Find companies:
Boston Public Schools
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
22 reviews

Boston Public Schools Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great, get to help all the students in Boston
Registration Specialist (Former Employee), Boston, MAFebruary 5, 2014
I enjoy helping people either with my language skills or knowledge acquired threw my professional experiences and PBS is a perfect place to apply all that.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent teaching skills. great interpersonal skills
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAJanuary 30, 2014
I learned great ways to deliver excellent. great class management strategies.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work enviroment
Community Field Coordinator (Former Employee), Boston, MADecember 6, 2013
Pros: no perks
Cons: free eye care/dental
process diplomas,
high phone volume,
travel to different schools to keep track of attendace for children
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always different from day to day
Science Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MANovember 29, 2013
Pros: the students
Cons: rules and regulations seem to change constantly (no standardization)
Typical day begins with preparation for different classes and grade levels.

I've learned to prepare well in advance and anticipate changes that may have to be made quickly when dealing with over 100 students daily,

Principal and vice-principal are amazing, very professional and thoughtful and generate respect and cohesion among staff and teachers.

Hardest – more... part of job is re calibrating lessons to accommodate changes to state mandated curriculum.as applied to Learning Disabled and new English Language Learning students.

Most enjoyable part of job is working with the students. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work envioment
Computer Technician (Current Employee), DORCHESTER, MAOctober 17, 2013
Fix technology issues throughout the day, from desktops, laptops, and network issues.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAOctober 6, 2013
I instruct students individually and in groups, using various teaching methods such as lectures, discussions, and demonstrations.
I also read books to entire classes or small groups
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved to teach, was able to switch lessons when I felt lesson was hold their attention,
Second Grade & K2 teacher (Former Employee), Roxbury, MASeptember 9, 2013
Pros: p&d, 40min. free lunch
Cons: being called out of lunch & loosing p & d's ~~~< also no coverage for testing!
Basically , I was a 2nd grade teacher for 12 of my 14 years. I introduced Author Studies, Reciprocal Reading, followed the standards, taught Black History & many more core areas.
I added Journalling, poetry blasts, read around the room, Art History & Drawing on the Right Side of the brain. The students would learn the basics of drawing, then they would – more... have one half hour of art twice a week . Outside w
As our science room, and experiments were brought into the room!!
I did some cooperative learning with Grade one & we were using the pull out model at that time.
The last 2 years I was a K2 teacher. My hopes were crushed do to a lack of a some- timey Para. This left me alone with 19 boys & 2 girls.
It was impossible to sit them!
It was a totally hard year with no help from management.
The next year feared no better~the para clearly wanted to be in the other K2 class.
I had taught K2 before, not to toot my own horn~ but with my full time Para, our class entered Grade 1 ; reading, writing sentences w / B-M-E. they could recite many poems inc. Stopping by Woods on a Snowy Eveming, and they all, minus 2 or 3 met bench mark for math. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Productive Place to work
Intern, Cyber Mentor (Former Employee), Roxbury, MAAugust 27, 2013
Pros: pay, hours, employees
I really enjoyed working with children and teaching them the importance of cyber safety and bullying, the pay was good as well as the hours. My co-workers were friendly and the management team was very good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston Public
Secretary/Administration (Former Employee), Roxbury, Ma.July 19, 2013
Pros: vaction, sick leave
Temprary Secretarial position for a middle school.
A trypical day envolves interaction with students and staff.
Daily phone calls, addressing school issue. Weekly payroll, daily time-sheets.
Most co-workers were great to work with. The students were a challange.
The hardest part for this job with the early morning hours.
The most enjoyable part of the – more... day was when the students were behaved, and there were no outbursted. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It can be a very stressfull enviroment at times, with alot of work load.
Special Ed Clerk (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 27, 2013
Pros: i get some for snacks in different school at times.
Cons: none of the schools have an actually vending machine for the staffs
Depending on the schools I am at my work day can be different. So on Mondays is more come in and get the work done day, with a lot of work on hand. Sometimes stressful or time consuming. Tuesdays are a little less stressful and the staffs are much pleasant at this school. Wednesdays are much needed for a relaxing day but still a lot to get done without – more... the pressure. The most hardest part of my job I must say is that, everything has to be recorded from filing to sending out letters and who's looking at what file, to who's sending and where the file is coming from, but its more of remembering this is your job, and once you get into the habit of doing it, it shouldn't be as hard. It really does consist of making sure to record every necessary information that is required of me. The most enjoyable part is lunch time, funny thing sometimes I find myself working and eating through my lunch. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to blaze your own path!
Apple Systems Administrator (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 4, 2013
