Find companies:
Boys & Girls Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
752 reviews

Boys & Girls Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Program Aide (Current Employee), OrangeOctober 18, 2014
Although it is a learning experience, working with children teaches you multiple things. Since I began working at the Boys and Girls Club I have changed my mind about what I want my future career to be
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fastpace
Asst (Former Employee), Decatur IlOctober 15, 2014
Love the Kids at the boys and girls club this job is so postive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding place to work
Area Director (Former Employee), Laguna Beach, CAOctober 14, 2014
Pros: flexibilty
Cons: management
A typical day is very rewarding and meaningful. You must be self directed and and self motivated. Management uses a laissez faire style then passive aggressive when issues get complicated. Hardworking co workers however everyone one is in it for themselves. Hardest part of the job is getting support when needed not just lip service.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Secretary Job
Secretary (Current Employee), Detroit, MIOctober 13, 2014
Pros: n/a
Cons: n/a
My summery about working in the Boys and Girls Club is that I love the muslti-culture and the diversity that I am in. Working with awesome, hard workers employees gives me motivation to work there. They are very cooperative, helpful, and have a goal to achieve. Parents are very respectful. Work environment is always the reason to love working there. – more... I just love my job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe environment.
Program Leader (Former Employee), Binghamton, NYOctober 13, 2014
The duties of the job were to create a safe environment for children to learn and have fun while waiting for their parents to get out of work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A positive place for kids
Volunteer (Current Employee), Wilson County, Floresville, TXOctober 12, 2014
Pros: the impact the organization has on children
Cons: the doubt expressed on a regular basis by total strangers
Boys and Girls Club of Wilson County is a non-profit organization dedicated to nurturing underprivileged children in Wilson County, Texas.
I am President of the Board of Directors for that branch of the Boys and Girls Club. It's a part time job focusing primarily on creating bylaws and making decisions that impact the club on a whole. Any time the Boys – more... and Girls Club has to negotiate for building spaces or property and equipment to be donated, the board of directors takes over to get the best outcome for both the club and the local population.
The toughest part of the job is knowing that not everyone shares the belief that Boys and Girls Club exists to build up children. With so many other non-profit organizations jockeying for donated time, space and money, it becomes a big challenge to get our projects completed many times.
The absolute best part of the position is the ultimate impact is has on the children of the community. When you see children compete for scholarships and come together to work as a team with one another who would never be part of each others' lives otherwise, it gives a sense of satisfaction. There's also a sense of satisfaction to see some of the children grow up and go off to college, or go out on their own having learned many of their leadership and organizational skills through the Boys and Girls club. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Volunteer (Former Employee), Brockton, MAOctober 9, 2014
Please see resume for basic duties and review on this work place - which is attached for more.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Economical for families and fun for the kids with all they could ask for.
Camp Counselor (Former Employee), Nantucket, MAOctober 9, 2014
Pros: working with kids and going on thrips with them around the island
Cons: low pay for the island environment
Start time @ 7:30 am then activities all day with the kids until they leave around 4 pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Positive and fun working atomophere
Teacher (Former Employee), Wilmington, DEOctober 9, 2014
Pros: free snacks.
Cons: part-time
A typical day was planned with a full range of activities. Management was fair and worked as a part of the team. Co-workers were friendly. Hardest part of my job was getting up to in to work in the morning. The most enjoyable part was working with children, and teaching them things they couldn't learn in a classroom.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
area Director (Current Employee), Milwaukee, WIOctober 8, 2014
Pros: able to make a difference
Cons: burnout
Long hours
I have learned many new skill sets
Great people to work with
I love what they stand for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed working with little kids
Assistant (Former Employee), 1400 Raiders Way, Oxnard, CA 93033October 7, 2014
Pros: group activities
Cons: disobedient children
This job was very fun and enjoyable, I learned that you can make a difference in peoples lives while having fun at the same time. The management was great, there weren't any real problems while working there. Everyone got along together really well, and the hardest part about the job was trying to control the children who got out of hand. It was a great – more... job experience overall and I'd highly recommend it to anyone who wants to help out others or is just looking for a job to have fun and interact with people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place for kids ages 7 to 17 to come and play at
Assist young (Former Employee), Lansing, MIOctober 7, 2014
Pros: free snack
Cons: short breaks
When I worked here we had to clean the tables after they ate, we had to make sure the children were being nice and playing fair. I learned how to get along with people around me and how to make resumes and letters. the most hardest part of the day is after the children get done eating because they like to leave trash laying around but I don't mind it – more... because there children they are going to do that. the most enjoyable part of the day is when we get to work with the children because most of them always participate – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Assist the Administrative Staff (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAOctober 5, 2014
The kids were fun to be around. The staff were great in helping the transition to the company.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
staff (Former Employee), Morristown, TNOctober 5, 2014
Greeting every kid when the step into the club house is something that bright their day, especially when the smile back at you.
being able to interact with kids from different background and still maintain a peaceful environments something a call a blessing.
Co-worker that act like brothers and sisters is definitely something I would never take for – more... granted, and that helps me go through the day.
Having to maintain a gym full with approximately 100 kids can be stressful but when they love you and listen to you, it makes it easier to handle.
When a kid tell their parents about that cool guy at work and when you get invited to eat at their dinner table later on, is something call BLESSINGS – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent work enviroment
Youth Development Specialist (Former Employee), Stafford, TxOctober 1, 2014
Get the kids to do their homework and not get so frustrated with the kids. Cleaned facility and monitored the kids and their behavior
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love this place
Teen Director (Former Employee), Denver, COSeptember 30, 2014
i loved this job just not enough pay. loved this kids and the staff and the program in general
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
tesk homework
Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), Troy, NYSeptember 29, 2014
i helped with homework .ready their backs n study for testes . nothing really to hard. i learned how to help the understand their work and how to better themselves .
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Staff and Environment
Program Aide (Former Employee), Spring Hill, FLSeptember 28, 2014
Pros: relationships with the children, friendly environment
Cons: split shifts
A typical day at work would involve facilitating programs with your 25 children, before and after school. I learned how to develop strong relationships, how to be a leader, and how to professionally communicate with others.

