, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: administration
Great Benefits and stable Job. It all depends what school you work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First experience in the profession of teaching out of college.
First Grade Teacher - Oliver Wendell Holmes School (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 9, 2014
Pros: the students were disciplined and on level academically.
Cons: very racist environment
I found the system to be extremely racist. White parents would request white teachers for their children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, get to help all the students in Boston
Registration Specialist (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 5, 2014
I enjoy helping people either with my language skills or knowledge acquired threw my professional experiences and PBS is a perfect place to apply all that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent teaching skills. great interpersonal skills
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 30, 2014
I learned great ways to deliver excellent. great class management strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Community Field Coordinator (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 6, 2013
Pros: no perks
Cons: free eye care/dental
process diplomas,
high phone volume,
travel to different schools to keep track of attendace for children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always different from day to day
Science Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 29, 2013
Pros: the students
Cons: rules and regulations seem to change constantly (no standardization)
Typical day begins with preparation for different classes and grade levels.

I've learned to prepare well in advance and anticipate changes that may have to be made quickly when dealing with over 100 students daily,

Principal and vice-principal are amazing, very professional and thoughtful and generate respect and cohesion among staff and teachers.

Hardest – more... part of job is re calibrating lessons to accommodate changes to state mandated curriculum.as applied to Learning Disabled and new English Language Learning students.

Most enjoyable part of job is working with the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work envioment
Computer Technician (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MAOctober 17, 2013
Fix technology issues throughout the day, from desktops, laptops, and network issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 6, 2013
I instruct students individually and in groups, using various teaching methods such as lectures, discussions, and demonstrations.
I also read books to entire classes or small groups
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved to teach, was able to switch lessons when I felt lesson was hold their attention,
Second Grade & K2 teacher (Former Employee), Roxbury, MASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: p&d, 40min. free lunch
Cons: being called out of lunch & loosing p & d's ~~~< also no coverage for testing!
Basically , I was a 2nd grade teacher for 12 of my 14 years. I introduced Author Studies, Reciprocal Reading, followed the standards, taught Black History & many more core areas.
I added Journalling, poetry blasts, read around the room, Art History & Drawing on the Right Side of the brain. The students would learn the basics of drawing, then they would – more... have one half hour of art twice a week . Outside w
As our science room, and experiments were brought into the room!!
I did some cooperative learning with Grade one & we were using the pull out model at that time.
The last 2 years I was a K2 teacher. My hopes were crushed do to a lack of a some- timey Para. This left me alone with 19 boys & 2 girls.
It was impossible to sit them!
It was a totally hard year with no help from management.
The next year feared no better~the para clearly wanted to be in the other K2 class.
I had taught K2 before, not to toot my own horn~ but with my full time Para, our class entered Grade 1 ; reading, writing sentences w / B-M-E. they could recite many poems inc. Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Eveming, and they all, minus 2 or 3 met bench mark for math. – less