Find companies:
Bottom Dollar Food
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
54 reviews

Bottom Dollar Food Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company, good people
Cash office assistant (Current Employee), PennsylvaniaJune 25, 2014
My job requires me to be a customer service leader. I am in charge of employees, handling the daily accounting, and solving problems. I also answer phone calls and direct them to where they need to go and I also answer customers questions and do whatever it takes to help them and make them happy. I also operate the cash register.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working with such a diverse group of people. Job was very demanding.
Dry Department Manager (Former Employee), Reading, PAJune 14, 2014
There were many personal interactions throughout the day, both with co-workers and customers. I got the chance to review monthly Profit and Loss statements and make necessary adjustments to improve the bottom line. The hours were very demanding, including most weekends and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rock Bottom
Cashier (Former Employee), Bridgeville, PAJune 7, 2014
Crazy hours, no fun, no relationships with co-workers, no training
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place
Fresh Sales Associate (Former Employee), Bellmawr, NJMay 10, 2014
a typical day at work is stocking and rotating fresh meat and produce products, I love the management there they work well with my schedule needs, I get along with all my co workers they are like my second family,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the most enjoyable part of the job
Grocery Department Stocker (Current Employee), Woodbury, NJApril 28, 2014
Pros: the people
Cons: the organization
a good part time job could do better with benefits and other things
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just a job
Cash Office Assistant (Current Employee), Wilow Grove, PAApril 27, 2014
I love my co workers but the pay sucks, only averages about 20 hours a week and the raises suck also.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/a
Account Analyst (Current Employee), Castle Shannon PaApril 21, 2014
A typical day at work for me would be, I would check for price changes. If I have price changes I would print out the tag and replace the tag. During the morning hours I receive vendors, and check in their products.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start off
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 3, 2014
I will always love Bottom Dollar fir taking a chance on me when no one else would.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible work place
Dry Associate (Former Employee), North Wales, PAMarch 31, 2014
Pros: a job
Cons: horrible managers and pay.
We would Unload the grocery truck and then worked it to the shelves and top stock the left overs.Horrible managers and pay. People were rude didn't care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom Dollar Food Review
Cashier/Stock Executive (Current Employee), Coatesville, PAMarch 3, 2014
Pros: breaks, lunches, time to unwind
Cons: pay is reasonable, but i need something that pays more.
As a cashier at Bottom Dollar Food, I have learned how to work with customers and convienence them with our services. The company does a great job at making the shoppers feel like they are in good hands, and are very polite with customer requests. I have become a people person and dealing with tasks at the workplace as a team as well as independent.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bottom Dollar
Cashier/produce associate (Former Employee), Glassboro, NJFebruary 10, 2014
Bottom dollar food is the offspring of the famous food lion. they treat their workers very well and insist that employees possess great customer service skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its just a job you cannot make this a potential career
Full Time Fresh Associate (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PaFebruary 2, 2014
Pros: it is better than nothing
Cons: discrimination, bullying, intimidation, poor management, horrible scheduling
This company will sell you dreams of advancement in an effort to get every once of effort out of you. Most associates are more knowledgeable and qualified to some degree than their respective managers. A lot of sneaky behind the scenes inappropriate relationships going on, as with most companies. favorites are priority, and if you're opinionated, vocal – more... or expressive you will instantly become a target by management – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I did not apprciate the management there because they are very hard to work for.
Cashier (Former Employee), Baldwin, PAJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: great products at low prices and friendly employees
Cons: getting no respect from the management
A fine place to shop but a not so great place to work. I learned a lot while I was there at Bottom Dollar Food, but I would never work there again.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
cashier (Former Employee), Philadelphia, PAJanuary 25, 2014
Very busy which is a good thing. Nice co-workers and managers, hardest part was dealing with nasty customers but overall it was a good place to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Sales associate (Former Employee), Turnersville, NJJanuary 10, 2014
Friendly people, not enough hours, dont have to bag, simmilar to save alot but cleaner. decent management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 18, 2013
Great place to work not many opportunities to move up in company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Cashier (Current Employee), Easton, PADecember 16, 2013
Pros: pay.
Cons: short breaks.
Scan groceries for 4 hours with a 10 minute break. Co-workers are friendly and management is good.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive environment,
Cashier (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PADecember 13, 2013
Pros: positive environment
Cons: short breaks, short hours
Working hard will allow one to move up fast as a cashier and move into the office administrator position, downfall is that there are others that have been there longer that may not respect a new comer moving up faster than they have. Management is not always helpful when there is a rush of customers and not enough cashiers. Customer to employee ratio – more... is always off balanced which can anger the customers that need assistance. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Can be fun environment, but expect terrible management and customers
Keyholder and Cashier (Former Employee), PennsylvaniaNovember 30, 2013
Pros: some friendly employees, direct deposit, convenient to shop at, 10 minute breaks are paid
Cons: healthcare and benefits, micromanagement, harassment, no discounts, short breaks, short hours, rude customers and managers, impossible to excel unless assistant manager
I worked here for about a year.
I advanced to a keyholder after around 4 months.
Most of management was ok, some were not. Micromanagement seemed to be an issue with some new people.

Some cashiers were lazy and obnoxious just like the customers and others were hard-working and nice.
It was a family-type environment, but there was diversity and most – more... people were friendly.

A lot of hard work, if you're working upfront or if you're working in the back. Customers were disrespectful, demeaning, and always insisted on trying to steal your cart or merchandise.
I usually only got 1 or 2 10-minute breaks, even over an 8 hour shift.
Can be very fast-paced and emotionally/physically draining.

The pay was atrocious and we couldn't go over 30 hours a week. Health benefits were a joke.
No employee discounts.

Maybe increase your products or prices a little and don't hire so many people, so that some of us could be full-time.

I liked working here before being screwed over.

The only way you're going to be paid is if you're management.

Other than that, love shopping there and love the low prices!

Hope corporate solves these issues so that current employees stay... – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working at Bottom Dollar
Cashier/Front End Associate (Former Employee), Bensalem, PASeptember 9, 2013
Working at bottom dollar can be very challenging, but I succeeded. A typical work day is bringing in carts, answering phones, and ringing up customers. The management team were helpful.

1 2 3