Boys & Girls Clubs of America Employee Reviews in United States

Found 2,896 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone was passionate about the company's mission
Intern (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 9, 2016
Typical work day for me would include checking in with the Lead project manager, after checking in with him. It was my duty to initate all project requests from internal customers within Boys & Girls Clubs of America. I've learned how to coordinate, and manage small, and mid size projects accordingly. All of my co-workers were innovative and always searching for ways to reach out to Americas youth across the nation, this gave mea great sense of purpose within my role and added a extra drive for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experiance
volunteer (Former Employee) –  Fairview, TNJuly 7, 2016
This position allows you to get close to kids that have had it rough or need guidance. The job itself shows kids who they are and what they can become.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
unique work enviorment
Hollywood, FL - Retail Associate (Former Employee) –  West Park, FLJuly 7, 2016
The Boys and Girls Club is one of the best jobs to have if you like to work with children. I learned to have patience and to be creative while on the clock to ensure safety of children. No prior work experience needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Valuable asset to the community.
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Sequim, WAJuly 6, 2016
It is a place I admire and support throughout the year. They continue to upgrade their endeavor to help the boys and girls all over the U.S.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place
Youth Activities Executive (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 6, 2016
Nice place to work for a high schooler or college student. They accommodate your schedule to the fullest. At the end, i was rewarded with a 4 year scholarship.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Child Care Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Perris, CAJuly 6, 2016
I would help with homework, outside activities, festival and supervising the children enrolled in the program. Prepare Snack. Free time we would find activated to keep the children entertained.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for picking up a few hours.
Program Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Redmond, ORJuly 6, 2016
Management shake-ups are frequent, advancement is often nepotistic, and pay, benefits, and job security are low.
Pros
Some flexibility with work or school schedules.
Cons
Long days in the summer with limited vacation time availability.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Job I Ever had, Just Paid so Little
Youth Development Professional (Former Employee) –  Indianapolis, INJuly 6, 2016
Its exactly how you would imagine it to be, a great fun place to work! Just wish there were more hours and better pay. I worked in a school based program, so I bet the community programs are even more fun!
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great time working with kids!
Education Specialist (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCJuly 6, 2016
The Boys and Girls Club is a great way to get involved with the community! It really makes a idfference in life when you go into a job you love. They have a great support staff there. The most enjoyable part of the job is being around the students.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work with kids
Port Hueneme Art Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Port Hueneme, CAJuly 6, 2016
Each day I would plan events and art projects for the children at the club. Each day would be planned in advance to accommodate the supplies needed for the week
Pros
Fun at work
Cons
Salary was not suitable
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Project / Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 5, 2016
Wonderful people. This place taught me so much about my career and how to accomplish my goals as well as make new ones for myself.
Pros
work life balance
Cons
no parking
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteering
Teacher Assistant Volunteer (Current Employee) –  Olathe, KSJuly 3, 2016
As a volunteer it was fun. I can't say much about anything else. I didn't got paid or had monetary benefits, but I had fun all day with the kids
Pros
fun
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the best, but not the worst
Gardener (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, OHJuly 1, 2016
I loved being able to work in the garden. Though my fellow co-workers were lazy and didn't really do much of the work they were supposed to, leaving me to pick up their slack, which was the hardest part. The little ones, some were very rude, while others were very interested in learning about gardening. I learned how to keep my patience with others and learned how to weed.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interactive, Fun, Sometimes unruly members
Youth Development Specialist (Current Employee) –  Victorville, CAJuly 1, 2016
A typical day for YDS. As a YDS, I come in 15 mins. before we open our doors to the members. During that time, I arrange room and tables to allow seating. I put out games for our initial check-in grace period. After about 30 mins. into opening, we begin our laid out activities and programs. The programs which we make must be able to have all of ouor members join who range from 5-18 years of age. The hardest part is sometimes having the members participate and having to deal with the unruly members and their parents.
Pros
3-4 straight hours, light work, fun
Cons
difficult at times, low pay, hard to create/implement broad raange of programs
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Energy, Scheduled
Temp (Former Employee) –  Venice, CAJune 30, 2016
Work starts right when you clock in.

You have to maintain high energy to keep club members engaged and excited.

I learned how to manage my time adequately.

Mangement is wonderful here. Everyone is super helpful by offering assisted when it is needed.

Co-workers are easy going. There is a sense of family there.

The hardest part of the job was not getting attached to the club members.

The most enjoyable was being able to mentor youth.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Junior Counselor (Former Employee) –  Union, NJJune 30, 2016
A typical day consisted of supervising the children throughout their activities.
I enjoyed doing arts and crafts with the kids the most.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Enrichment Leader/School day Alignment specialist (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 28, 2016
Great Place to work . Great place for a young person with not a lot of work experience who is looking to build there skills or looking for work experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working there very much.
Activity Leader (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PAJune 28, 2016
I loved being able to plays sports, make arts, and play games with the kids. You build a bond with them and they almost feel like a second family.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place for kids
Mentor/Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Miami, FL 33167June 28, 2016
Very great place for children all ages. Teaches great values for children. And the staff was very helpful to all parents, campers and staff.
Pros
Great kids
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Attendance Clerk (Current Employee) –  Louisville, KYJune 27, 2016
I don't work directly for Boys & Girls Clubs of America. My organization is just one of many that carry the boys & girls club. Working at the boys & girls club is a great place to work if you like working with kids from ages 6-18 from all walks of life.
Was this review helpful?YesNo

Overall rating

4.2
Based on 3,043 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
3.3
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.8
Culture
4.2

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Reviews by Job Title

Boys & Girls Clubs of America Reviews by Location