Boston University Employee Reviews

Found 201 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston University
Academic Administrator of MCBB (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 21, 2017
A lot has changed since I have been there, so I am not sure that a review from me at this point is that useful. At the time it was a good environment and a supportive one. Low salaries though.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Medical campusMarch 20, 2017
Great place to work, as I have worked there for some time. I would definitely consider this university if you are applying for a position. The location is
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Licensing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 16, 2017
i love the open atmosphere at the university. Great attention to people and heir lives, very understanding and flexible to the needs of employees. Benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn new skills like ms azure
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 8, 2017
Very good to assist a professor in his works and learning new technologies like ms azure, db, and power bi.
Looking forward to more such opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun College Job
PHOTO LAB TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 3, 2017
I worked here in college to get extra money. It was a great way to earn extra money, learn photographic processes and be involved helping students with their questions about photography.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best University to work for
Personal Assistant - USA (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 15, 2017
I have enjoyed my time working for Boston University.

They have inclusion policy that make you feel comfortable dealing with everyone in the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Group Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 13, 2017
My coworkers were great. Sometimes the process can be a bit disorganized, but as most of the employees are students, that is to be expected. Overall great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging day full of decisions both operational, resource allocation customer interaction,. Very demanding.
Associate Director of Mail Services (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 8, 2017
Begin the day.
Assess resources.
Allocate responsibilities based on resources available.
Monitor organizational needs and respond according to priorities.
Respond to customer requests effectively.
Handle any emergencies i.e. illness, vehicle breakdown etc.
Get all daily operational requirements met.
Take care of necessary issues if employee not available.
Work culture was no news is good news.
The hardest part of the job was reducing overtime to save jobs.
The most enjoyable part of the job was accomplishing all daily responsibilities in a timely complete manner. Ultimately satisfying the customers needs.
Pros
Being allowed to do your job.
Cons
Constant cutbacks of resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 6, 2017
Coursework includes: Statistical Methods in Quantitative Research, Applied Multiple Regression and
Multivariable Methods, Data Science in R, Statistical Learning, Time Series and Forecasting
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Teaching Assistant for 'Analog VLSI Circuit Design (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 31, 2017
If you want a stable job and a stable salary, this is the place you want to go. All you can do is go there, work, eat lunch, work and go home. It's not bad as there is not much challenges and you are not likely to get fired, but it is just not exciting.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Friendly Work Environment
Drafting & CAD Assistant (Co-op) (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 30, 2017
The work environment at Boston University (Facility and Planning Department) is well established and the managers, and more generally every member of the staff, make it easy to feel comfortable and ready for personal and professional improvement. The days can be fairly monotonous, but it is a dynamic work place and most likely there is always something new to get done.
Pros
Friendly and good pay check
Cons
Slow to get everyone on the same page
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 29, 2017
I was a graduate assistant and I had flexible hours. I learned a lot while assisting the professor. Got different business ideas and the way to handle the hard projects.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good College Job
Media Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 28, 2017
This job was a good college job which gave me some good IT experience. I was mainly responsible for loaning media equipment and troubleshooting tech problems that faculty would run into.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Innovative Technology
BU Mechanobiology Lab, Intern (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 28, 2017
Hands on work in the lab, which includes mechanical compression testing devices. A lot of support is provided by professors and staff.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 20, 2017
Very good job culture
Low compensation and benefits for Boston area
Good job security
Very friendly environment
Good work and life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston University private university
Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 14, 2017
I worked for BU. At this time, this is hard for me to evaluate the quality of BU's training program, caliber of the students of BU. In a decade, when I'm more mature, I will think back this experience as a strawberry on a waffle filled with wipple cream.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to learn and to grow your career
Post-doctoral Associate (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 11, 2017
Boston University provides a high quality work environment.
The faculty staff are often remarkable in many aspects and the training provided is very satisfying.

I recommend BU as a great place to learn and develop your professional skills as well as for growing your career.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great working place
SAS Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 10, 2016
this is the best school in the US, oh, no, in the world. The students are very polite and well educated. lecturers are very patient and would answer any questions you have.
Pros
easy dealing with each other
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to grow.
Associate Professor (Former Employee) –  College of Communication in Boston.November 29, 2016
BU will give you as much responsibility as you can handle. No politics. Decency and interesting people to work with. Wish they were here in warm Sarasota!
Pros
Collegiality.
Cons
MUCH committee work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great. Pattime job and earns a lot
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  MassachusettsNovember 20, 2016
It is a great experience to practice public speaking and communication with others. Also, the work load is reasonable, professors are friendly and other TAs are nice.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boston University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 203 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
4.0