Boston University Employee Reviews

Found 233 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Strength and Conditioning Intern (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 15, 2017
Staff and Facilities are great. Strength and Conditioning professionals are top of the line and work closely with the sports medicine team to further athletic advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment, low pay
Research (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 9, 2017
Flexible & supportive environment, but the pay could be better.

Amazing vacation time. All employees get off during intersession between Christmas and New Years!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful place to complete a Master's thesis project
Health Communication Graduate Consultant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 25, 2017
I did pro-bono consulting work for Boston University as part of my master's thesis project for Emerson College. It was a wonderful experience. The staff who I worked with in Student Health Services and Behavioral Medicine were patient, attentive, and provided fantastic mentorship to me.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome staff, lovely environment
Learning Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 24, 2017
I love both studying and working at BU. I find the people there to be very easy to get along with and there is rarely a day when I have a bad experience here.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A fine place to work
Assistant Director of Admissions (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 24, 2017
A young environment with many eager young professionals looking to move up in the higher education field. Travel is required for five weeks in the fall and working from home is required in the winter.
Pros
Social, Travel, Work-from, Home
Cons
Low salary, upward mobility is tough.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of Work, Decent Pay
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 20, 2017
Although I thoroughly enjoyed the work I did in the lab, it required many hours of overtime and weekend shifts. This extra work is par for the course when it comes to biology work, but it was certainly draining at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal office environment
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 19, 2017
Normal feel to this office space, everyone tends to keep to themselves; very easy to get your work done; repetitive work sometimes; located right off the exit
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome place to work and very demanding
Research Technician (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 17, 2017
Working as a technician for Boston University is a very fun job. you get to go in the field and have all sort of experiences. However this is a very demanding University and you must be willing to make some sacrifices if you really love your job and want to make your best effort.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and jovial work environment
Postdoctoral Researcher (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 17, 2017
Our current scientific focus is the ongoing support of medicinal chemistry projects that have evolved from screening hits discovered in collaboration with our CLC colleagues. We are broadly interested in developing and optimizing bioactive small molecules for therapeutic and research use in the study of infectious diseases, neurodegenerative diseases, and cancer.

Highly motivated team to come to everyday.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Pianista (Former Employee) –  BostonApril 17, 2017
Amazing experience Total music and wonderful people
Pros
People
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people and students to work with
Assistant Athletic Director (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 14, 2017
Talented staff and faculty who care a great deal about the students at the University. Expectations are high and work can be fast paced but mostly a relaxed place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston University
Academic Administrator of MCBB (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 21, 2017
A lot has changed since I have been there, so I am not sure that a review from me at this point is that useful. At the time it was a good environment and a supportive one. Low salaries though.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Laboratory Technician (Current Employee) –  Medical campusMarch 20, 2017
Great place to work, as I have worked there for some time. I would definitely consider this university if you are applying for a position. The location is
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
flexible
Licensing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 16, 2017
i love the open atmosphere at the university. Great attention to people and heir lives, very understanding and flexible to the needs of employees. Benefits are good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunity to learn new skills like ms azure
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 8, 2017
Very good to assist a professor in his works and learning new technologies like ms azure, db, and power bi.
Looking forward to more such opportunities
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun College Job
PHOTO LAB TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAMarch 3, 2017
I worked here in college to get extra money. It was a great way to earn extra money, learn photographic processes and be involved helping students with their questions about photography.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best University to work for
Personal Assistant - USA (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 15, 2017
I have enjoyed my time working for Boston University.

They have inclusion policy that make you feel comfortable dealing with everyone in the university.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Group Fitness Instructor (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 13, 2017
My coworkers were great. Sometimes the process can be a bit disorganized, but as most of the employees are students, that is to be expected. Overall great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A challenging day full of decisions both operational, resource allocation customer interaction,. Very demanding.
Associate Director of Mail Services (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 8, 2017
Begin the day.
Assess resources.
Allocate responsibilities based on resources available.
Monitor organizational needs and respond according to priorities.
Respond to customer requests effectively.
Handle any emergencies i.e. illness, vehicle breakdown etc.
Get all daily operational requirements met.
Take care of necessary issues if employee not available.
Work culture was no news is good news.
The hardest part of the job was reducing overtime to save jobs.
The most enjoyable part of the job was accomplishing all daily responsibilities in a timely complete manner. Ultimately satisfying the customers needs.
Pros
Being allowed to do your job.
Cons
Constant cutbacks of resources.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful experience
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 6, 2017
Coursework includes: Statistical Methods in Quantitative Research, Applied Multiple Regression and
Multivariable Methods, Data Science in R, Statistical Learning, Time Series and Forecasting
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boston University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 235 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.7
Culture
4.0