Find companies:
Bowling Green State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
61 reviews

Bowling Green State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bowling Green State University
Laboratory Assistant (Current Employee), Life Science BuildingFebruary 27, 2015
The faculty are generally kind and knowledgeable, however they seem to be rather lax in the execution of their rules and regulations.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJanuary 27, 2015
Being a graduate research assistant was a great experience. While going to graduate school can be a stressful time working with the university for different professors is a great way to be able to balance school and also working in the education field. Working with professors is a great way for masters students to be able to be more on the administrative side of the classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BGSU
Graduate Assistantship - Sport Management Dept. (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHDecember 12, 2014
BGSU allowed me to earn both of my Masters degrees by being a Graduate Assistant for the the Sport Management Department.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ITS Application Director
ITS, Director of Enterprise Applications (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OhioNovember 11, 2014
Pros: tuition fee waiver and great people
Cons: i have been unable to sell my home in wilmington, ohio - i am commuting.
Responsible for directing the IT staff in the support, maintenance, enhancement and implementation of all enterprise applications at BGSU (Staff of 38)
• Collaborates with the VPs and Directors of all primary business offices to understand and evaluate all University priorities and the university strategic plan as they relate to IT initiatives.
• Created the IT Enterprise Application strategic planning including determining IT project priorities based on the university strategic plan.
• Authored, promoted and gained approval for a $1.5 million program to incorporate needed application upgrades but also including an initiative to re-engineer business process to provide business automation to the university (turn paper process into automated processes).
• Established communication standards and formats that are utilized to share project information with many different university audiences from the divisional VPs to the general University community.
• Manages the IT project pipe line by prioritizing projects, establishing timelines, determining resource needs and working with university executives to gain budget and priority approval and to ensure the delivery of projects on time and within budget.
• Responsible for the technology direction and application road map for the following: analytical reporting / data warehouse, ERP applications (PeopleSoft CSS/HCM/FMS), LMS, OnBase, SharePoint, CMS, web development (java) & academic applications.
• Built application road maps for all Enterprise Applications which include planning for application upgrades, infrastructure needs, and evaluating – more... onsite vs. cloud presence.
• Manages a team of 5 managers and provide an environment in which I mentor the management team to move up to the next level by encouraging professional development and technical training.
• Participating in the CIO leadership program provided by the CIO magazine.
• Monitors and maintains the IT budget for application services.
• Established solid application change control procedures to ensure the stability of the Enterprise Applications.
• Provides excellent customer service for problem and incident management utilizing an ITIL framework.
• Implemented best practices for application development processes utilizing an Agile SDLC approach and a lean project management structure.
• Oversight for all IT application projects to ensure proper scope, timelines and resources are available to deliver a quality product.
• Participates in the evaluations of any new software products, review RFPs and jointly works with the purchasing department to negotiate final contract.
• Promotes a positive work environment by supporting team building initiatives through-out the year.
• In Fiscal Year 2013, the application development team delivered 22 major projects.
• Responsible for projects ranging in cost from $200,000 to $5 Million consisting of outside resources.
• Projects completed: established a data ware house approach utilizing: oracle database, database ETL, OBIEE reporting toolset and star schema data structures, completed 2 People Tool upgrades, implementation of adobe AEM as the selected CMS, established a 4 year application road map for the ERP applications, conducted an RFP to select as an implementation partner to execute on the ERP road map, created a program with 4 project work streams to evaluate all business processes and implement automated solutions and conducting an RFP to select an enterprise CRM application. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to learn how to teach
Instructor and Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHOctober 27, 2014
Many designed courses to help you improve your teaching skills. And you can get many practices for teaching various courses.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to be
Clerical (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHSeptember 25, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: economic situation
It's a great place to work, diverse, and always room for opportunity
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job for Being Research Assistant
Graduate Assistant--Research Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHSeptember 10, 2014
a research day at work
time-consuming but it worthy
professor is nice, not push hard.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Part-time instructor
Instructor (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHSeptember 3, 2014
Enjoyed the opportunity to interact with students who shared the same passion for aviation as I do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best & Worst Times
Research Volunteer (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHAugust 18, 2014
They were very understanding towards the students because they knew that we had homework or other school projects to do.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Graduate Assistanship
Advisor, College of Business Career Accelerator (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHAugust 17, 2014
Great working working environment. Worked in the College of Business Administration and developed great relationships with faculty, students, and employers to ensure that students were fully equipped for employment after graduation.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tutor/Educator of Children at BGSU
Host and Producer (Former Employee), Toledo, OhJuly 5, 2014
It was great working with children and enhancing their skills they need help with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed environment, almost too relaxed
Student Technology Assistant Center (Former Employee), Bowling Green OhioJune 16, 2014
Pros: relaxed dress code, employee appreciation picnics
Cons: unproductive environment
This job experience felt very unprofessional overall and did not give me a proper chance to develop new capabilities to expand my potential.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work-space with all facilities provided.
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHJune 5, 2014
Pros: sufficient breaks, sometimes free coffee or lunch is also provided.
I have learned good team work, how to manage the databases using Toad for Oracle and also punctuality here at Institutional Research Office of BGSU.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is your typical college environment
Mentor and Parking Enforcer (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHMay 20, 2014
Typical college environment and I learned the importance of teamwork along with strong communication skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun with a ping pong table and great co workers.
Desk Clerk (Former Employee), Bowling Green OHMay 14, 2014
The staff was always great and this job was different because we lived in same building we worked in but it had its benefits.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Teaching Experience
Instructor (Current Employee), PhilosophyMay 5, 2014
Coworkers friendly and supportive
Most enjoyable part of the job was interacting with students.
Was able to develop teaching skills and the ability to create classroom and web-based curriculum.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming University
Academic Advisor (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHApril 8, 2014
Bowling Green State University offers a family friendly environment. Co-workers are supportive of personal and professional goals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great teaching experience
Instructor on Record (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHMarch 5, 2014
Great teaching experience. Great opportunity to build skills and abilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always an adventure!
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: when the students finally understand the material
Cons: student e-mails
My job consisted mostly of answering student questions about the course material and homework assignments, in addition to grading all student submissions. I worked with an amazing instructor and a second Teaching Assistant. We always had a ton of fun and there was never a dull moment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy to juggle with school.
Teacher's Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJanuary 15, 2014
Pros: got to teach, got paid to do it, and loved what i taught
Cons: close-minded methods, lack of job security
I worked as a teacher's assistant. I graded papers, overtook exam reviews and ran classes when the professor was out of town. I enjoyed the office I worked for, the professor I worked under and the colleagues in the Department of Geography. The job security is based on downsizing and the department budget, which is shaky at best. Great for a college student, exclusive to them, usually.

1 2 3 4