Pros: benefits, paid time off, pension
Cons: institutionalized culture, public sector bureaucracy, lack of training budget
On a daily basis I handle Apple related tier 2/3 support for the central IT department with the Boston Public Schools. This typically consists of reading logs, working on escalated tickets, and testing updates for release. Issues are escalated to me by the Service Desk group, who I provide with documented fixes and other related information. I serve – more... as a mentor for other staff, so in person contact is often balanced with email and phone discussions. We work collaboratively on projects in the BaseCamp project management tool. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Boston School Teacher (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 11, 2013
Cons: managment frequently changes
Working with a diverse group of students from Albania, Asian, Haitian, Dominican, and Irish. Managing day to day challenges of teaching and learning in the classroom and professional development and personality differences are all a part of this challenging job including parent conferences.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interactive Work Place
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 26, 2012
B.P.S was one actually my first summer jobs that I had worked in an office setting. It was different then any of my other jobs but I enjoyed it. Working here made me able to meet almost all the teachers and principals that worked for Boston Public Schools. I even ran into my own principal at the time and that was pretty cool
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable atmosphere, I enjoyed providing my work efforts to the future generation of America
Clerk/Secretary (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 22, 2012
Pros: mbta accessible, pleasant co-workers
Typically, the majority of my day was spent inputting data into the school based computer program for the special education department. Each student receiving special education has an individualized education plan to provide them the best education suitable to their individual needs. Other aspects of the job included filing, sorting, answering phone – more... calls and organizing calendars for the following month's meetings between the parents, teachers and thee evaluation team facilitator. Management was exceptional. If I did have questions, they were answered professionally and promptly. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Work Place
Physics Teacher, Grades (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 20, 2012
Pros: great staff
Cons: tough student's
• Developed annual curriculum around Massachusetts Curriculum Frameworks and MCAS-ALT goals necessary for students’ portfolios.
• Led Individualized Education Program (IEP) meetings for over 20 students with disabilities, double the amount expected by school leadership.
• Implemented behavior modifications/plans for 25 behaviorally challenged students.
 – more... Coached varsity Football (South Boston High) and middle school basketball (Mildred Elementary) teams. Led South Boston High to first playoff appearance in school history. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great and culturally balance workplace
Student Intern Counselor (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 13, 2012
Enjoy working in BPS. The students and staff were incredible to work with. They have had an indelible mark on my life.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most Fulfilling Job
( Teacher Assistant) SPED Inclusion (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 29, 2012
Pros: short work years
The past 4 years working with Boston Public Schools has given me a new appreciation for teachers and the work they do daily. I dont think any amount can compensate for the love, respect and hard work we put into each child. The hardest part of the job is seeing each group move on each year... you wish you could keep them year after year. The reward – more... of working with children is seeing them achieve goals and milestone. So many tears of joy shed over a child learning to read. I love BPS. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The system in entirety is flawed, that does not stop the good from trying.
Applied Behavioral Anaylitical Technician (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 24, 2012
Pros: schedule flexibility
Cons: no lunch.
Every day is a rush into routine & chaos. Definitely a learning experience on how to keep your mind calm & collected. There are many who work well, and try to assist in getting-thru-the-day. It works, but it is not the most efficient.
The hardest part is the misunderstanding between ground level workers & executive higher up. The two are twice removed – more... when communication efforts fail. Still, all in all, some learning gets done, and for that, success can be had. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Special Education Teacher, Ages (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 20, 2012
Pros: excellent teachers, support, structured work environment
Cons: parental involvement
On a typical day at work, we get motivated and prepare our lesson to motivate our students. I have learned how to adapt a rigorous Humanities curriculum and tailor to our students' needs. The administrators are very down to earth and support their teachers. They are very receptive into listening to new ideas in academic rigor and student-to-student – more... discourse strategies. The co-workers are amazing individuals that committed to the student academic progress and their social emotional development. The most hardest part of the job is getting the student's parents involved due to their constraints at work. The most enjoyable part of the job is observing the student blossoming into well-rounded citizen and working in an environment that truly puts children first. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work.
Lunch Monitor (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 10, 2012
Great Place to work to interact with children and impact their educational process.