Find companies:
Boys & Girls Clubs
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
19 reviews

Boys & Girls Clubs Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, very productive environment
H.R. Receptionist (Former Employee), Tampa, FLJuly 3, 2014
Pros: great hours, nice coworkers, great for people looking to gain h.r. office experience.
Cons: i have nothing negative to say about this company
I worked in the corporate office under the direction of the Human Resources manager. I thoroughly enjoyed this position. My coworkers were a blast to work with. The H.R. manager was a pleasure to work with and is very sweet and sincere. It is unfortunate this was only a volunteer position but I am grateful to have experienced such class and professionalism – more... at this company. Great work experience. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work environment
Data Entry Clerk (Former Employee), Baycity, MIJune 9, 2014
I would enter donations in microsoft Exel program. I was treated with respect by co-workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great concept but poor execution by management
Unit Director (Former Employee), Kansas City, MOApril 26, 2013
Pros: the joy of working with disadvantaged youth, opportunities such as meeting professional sports players and entertainers is possible
Cons: graft and corruption exists. a false sense of positive achievement.
Working for the Boys & Girl's Clubs is a bitter-sweet experience for those who truly care about the academic welfare and social development of the club members, children between the ages of 5 and 18 years. On paper, the concept is exemplarary in that the mission and vision of the organization is to empower its members to learn and excel socially, while – more... developing life-skills that will enable them to become positive productive citizens and contributors to our society. However, the current management has so corrupted the system that the daily activities of the organization are a continual facade that seems to only benefit those in the "inner circle." Pay is well below standard for what is expected of employees, and advancement is near minimal, especially if you don't know whose boots to lick. My hope and prayer is that one day those in power will remove the current management team and replace them with people who are truly committed to overall vision and mission of the organization. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Counselor (Former Employee), Sarasota, FLApril 4, 2013
Pros: exercise, free day trips paid and lunches during summer.
Cons: sometimes too many children in a group.
Working with children all day keeping the entertained and overall safe place to have fun.

Learned patience!!!

Management very hands on and always aroung if you needed them. Like one big family.

Co-workers all nice and ready for fun. Some a bit young to be providing guidence alone to large groups of children.

Hardest part is dealing with groups too – more... large due to counselors illness.

Best part of the job is fun and playing all shift and keeps you fit and you ng at heart. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
parent (Former Employee), Emporia,VAFebruary 18, 2013
Cons: bad management
I recently visited the new club, what a shame the way this new building is kept. Why can"t people see who is destroying this fine club.Where is the so called board of directors? Complaints have been voiced to only fall on death ears we as a community just don"t understand don"t they care about the children or is it all about pay checks?
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong nonprofit organization that provides services to at-risk youth.
Executive Assistant/Human Resource Manager (Former Employee), LAJanuary 29, 2013
Pros: free parking, paid vacation, office location
Cons: healthcare fees
I enjoyed working at the Boys & Girls Clubs because I believe in their mission. I established a friendly relationship with my coworkers that goes beyond the job. My job included many duties from processing payroll to opening and distributing mail. This job has taught me how to improve my skills and challenge my abilities.

The hardest part of the job – more... was grant writing. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Afforded me the great opportunity to work with youth.
Senior Rites of Passage Program Coordinator (Former Employee), INNovember 15, 2012
Pros: helping people
Cons: management
The best job I ever had. Helping/working with the youth was a great experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressfull work environment Boys and Girls Club Emporia,VA
program leader (Former Employee), Emporia,VAOctober 12, 2012
Cons: the forgotten purpose
This club has the most stressfull work environment. How can anyone work where the director believes it's her way or insinuates to fire you if you don't agree with her. If ten employees have walked out, resigned or been fired in the course of one year (2012) what does this tell you. This is really a shame because some good and caring people have left – more... and some wonderful children are not attending anymore. Parents have complained to the board, nothing has been done. I assume someone forgot the purpose of the club. So let me remind you it is for the children not for self employment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing and for the children to do.
concerned citizen (Former Employee), Emporia,VaSeptember 26, 2012
The boys and girls club in emporia, va is the most deplorable place to work. You never no from day to day if you will have a job. No proper training,the children are given what ever snacks, We have been complaining for years about management only to be dismissed. This club has the worst reputation in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High energy job with high impact
Unit Director (Former Employee), Raleigh, NCAugust 11, 2012
Must meet organization's outcomes, provide 110% at all times to kids, staff, and organization.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for a good cause
President/CEO (Former Employee), LAJuly 12, 2012
Pros: working with wonderful, deserving children
Cons: funding always an issue
Enjoyed working at Boys & Girls Clubs as there were so many opportunities to engage with wonderful children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A productive environment
Counselor (Former Employee), Newark New JerseyJune 15, 2012
Pros: free lunches, game room fun
Cons: healthcare classes
Teach Kids To be Educated and productive citizens.To provied opportunities to youths to empower them to suceed and excel. Help assist students with homework and create learning activities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
?
Administrative Support (Former Employee), Emporia, VAMay 10, 2012
Not a stress free workplace. Co-workers need to be trained properly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, fun, fun!
Assistant Unit Director/Guidance Counselor (Former Employee), Riviera Beach, FloridaApril 11, 2012
Pros: helping kids
Cons: not enough money.
Worked with a fun group of active adults who were of the same mindset as I am,a nd wanted to help kids. We counselled and tutored and provided a safe environment for children after school and weekends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome environment for children
Office Manager/Administrative Assistant (Current Employee), Philadelphia, PAApril 10, 2012
I Would recommend this environnment to be a positive place for the development of productive children.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Health & Life Skills Instructor (Former Employee), Clarksdale, MSMarch 5, 2012
Pros: being around and helping children
Cons: pay
If you love working with children, then The Boys & Girls Club is the perfect place for you!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Professional
Secretary (Current Employee), Cedar Lake, IndianaJanuary 18, 2012
Pros: numerous certification trainings, room for advancement.
Cons: short breaks
I have worked for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Northwest Indiana for nearly 10 years. I have been able to learn a number of different positions with the organization. The organization also offers numerous trainings throughout the year so you can advance within the company and earn different certifications and accreditation's.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for children's social interaction skills
Program Director (Former Employee), Indian River CountyAugust 3, 2011
Pros: working and playing with the kids, easy hours, line staff do their best with what they have, line staff try to keep it fun for the kids, looks good on resume for young workers, can create good community reputation
Cons: lack of competitive pay, lack of consistency, very little admin support, political environment, managers lie to parents, kids have opportunity to finish homework early, no more close-knit relationships with parent base, not as fun as it used to be, no benefits for pt, zero room for advancement due to size base
Good place for kids to meet and make friends. Staff are undervalued and underpaid. Very political administration since departure of CEO. Best suited for young adult staff 18-24 in college. Vacation time is a hassle, especially during summer. Prevention groups and activities are average at best. Physical programs are better than indoor programs. Education – more... department is lacking both staff numbers and homework help consistency. – less