Find companies:
Bowling Green State University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
55 reviews

Bowling Green State University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An honor to hold this assistantship
Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHAugust 10, 2013
Pros: flexible hours and worked with many pleasant people
Cons: had many supervisors that i had to make sure i was delegating my time equally
Worked for a two professors and for the secretary to the head of the School of HMSL. When I worked for the professors I compiled research information and compiled data into spreadsheets, as well as grade papers and assist in classroom activities. When I worked in the administrative office I assisted the secretary with her work and was given tasks directly – more... from the director. It was a great job opportunity where I was able to learn a variety of office and clerical skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Stepping Stone for entry level professionals
Multicultural Admissions Counselor (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHAugust 7, 2013
My main responsibility was recruiting multicultural students to the university and assisting them throughout the admissions process.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, great people, sometimes gross
BGSU Campus Operations Student Custodian (Former Employee), Residence Halls, Bowling Green, OHJuly 31, 2013
Pros: consistent breaks, always leave on time, great coworkers, great hours, very flexible
Cons: residents in the dorms, vomit, used condoms, fecal matter, urine, cleaning toilets, trash, gross things
I worked for Campus Operations for two years, including two summers. I was on first shift, 7:30-4, cleaning the residence halls. During the summer, we would clean thorough clean the entire dorm; rooms, hallways, bathrooms, lounges, stairs, elevators, if you can think of it, we cleaned it. We would spend 5-10 days at each building then bounce around. – more... So, there is not a residence building on campus I have not been in, aside from Centennial and Falcon Heights, which are not actually owned by BGSU. They outsource their custodial staff there.

More, during the school year, the work is great. You give your supervisor your class schedule and just come in whenever! You mostly do main areas, and things the full-time staff is unable to get it. You meet great coworkers with this job, and it really had a family feel. I created great relationships with all my coworkers and supervisors through Campus Operations. Each semester, you get reviewed, and if positive, get a .25 cent raise. So, if you start as a Freshman, you could be making good money by the time you're a Senior! You cannot keep this job after graduation, which is the only reason I am currently not employed with them. Great job, sometimes really gross (as it is a custodial positon). – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHJuly 30, 2013
If it wasn't for my husband’s job relocating him I would still be with the University. I have nothing bad to say about BGSU. The staff that I worked with was all really helpful. My boss was very flexible and understanding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy Going, But Efficient Workplace
Clerical Assistant, Office of Field Experiences (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJuly 25, 2013
There was very little stress when completing an assignment or task because of the lax work environment, and because of the lax work environment people actually finished their work way before the deadlines.

I learned how to deal with understanding questions from students and professors over the phone, in person, and through e-mail. I also learned how – more... to understand Apple computers and their functions. I helped with the marketing department by creating attractive presentations through Powerpoint and other media. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good graduate environment
Research/Teaching Assistant (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHJuly 17, 2013
This is a typical school with a rigorous graduate program. There were many opportunities to increase knowledge and skills, but it was difficult to balance work and school.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
I Kitchen Manager (Current Employee), utica, miJuly 10, 2013
Pros: benefits
Cons: quality of life
work load was identified and meet daily, however quality of life is not the best.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Job well in school.
Video Operator/Classroom Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJuly 9, 2013
Typically I would be helping teachers in the classroom with the AV equipment. It was a great job with understanding and helpful management. if I was still in school I would still be working there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent experience
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJune 26, 2013
Working hands on with undergraduate students in Economics courses really reinforced my understanding of the subject, especially since I was an English major in undergraduate. The hours were very reasonable, and best of all tuition was paid for, and this was extra on top!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being their for the young men on the team
Founder / President of Stick Chicks (Former Employee), Ice ArenaJune 10, 2013
Being a huge supporter of the hockey teams. I learned to be very outgoing . Making sure me and my fellow stick chicks were at every home game !
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student affairs training.
Career Center Graduate Assistant (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHMay 30, 2013
BGSU provides a highly sought-after student affairs program in the College Student Personnel and Higher Education Administration fields.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
grad student
TEACHING ASSIST (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHApril 17, 2013
Worked on my thesis while I attended classes and worked with 4-6th graders.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Campus, Rough Transition
History Graduate Assistant (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHApril 17, 2013
As a graduate assistant at BGSU, I have been fortunate to work closely with professors who are interested in my success as a scholar. The time that they put into student success reflects their commitment to their careers as educators.
The workload reflects the variety of skills that students are expected to acquire in their time at the university, and – more... are refined throughout the graduate career. Although at first the expectations can seem intimidating, the experience is well worth the effort. I have gained valuable experience as an instructor and a research assistant in my time at Bowling Green.
The campus is currently overhauling some of its faculty and graduate student policies (2013), causing abnormal stress for some professors and students, but after necessary changes are made, I expect that the campus environment will become less stressful. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience gained
Chemist (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHApril 9, 2013
I got to utilize many types of equipment and machinery to gain hands on experience in the laboratory.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun yet high paced environment
Union Operations Coordinator (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHMarch 19, 2013
Pros: duties can differ day to day
Cons: some very late nights, high turnover due to student-based staff
Working alongside university students and full time staff in a professional/academic setting to ensure customer satisfaction in conferences and event production. This job demands a diverse set of attributes from an individual. For example in a typical day you may build a stage for a visiting congressman, design the lighting for a fashion show, or trouble – more... shoot computer problems during a student organization meeting. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My experience
Student Recruitment Team (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHFebruary 5, 2013
Pros: i always smiled and has the opportunity to interact with people
Cons: never made a decent wage
Overall typical as a college and high school student. I worked hard and was able to balance my personal and work life. I just enjoyed working with both adults and youth
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Information Technology Consultant and Trainer (Former Employee), Bowling Green, OHJanuary 18, 2013
Pros: employee-centered
Cons: promotion limited due to budget cuts
Highly productive environment full of highly educated supervisors.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hardest Part of the Job
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHDecember 24, 2012
To balance what was expected of me as an educator and to break the limitations set by them in order to provide my students with the best education that I could offer them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent opportunity to learn diverse, industry specific skills.
Assistant Director (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHDecember 7, 2012
Pros: rapidly and constantly changing environment.
Cons: changing textbook industry.
Responsible for all areas (excluding textbooks and marketing) within the stores;financial operations, analysis, student employment, human resources customer service, accounting, cash office, purchasing, operational analysis, benchmarking, strategic planning and goal setting, safety and loss prevention, payroll administration, coordinating hiring, succession – more... planning, organizational development and employee training & development, fiscal oversight, bookstore operations management, financial analysis and budget development and administration. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Job
Web Developer/Designer (Current Employee), Bowling Green, OHNovember 29, 2012
Learn a lot of information while working here and do a lot of websites and different designs