Management was was extremely friendly and helpful. They would politely tell you the things that you could do better and give you – more... tips on how to improve that aspect of your responsibilities. They recognized you when you did an outstanding job. Co-workers were great people, some of which I am still friends with,

The hardest part of the job was that it could be overwhelming at times. Being responsible for 25 children at one time can be a handful. You had to be on your toes, and always watching everything that was going on.

The most enjoyable part of the job was being able to develop a relationship with the children. The kids look up to you and it is such an amazing feeling to know that you are truly impacting the lives of these children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad!
Tutor/Relationship Builder (Former Employee), Marion, INSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: great tutoring services
Cons: workers
The workers there try to make it seem like a great place, but it's not as great as they say. If the kids misbehave, there are no consequences to their actions. The workers say they have a management plan and that they do discipline kids, but that's a lie. The kids walk all over the workers because the workers let them. The only good thing about the – more... place is that the kids get tutored by local college students. If the kids actually take advantage of the tutoring services there, they will do better in school. Most of the tutors there are volunteers from Indiana Wesleyan University, and most of them are education majors, so they know how to tutor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Boys & Girls Club
Mentor Teacher (Former Employee), Dayton, OHSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: free lunches, working
Cons: leaving work
The club help me get money in it bettered my education by keeping on track while I was working they aloud me to do school work in helped me find the right college , the club on a bad day was still fun an entertaning , from readin an doing math to running all over the gym. The club keep people positive in a way , the co workers are lovable in are welling – more... to help for anything – less

About Boys & Girls Club

There's no secret handshake -- or specific gender -- required to get into this club, only the desire to have fun. The Boys & Girls – Read more

Boys & Girls Club Photos