Boyd Gaming Corporation Employee Reviews

Showing all 118 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of opportunity/compensation
Design Manager (Current Employee) –  Dubuque, IAAugust 14, 2017
If you enjoy being stressed everyday by unorganized management, and receiving a 1% raise each year, this is the company for you. This could be a great place to work, but the entire structure needs an overhaul. Unqualified people with no experience in design are the ones who run the show.
Pros
Fun coworkers
Cons
Poor compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over all a good place to work
Accounts Payable/Inventory ControlSupervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 10, 2017
There was a good and clean working environment. My supervisors were fair, decipline wise. The month end closing was a very stressful time. Sometimes long hours.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Some days were too long
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very easy job, had to quit for college
Valet (Former Employee) –  East Peoria, ILJuly 11, 2017
This job was very easy, the people and management were very pleasant to work with and talk to, and so long as i wasn't at the register i could play games or watch TV on my phone while we weren't moving cars.
Pros
Chill job with lots of breaks
Cons
interfered with school
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Half and half. Slow at times fast at others
Bell Person (Former Employee) –  Michigan city indianaJune 24, 2017
Job was good but one of two of my supervisors were unfit for the position mentally. He liked to belittle people and call them names. Brakes were good free if not dirt cheap meals.. And actuallt good meals. I wasnt full time so didnt recieve PTO. Or benifits. But they were offered to full time/part-time employees. Decent hours about 20-25 a week as a on call-steady extra. Lime the job as a whole over all.
Pros
Good brakes, staff, and overall job. And tips are good
Cons
Very strict and sometimes outrageous rules.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lot of experience because you are over worked and under paid
INTERNAL AUDITOR (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 18, 2017
I learned a lot at Boyd because they expect a lot. There is a very high turnover because they over qualify you and basically hand you over to someone who will pay and treat you right. The recent tone at the top has been cut cost at any cost; under pay employees, deny maternity leave benefits, condense jobs, cut health options and retirement contributions.
Pros
Free Lunch
Cons
Benefits and Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
busy work environment.
Casino Porter (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NV 89145June 10, 2017
Even though it is a interesting place to work, the smoke environment and loud music are not a plus and if you like rude customers and gambling. it is the place for you. also advancement in your field is almost non-existence.
Pros
good insurance, pay is not bad.
Cons
smokey environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok, but I can do better.
Slots Technician (Current Employee) –  Amelia, LAMay 25, 2017
The typical work day consisted of being exposed to second hand, cigarette smoke on a shift which typically lasted for seven hours.
Some of the customers became disrespectful when they became intoxicated. You had to watch your own back because some employees were quick to tell a lie in order to exonerate themselves while you were tossed under the bus. This is a typical night people job. However, the applicant was not in that deep. Therefore, he chose to disassociate himself from a potential unlawful situation.
Pros
Free Lunches
Cons
Restricted to being on the vessel continually exposed to second hand smoke.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun and fast place to work
Lead Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 11, 2017
great company, fun and fast passed. all the employees are great to get along with. Great location for the casino right down town so always brought in a great crowed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unorganized
Food and Beverage (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMay 1, 2017
Not the best place to work at. Pay not worth the work they want you to do. A lot of corruption go on in that place of business. Nothing ever gets done about anything personal as to co workers being bullied and business wise.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for entry level. Get experience and get out.
Casino Floor Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 13, 2017
Used to be a good place to work. Going down hill fast. Good job security, almost impossible to get fired. Raises and promotions are nearly non-existent. They claim they need to cut benefits because there isn't enough money but they continue to buy more casinos all the time.
Pros
Impossible to get fired
Cons
Being stuck working with people who should be fired, benefits not what they used to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Coworkers are friendly
Clerk/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 9, 2017
Excellent place to work, workers are very friendly, everyone works together and have communication skills. Security is always around when you need them.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Medical is too high out of pocket
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced casino job
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Vinton, LAApril 3, 2017
Nice folks, however, the only thing that really matters is the almighty dollar. I cannot suger coat this., The act like they care but will put the blade in your back in a heartbeat.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting Career in the Casino
Surveillance Operator (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMarch 25, 2017
Well developed training program, definatley the best in this area. After a couple of years experience one is able to move up to a lead position. I love being able to see everything that goes on at this property. Job is pretty exciting at times.
Pros
Clean work environment, insurance/HRA, 401K contributions
Cons
A lot of work for the pay, food prices a little high in the employee dining hall
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting to say the least.
Surveillance Agent (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LAMarch 25, 2017
Overall, they have a good group of people working in this particular department, especially the shift I was on. There is a lot more to this job than you would imagine, but with time you'll pick it up, they have a really good management team. Had a real friendly atmosphere, but when its time to work and get stuff done, then its time to work and get stuff done. Really enjoyed the limited time I had at this job, unfortunately I had to vacate my position for another opportunity that unexpectedly came up.

Aside from the people in the Surveillance Department, everyone else throughout the building I had the pleasure of coming across was very friendly and helpful.
Pros
Paid breaks, friendly atmosphere, great management team and coworkers
Cons
Couldnt leave property on breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sweating money on the table (supervisor manager)
Table Games Dealer (Former Employee) –  Sun Coast Hotel and CasinoMarch 21, 2017
Nice to work with people. No complains about the co workers. We help each other. Friendly people. Working in this company is help you to have good benefits, insurance and help you to save your money from 401K.
Pros
Free food
Cons
Short break
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Biloxi, MSFebruary 25, 2017
They care about their employees and they want to see them grow with the company. They offer great benefits to their employees as well. I have met many interesting people working for the IP Casino .
Pros
Good benefits, free lunches, PTO for Partime employees as well .
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere
Promotions Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 16, 2017
This company seems to care more about their workers more than the average casino industry.
This is a good place for advancement.
They value the importance of respect among one another.
Pros
free meals, free parking, knowledgeable staff
Cons
lower pay, short staffing levels
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security not a good place to work
I was a security officer (Former Employee) –  Gold Coast CasinoFebruary 15, 2017
I worked security at the Gold Coast for about 3 years. Security supervisors , from the head of security to the Sergeants to the corporals were very unprofessional. There were a very few exceptions. If you were former law enforcement, they let you know you did not belong. If you were not one of their friends, you had a ruff time. When there written complaints against the supervisors, Human Resources basically ignored them.
I have to admit, the training Security got was impressive. Overall don't work there
Pros
Training
Cons
Bad supervisors, bad working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace environment
Human Resources Senior Specialist (Current Employee) –  Opelousas, LAFebruary 7, 2017
I enjoy working for a company that has room for advancement and challenge their employees professionally. The most enjoyable part of my job is working with co-workers and helping others.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok
Laundry/Housekeeping Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Michigan City, INJanuary 31, 2017
Run product to meet departmental needs. Variety of job tasks on a daily basis. Personal challenges met and different daily.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Boyd Gaming Corporation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 118 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
2.9
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.0
Culture
3.1