Find companies:
Boys & Girls Club
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
222 reviews

Boys & Girls Club Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place for kids to hang out after school
Volunteer (Current Employee), Pollock Pines, CAMay 29, 2014
Pros: i knew all of the staff and how the club was run.
Cons: not havng a schedule that would allow me to work at the club.
I attended the Boys & Girls Club since 2006 until I graduated 8th grade. Since then I have always enjoyed going back to volunteer. I believe that is where I learned patience. I have known the workers there since I was little. My Mom is the Unit Director and that has given me the opportunity to see the whole operation. I love working with kids and the – more... club gives me that opportunity. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Youth Centered organization
Character & Leadership Director (Former Employee), Conyers, GAMay 24, 2014
Pros: working with young people, their parents, and the community
Cons: working in an environment where commitments had to be completed at home, 12 hour days was normal, and lunch was frowned upon.
As the Character & Leadership Director, I was required to lead Teen Participants in programs and activities that assisted in building character and identifying future leaders. I enjoyed working with the participants and their parents. In, addition, I was the advisor for the Parents Association and worked with participants ages 6-12 through various leadership – more... initiatives and volunteer opportunities.. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Productive workplace
Program specialist (Former Employee), Tampa,FLMay 16, 2014
Pros: long lunches, field trips
Cons: salary
This is a wonderful company to work for. The children are amazing, the staff is amazing, the ultimate goal is amazing, simply to change and enrich the lives of the neighborhood children. I've learned so much while working with the Boys&Girls Clubs of Tampa Bay, I've also taught the same things that I've learned as well. Respect will get you very far, – more... embrace your personal uniqueness and creativity, education is the pathway to a better life, opportunity is available for all and its all about how you take advantage of it. My co-workers have always been a pleasure to work with and my management has always been a pleasure to work for. The hardest part of the job would be not being able to get to know every single child. The most enjoyable part of the job has to be having the satisfaction of knowing that you have been a blessing in someone's life. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Art Instructor (Former Employee), Homer, LAMay 14, 2014
instructed a art class for ages 5-18, assigned art and craft projects for the summer..............................................................................
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun atmosphere
Counselor (Former Employee), Pacoima, CAMay 11, 2014
I liked the opportunity of working with kids to make their day fun and happy.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place Great Enviroment
Receptionist (Current Employee), Delray Beach, FLMay 8, 2014
Pros: great employees great enivroment
Cons: health care, pay checks
Great place to work employees and children are amazing. Great environment parents are incredible very helping and engaging.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A position that enables you to directly effect the lives of children.
Marketing and Development Director (Current Employee), Westfield, MAApril 25, 2014
Pros: positive environment
Cons: very independent position that requires me to work alone
As the Marketing & Development director I have been able to raise money that directly creates positive outcomes for youth. I have gained graphic design and marketing experience as well as event planning experience. I work with a group of people committed to youth advocacy. The Boys & Girls Club is an integral part of our community, and a wonderful place – more... to work. This is the perfect environment for someone who is energetic, attentive to detail and likes always staying busy by juggling multiple deadlines. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work
Atlanta Workforce Development Agency (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAApril 3, 2014
Working at the boys and girls club was a good learning experience i had alot of challenges but though it all i went to work everyday i was on time and i was ready to work no matter what
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome hands-on experience with non-profit and grant allocation
Office Manager (Former Employee), Garfield, NJApril 1, 2014
Meeting with CEO and Program Director to ensure that programs are operating according to grant specifications. Oversee major repairs and general maintenance for the Club. I've learned how to research and seek grants for the organization. All mt co-workers are hard-working and helpful. The hardest part of the job is when kids leave the program. Overall – more... i enjoy all aspects of the job, yet the most enjoyable is being able to allocate grant monies so that all the children benefit. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee), Bartlesville, OKMarch 31, 2014
Pros: working with children
Cons: manager
Manager did not know what she was doing and was hateful. I feel that if you can not run a business then you have no reason to be doing so.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work environment
? (Former Employee), Dayton, VAMarch 29, 2014
Pros: the smiles on the childrens faces
very friendly, a great work place, enjoyed making a difference in the children's lives
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Joy to Work Here
Student Helper (Former Employee), Warner Robins, GAMarch 13, 2014
Pros: helping, teaching, educating
Cons: very little pay, non-profit organization
The Boys & Girls Club was a great experience for me, just being around children who wanted to succeed and do better. But helping the ones that struggle and needed extra help it was so fun. To this day I still keep in contact with the parents and children that attended the club.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hired as a Intern
Health Educator (Intern) (Former Employee), Southern CaliforniaMarch 11, 2014
Pros: rewarding to work with children
Cons: lack of management, and misleading job hiring practices.
I was hired as an college Intern for a Boys & Girls Club location in Southern California. I was to assist in teaching a new health & wellness program to 8-12 year old children. When I showed up at my site:
Nobody knew who I was or why I was there
None of the tools that I needed where available or ever provided to me.
Nobody knew anything about the program – more... I was supposed to teach.
I did not have a preceptor, which is the main point of a internship.
I ended up playing with the kids and helping with homework for my stent with them.

I was most bothered by some of the counselors competing to see who was most liked by the kids as well as ignoring obvious bullying that was occurring among the kids.

I feel as though my Internship was wasted and that the Boys & Girls Club, either did not have a clear understanding of what an internship is or has a lack of organization within it's hiring and management. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for kids to go to after school on weekends.
Athletic Director (Former Employee), Marion, INMarch 10, 2014
Started off my day in the office getting all paper work together for the current season in sports. Also did some work with the sports that were ahead. I was in charge of both Boys & Girls Club staff and volunteers. I learned to be patient and organized in my daily activities. The toughest part of my job was the long hours during the big sport seasons – more... (basketball and football). The most enjoyable part was learning about all of the nuances of putting together a league in sports. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The enjoyment of working with kids from different cultures
Youth Development Specialist (Former Employee), Marble Falls, TXMarch 7, 2014
Pros: the physical fitness with kids kept me fit.
Cons: having all staff members on the same page and treating each child the same.
The key to this position was to be an active listener. Similar to adults, children had bad days as well as good days also. Participating in the activities with the kids was fun and I really enjoyed it. Unfortunately, some of my coworkers didn't have the patience needed in some aspects of the job to be as effective as they needed to be to succeed in – more... their positions. Seeing the potential, and talent in a child but not being successful in getting them to direct those good attributes to good things was disappointing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved the job
Volunteer (Former Employee), Oneida, TNMarch 5, 2014
i loved to help the kids there and help them achieve their goals and the people there are amazing and really nice. i love kids and love to help them.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of fun working with children
Volunteer Outdoor Custodian (Former Employee), Eugene, ORFebruary 24, 2014
Pros: active a lot
Cons: not open 24/7
It was simple tasks a lot of fun working with children gained many skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good learning experience
Teaching Associate (Former Employee), Cedar Rapids, IAFebruary 20, 2014
Working here was a great learning experience. I would not recommend it for people who get easily stressed out.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace.
Summer Camp Program Specialist (Former Employee), Roseburg, ORFebruary 16, 2014
The most enjoyable part of the job was being with the kids who always brought a smile to my face.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace great people.
Volunteer (Former Employee), Tucson Az.February 11, 2014
Pros: free lunches, great staff
I learned landscaping, Gardenin and how to be a leader , dealing with customers.

About Boys & Girls Club

There's no secret handshake -- or specific gender -- required to get into this club, only the desire to have fun. The Boys & Girls – Read more

Boys & Girls Club Photos