Find companies:
Boston University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
106 reviews

Boston University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management, lack of unified staff
staff (Former Employee), Boston, MASeptember 15, 2013
Although BMC has many excellent departments and has gained national recognition for some achievements, there was a lack of upper management involvement in day to day operations which led to a lack of teamwork and cohesion amongst staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Digital Filmmaker, Graduate Student (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: good staff
best school ever, had the best experience:

• Located and secured approval for land at low cost, directed casting, and provided input on final picture and sound edit for other students Project.
• Elected best Directors from professors and Instructors.
• Requested Several times by other students to direct their projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Digital Filmmaker, Graduate Student (Former Employee), Washington, DCSeptember 4, 2013
Pros: good staff
Best school ever.
Located and secured approval for land at low cost, directed casting, and provided input on final picture and sound edit for other students Project.
• Elected best Directors from professors and Instructors.
• Requested Several times by other students to direct their projects.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 27, 2013
Great facility
Great faculty
Great location
Great culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boston University Medical School Administrative Assistant
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 12, 2013
Provided direct assistant to department chairman. Monitored and disbursed A/P payments. Processed invoices for payment. Reviewed, reconciled and audited petty cash. Ordered supplies. Mailed legal and financial documents and grant proposals in a timely manner. Provided customer service to patients, faculty, students and outside businesses. Reconciled – more... and reimbursed travel expenses. Scheduled meetings. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
interesting experience, not enough experience however
Psychology Intern (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 7, 2013
Pros: good experience in the field of psychology
Cons: non specific instructions
- typical day: entering in data, researching data, coding data
- what I learned: the conditions/ circumstances that either lead African- American women getting/ not getting treatment for their HIV AIDS .
- management: Management was nice but not specific with instructions.
- co- workers: My co- workers were nice and helpful in guiding me in the research – more... process.
- the hardest part of the job: finding viable research
- the most enjoyable part of the job: reading the stories of the women – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to balance student/work life
Management, Dean's Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAAugust 2, 2013
It was great to work here as a Dean's Assistant. Good hours and nice work/life balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Grad Assistanceship
Graduate IT Labs Supervisor (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 30, 2013
Graduate student Assistanceship nothing unusual mostly reserved for foreign students with no other options
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 15, 2013
Hold two hours of office hours each week.
Prepare homework solutions, and grade homework.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
balance of life and work
Administrative Coordinator, Actuarial Science Dept (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 10, 2013
Pros: vacation, benefits, tuition remission
Cons: low salary
There is a good balance between life and work. Working at a University is great because you can take courses for free.

The salary is low but it has a great working environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Office Assistant in Accounts Payable (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: great atmosphere
As a student worker at accounts payable, it was enjoyable to work with the staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great learning experience
Security Officer (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 8, 2013
Pros: great coworkers
Cons: overnight shifts
had to do a lot of physical security work very challenging but a great learning experience love to work there
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work
Communications Coordinator (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 7, 2013
BU is ridden with bad management and workplace abuse. I've worked there and have met many people who've worked there, and no one has had a positive experience. They turn their cheek to problems. Do not work at BU.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work!
Systems Administrator II (Current Employee), Boston, MAJuly 2, 2013
administer servers
support end users
storage
email
active directory
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Advisor
Student Accounting Services-Financial Advisor (Current Employee), Boston, MAJune 12, 2013
My typical day consists of multi-tasking between answering business e-mails and business calls regarding BU students' accounts.

I learned that financial matters can be very intimidating to our students and their families.

I work under 3 managers; 1 Associate Director and 2 Assistant Directors.

My fellow financial advisors are a great bunch of people. – more... They are very well trained and take their job seriously.

The hardest part of the day is leaving the parking lot-there is a long traffic light that turns green for 10 seconds.

The most enjoyable part of the day is that I had time set aside by the managers to sign off the phone queue and work on account issues that need a little more focus. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
TA (Current Employee), Boston, MAMay 23, 2013
I barely work there, but when I did it was okay. Management is not good, Faculty is not great either. Some of the coworkers are quite decent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent learning environment
Senior Research Technician and Lab Manager (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 6, 2013
I had a great boss who was patient with me and taught me relevant skills and techniques. There is no way that I would be in the position that I am today without his training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An Easygoing Job That Was Easy To Get To.
Office Support (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 6, 2013
Pros: job was easily accessible by public transportation.
Cons: it was only a temporary position.
My workday began and ended with open and processing the contents of foreign applicants wish to enroll at Boston University.

What did I learn? I learned one needs quite a bit of financial backing in order to study abroad!

My co-workers were some of the nicest people I've worked with. Easily one of the friendliest, most "laid-back" work environments – more... I had the pleasure to be a part of.

Honestly, there wasn't a hard part to this job.

Most enjoyable part? Probably interacting with my co-workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horriable Job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 28, 2013
Cons: short breaks
Never would work for them in the research department. The office manager was very mean and bitter.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Biology Department at BU is very supportive
Ph.D. Graduate Student (Former Employee), Boston, MAApril 24, 2013
Pros: strong graduate student body, administration
Cons: some older professors that are a little stubborn and stuck in their ways
Getting a Ph.D. is not easy by any stretch of the imagination. And though us Ph.D. candidates may have mentors that are stuck in their ways or work with other students with big egos, the support staff (admins, head of the program, graduate student advisor, etc) is extremely helpful and supportive of our goal of attaining our doctorates. When you aren't – more... sure what to do with your research or administrative requirements, there is always someone to guide you in the right direction. There is also a very active student body with many graduate student associations, athletic teams, and other interest groups to helps us relax and not get bogged down with our work. – less