Find companies:
Boys & Girls Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
193 reviews

Boys & Girls Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Atlanta Workforce Development Agency (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 3, 2014
Working at the boys and girls club was a good learning experience i had alot of challenges but though it all i went to work everyday i was on time and i was ready to work no matter what
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome hands-on experience with non-profit and grant allocation
Office Manager (Former Employee), Garfield, NJApril 1, 2014
Meeting with CEO and Program Director to ensure that programs are operating according to grant specifications. Oversee major repairs and general maintenance for the Club. I've learned how to research and seek grants for the organization. All mt co-workers are hard-working and helpful. The hardest part of the job is when kids leave the program. Overall – more... i enjoy all aspects of the job, yet the most enjoyable is being able to allocate grant monies so that all the children benefit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bartlesville, OKMarch 31, 2014
Pros: working with children
Cons: manager
Manager did not know what she was doing and was hateful. I feel that if you can not run a business then you have no reason to be doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
? (Former Employee), Dayton, VAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: the smiles on the childrens faces
very friendly, a great work place, enjoyed making a difference in the children's lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Joy to Work Here
Student Helper (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: helping, teaching, educating
Cons: very little pay, non-profit organization
The Boys & Girls Club was a great experience for me, just being around children who wanted to succeed and do better. But helping the ones that struggle and needed extra help it was so fun. To this day I still keep in contact with the parents and children that attended the club.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired as a Intern
Health Educator (Intern) (Former Employee), Southern CaliforniaMarch 11, 2014
Pros: rewarding to work with children
Cons: lack of management, and misleading job hiring practices.
I was hired as an college Intern for a Boys & Girls Club location in Southern California. I was to assist in teaching a new health & wellness program to 8-12 year old children. When I showed up at my site:
Nobody knew who I was or why I was there
None of the tools that I needed where available or ever provided to me.
Nobody knew anything about the program – more... I was supposed to teach.
I did not have a preceptor, which is the main point of a internship.
I ended up playing with the kids and helping with homework for my stent with them.

I was most bothered by some of the counselors competing to see who was most liked by the kids as well as ignoring obvious bullying that was occurring among the kids.

I feel as though my Internship was wasted and that the Boys & Girls Club, either did not have a clear understanding of what an internship is or has a lack of organization within it's hiring and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for kids to go to after school on weekends.
Athletic Director (Former Employee), Marion, INMarch 10, 2014
Started off my day in the office getting all paper work together for the current season in sports. Also did some work with the sports that were ahead. I was in charge of both Boys & Girls Club staff and volunteers. I learned to be patient and organized in my daily activities. The toughest part of my job was the long hours during the big sport seasons – more... (basketball and football). The most enjoyable part was learning about all of the nuances of putting together a league in sports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The enjoyment of working with kids from different cultures
Youth Development Specialist (Former Employee), Marble Falls, TXMarch 7, 2014
Pros: the physical fitness with kids kept me fit.
Cons: having all staff members on the same page and treating each child the same.
The key to this position was to be an active listener. Similar to adults, children had bad days as well as good days also. Participating in the activities with the kids was fun and I really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, some of my coworkers didn't have the patience needed in some aspects of the job to be as effective as they needed to be to succeed in – more... their positions. Seeing the potential, and talent in a child but not being successful in getting them to direct those good attributes to good things was disappointing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
Volunteer (Former Employee), Oneida, TNMarch 5, 2014
i loved to help the kids there and help them achieve their goals and the people there are amazing and really nice. i love kids and love to help them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of fun working with children
Volunteer Outdoor Custodian (Former Employee), Eugene, ORFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: active a lot
Cons: not open 24/7
It was simple tasks a lot of fun working with children gained many skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience
Teaching Associate (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 20, 2014
Working here was a great learning experience. I would not recommend it for people who get easily stressed out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Summer Camp Program Specialist (Former Employee), Roseburg, ORFebruary 16, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was being with the kids who always brought a smile to my face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace great people.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Tucson Az.February 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great staff
I learned landscaping, Gardenin and how to be a leader , dealing with customers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great worl enviorment
Program Assistant (Former Employee), Altamonte Springs, FLFebruary 7, 2014
implanmenting programs helping with homework going on field trips during summer monstly.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace on the basketball court
Volunteer Basketball Coach (Former Employee), Sacaton, AZFebruary 6, 2014
Pros: playing basketball
Cons: n/a
Teaching the fundamentals of basketball with the young children I was coaching. Having fun at practice and on the court when they are playing. The hardest part of the job was making them pay attention. But the most enjoyable part of the job was being close to my favorite sport.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
awesome place
Teen Program Coordinator (Former Employee), Sheboygan Falls, WIFebruary 6, 2014
The kids make your day every time you work. It's a rewarding job, and management is there for the right reasons.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fun place to work
Camp Supervisor (Former Employee), Macon, GAFebruary 4, 2014
There were tons of activities to do. My managers were very kind and appreciative, a little tough but it was for my own good. The co workers I got along great with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place for those who love children
Program Aid (Former Employee), Keizer, ORJanuary 30, 2014
Pros: fun, experience for those in child care
Cons: pay
Never a dull moment while working for the boys and girls club. Great for college students work well with schedules
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great establishment for children
Head Counselor for Summer Camp (Former Employee), Miami, FLJanuary 30, 2014
I have had the great opportunity to work with several different boys and girls clubs in Florida. I love this establishment and what they offer to children during the school year and over the summer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Internship
Internship (Former Employee), Knoxville, TNJanuary 26, 2014
Pros: i enjoyed the atmosphere in which i worked.
Cons: scheduling
When the kids first arrive at the center we start helping with homework. After that I would help with additional activities that would help them not only learn but earn points for incentives such as toys and candy for participation in reading, math, and writing.

1 2 3 4 5

About Boys & Girls Club

There's no secret handshake -- or specific gender -- required to get into this club, only the desire to have fun. The Boys & Girls – Read more