Boston Store Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provided a challenging environment
HR Assistant and Special Events (Current Employee) –  Glendale, WIOctober 8, 2017
Entered schedules, dealt with employee problems, facilitated training sessions for new hires, etc.

The hardest part of the job is to be confident and matter fact when making the tough decisions. Documentation and organization is key.

The most enjoyable part of the job is getting to the bottom of an issue and solving it f or the associate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work if you enjoy fast paced envionment with friendly people
Cash Office Associate (Current Employee) –  Janesville, WIOctober 2, 2017
There are always plenty of things to keep you busy, so if you are motivated and people oriented it can be a great pace to work. during the Holidays it gets very busy and you can get more hours, which can be a bonus.
Pros
engaging with great customers and staff
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was okay
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WIOctober 1, 2017
It was stressful sometime. Especially on busy days. Shoes would be everywhere and would still be bringing out more shoes for the customers. Having to organized the stock room by shoe color or style.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Wauwatosa, WISeptember 26, 2017
I enjoyed working at Boston Store I was taught about customer service and also learned they had stores all over the country , I loved the discounts and the credit card they give you when you first start working for them very convenient.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 18, 2017
working at Boston Store was extremely stressful. they made me work every weekend for more 8 or more hours a day. The mangers did not seem approachable. The other girls would not want to work so they disappeared and made me do all the work. the pay was very unfair too! they paid me a lot less that incoming associates and my annually raise was like nothing.
Pros
the employee discount
Cons
management, lack of communication, too much for one person
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of work for little pay especially during big sales
Front End Lead (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 12, 2017
CLEARANCE CENTER. A LOT of sales, If you close, expected to clean store it's A MESS. you're getting payed less than you should for the amount of work.
Pros
None really
Cons
Less pay for your hard work, not flexible unless in school or another job, bad management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and very busy
CREDIT CARD SPECIALIST (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WISeptember 5, 2017
I enjoyed working for boston store this is where i got my first lessons on reading credit reports and give out credit limits. The co-workers there were great and my boss was one of the best. I am glad to have worked here because it help me in the loan processing at Bank one.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fast pace
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 28, 2017
I enjoyed working there. It was fast pace. You meet lots of different daily. I was able to improve my customer service. Plus receive more training on the register
Pros
very fast pace
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Janesville, WIAugust 25, 2017
People were nice. They also had incentive programs for trips to various destinations throughout the United States. People were nice. They were very accommodating when it came to setting my hours
Pros
Incentives
Cons
Not much chance for advancement. However, I was only part time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 11, 2017
I was still in high school while working. They worked around my school schedule. I really enjoyed the experience of working with customers in many different areas. And the fact that I love fashion made it the best first job I could ask for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Boston Store?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to shop.
Guest Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIAugust 3, 2017
Great Coworkers,
I love Christmas Time because we did a lot of gift wrap at the service desk.
The sale of concert tickets and sporting events were fun
And handing out coupons to customers.
Pros
Employee discounts
Cons
The Service Desk area was eleminated
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away, bad management
Sales Associate part time (Former Employee) –  Racine, WIJuly 27, 2017
If you want a job where you are treated fairly, don't go here.
Management is bad and rude to employees.
They need to realize that we have a life outside of job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm very productive with my time and a very hard worker
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Glendale, WIJuly 23, 2017
Boston store is a very nice store and is very organized with their clothing. I also love there men department it's one of the neatest and organized ones I even seen and I was lucky enough to work in Boston store men's department.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place if you fit the culture
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greendale, WIJuly 12, 2017
An interesting work place filled with many different people from different walks of life. Always quick moving, sometimes to a fault. Management is very kind and understanding and respects personal choices needed to advance.
Pros
Great management
Cons
Incredibly sporadic client bursts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was decent not the best
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Racine, WIJuly 1, 2017
The managers are all over the place and they expect youu to just know everything if it wasn't for my co workers I would of had to quit because they literally didn't tell my anything beside how to do the cash register.
Pros
Lunch and the extra break
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to gain extra cash
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Brookfield, WIJune 15, 2017
Sales associates dealt with inside and outside sales, both by phone and in person. The hardest part of the job were long hours during the holidays, but it allowed for socialization between associates.
Pros
Employee discounts, flexible hours, opportunity for advancement
Cons
Low pay, long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
intresting
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Madison, WIJune 8, 2017
it was a good job meeting different people and learning the clothing retail business. Met a lot different people and cultures. Nice to have a discount on clothing
Pros
discount on products
Cons
holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical retail
Shoe Associate (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIJune 8, 2017
Basic retail. You get what you apply for. Straightforward tasks, and management is acceptable. Shoes are commission based, so being introverted is not an option. Management is okay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Greendale, WI 53129June 6, 2017
If working in the shoe department, your pay is based off of the sales generated. Almost all of the other departments are hourly. The hours are long but they go by extremely fast and you do have a lot of fun.
Pros
Flexibility
Cons
Pay, Commission Based
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun environment but worked hard.
Sales Associate (Part-time) (Former Employee) –  Milwaukee, WIMay 24, 2017
The people that I worked with at the time were really nice and fun. It was a job that worked hard at as well. Customers would return a lot of items which made things a bit stressful. Overall, beautiful store and friendly co-workers.
Pros
I worked part time.
Cons
The pay was kind of small.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boston Store. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 148 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.2
Culture
3.4