Boston Red Sox Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Strength Coach (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 27, 2015
Lots of work, and not much pay, but you get to go to the baseball field everyday, and work with fun people. Because the pay is low there is lots of turnover. Although, this is beneficial if you are willing to stick around, because you will move up the ladder.
Pros
active, outdoors
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well Organized, peaceful environment
IT Desktop Support Specialist (Former Employee) –  FenwayOctober 20, 2015
A very sound environment, everyone is at a steady pace and works efficiently together

All of the employee's here are eager to teach interns/new employee's as long as they are willing to learn
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Absolute Joy To Work At
Tour Guide (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 21, 2015
I loved my time with the Boston Red Sox. The entire staff was friendly and each day coming to the Park was a privilege. Besides giving tours, working the special events were a real joy.
Pros
Free baseball games
Cons
Cold weather
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and rewarding
Player/Outfielder (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 26, 2015
Red Sox staff were always helpful and paid close attention to detail. The hardest part of job was being on the road for most of the year.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment to work in.
Individual contributor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 25, 2015
Very fun place to work and has great management. It is ultimately about the bottom line but they also focus on employee morale and rewarding good work and accomplishments - however in ways other than salary. The only downfall is that so many people (fans) want to work there that they can easily get away with paying lower salaries.
Pros
benefits, perks, great environment
Cons
small workspaces, small pay
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Baseball Player
Professional Baseball Player (Former Employee) –  Fort Myers, FLJuly 23, 2015
I lived on the East Coast pitching for the Boston Red Sox 6 months out of the year. Competed for the 40 man roster spot with over 200 other professional baseball players in the organization.
Pros
Great lifestyle
Cons
Being away from family
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting, fun atmosphere, hard work
Grounds Crew Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 13, 2015
Typical day was preparing the field and batting practice. I learned that working for a professional sports field taking means you make the field absolutely perfect everyday despite what mother nature and constant games are thrown at you. The players need consistency. Management oversaw the most important aspects of the job like tarping. Fenway had many grounds crew workers, which lead to a fun work environment. The hardest part of the job was to be constantly on-call for pop up thunder storms and long days. The most enjoyable part was the environment of working for the Red Sox. It's not everyday that you get to drag the field between innings.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace and great customer service expereince.
security staffer (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 7, 2015
•Monitored and authorized entrance and departure of employees and visitors.

•Denied entrance to the building to unauthorized persons.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Baseball Player
Professional Baseball Player (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 23, 2015
Traveled and played for the Boston Red Sox Professional Baseball Organization. This was a great experience for me and helped me develop my spanish speaking skills.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Red Sox a great company to work for
Sales/Salesman (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 1, 2015
They make you feel valued as an employee, loved coming into work every day
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
energetic,fun, and friendly working environment
Security (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 8, 2014
It is a very comfortable working environment which i get to meet all different fans of the Boston Red Sox around the world. The Coworkers are family we work as unit to make sure fans are comfortable, Safe and enjoying the baseball game at fenway park. Their are sometimes the job can be tough with obnoxious or uncooperative fans whom don't follow the ball park rules
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun day, working at Fenway Park.
Fan Club Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 27, 2014
Working at fenway park was a fantastic experience. for one at time i got to see the players walking around the field, which was for me one of the best things since i love the game of baseball. while working at fenway park i met great co-workers who help me quite a bit when i was a bit comfuse on a costumers question. i was able to develop my communication skills since i had to speak to hundreds of fans .
Pros
free lunch, can see the baseball game(sometimes)
Cons
long hours standing.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing experience getting the chance to play professional baseball
Professional Baseball Player (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 19, 2013
I would wake up each day and arrive to the baseball field at 11am and spend the whole day there until our game was over at around 12pm. It was a great experience playing with major leaguers and other minor league athletes like myself. It is also very time consuming and teaches you about perseverance, dedication, and hard work.
Pros
getting the chance to live a dream
Cons
small success rate of making it to the major leagues
Was this review helpful?Yes5No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No down time
Contract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 29, 2013
during season and playoff things can get very busy. Great team and management was amazing
Pros
looking at fenway
Cons
off season
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Red Sox Game-Days
Game Day Operations/Greeter (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAAugust 19, 2013
Working at Fenway Park has been a privilege for the last seven seasons.
There is no place I'd rather be on any given day than the ball park.
I arrive two hours before the game and assist fans with any information they need. I also show them to their seats.
I have learned that it is always about the customer and in this case the fan.
I have enjoyed working with many great people and have made great relationships along the way.
One of the hardest parts of the job is explaining some guidelines that Fenway Park has that sometimes leave the fan a little upset.
The most enjoyable part of my job is having the honor of working in such a historical place.
I would not change anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great team; great organization
Summer Camp Operations Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 3, 2013
The Summer Camps ran smoothly. used 8 different fields around boston
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The ultimate place to work
Sales and Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 11, 2013
Working for the Boston Red Sox is a dream opportunity for anyone who is wanting to be in the professional sports world.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good employees,hard working and dedicated
facilities maintenance manager (Current Employee) –  Boston,MaDecember 14, 2012
upkeep of a century old ballpark mixed with new construction over the last 10 years. Fast paced and demanding enviorment with quick turn around times for facility team members. Co- workers are very helpful and willing to assist different departments.
Pros
good benifit package
Cons
long hours during summer months
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrific people and working culture
Client Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 23, 2012
Work at Fenway Park for one of the premier professional sport organizations in the world
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very prestigious. Still work there part-time
Information Systems Manager (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 19, 2012
Fun
Customer Service skills
Management is great
Co workers are great
the hours can be long
BASEBALL
Pros
free food, tickets
Cons
rainouts
Was this review helpful?Yes1No

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 23 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture