Brandeis University Employee Reviews

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, bad place to advance
Manager: Biology, Neuro & Sci Division Personnel (Current Employee), Waltham, MAJune 15, 2015
Pros: Flexible hours, great colleagues, interesting things to do every day
Cons: Zero career growth, no investment by administration into their staff
Brandeis has a culture of community and loyalty. The people I work with are, by and large, wonderful colleagues and staff. I have remained at Brandeis for as long as I have specifically because the people – more... I work with, supervise, and mentor are so amazing. However, there is no job advancement and little encouragement to grow beyond one's present position at Brandeis. This environment is stifling for anyone who wants to continue to grow a career. For many years I thoroughly enjoyed my job and looked forward to going in each day to run my Department. There were always many many balls in the air and no two days were ever the same. Over the last year and a half I was beginning to feel the effects of not being able to advance my career and had started considering other options due to the total lack of a career ladder. A recent reorganization at the University changed my position such that the responsibilities I hold have increased significantly and the control I have over the decisions about these responsibilities has been diminished significantly. This change in position combined with the lack of career growth has me looking for a new job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Reporting discipline
Designer Development Facility (Former Employee), Waltham, MAJune 11, 2015
Pros: Good Projects
Cons: Slow moving projects
The organizational structure is not clear or easy to navigate.

Experience writing detailed scopes of work, estimating costs, developing programs of requirement, reviewing construction documents for – more... compliance, and managing schedules
Strong organizational skills and the ability to prioritize complex tasks
Ability to manage and simultaneously coordinate high-priority short and long-term projects – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable working environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Waltham, MAMay 25, 2015
Comfortable working environment, great learning opportunities, great teaching experience, intensive class preparation and teaching.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace with some culture
DJ (Former Employee), Waltham, MAMay 11, 2015
Pros: Lots of love from everybody
Cons: No breaks, no security
Being a DJ at Brandeis University provided opportunities to meet many fun and interesting people while practicing something that I enjoyed doing. On a typical night I would be working alone aside from the people who were throwing the parties. The hardest part of the job would have to be keeping the crowd away from my equipment but the most enjoyable part is seeing the crowd enjoy themselves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and self- sufficient work place
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waltham, MAApril 10, 2015
On a typical day I will be doing research on investor sentiment. I am currently working on a project to create a formula that measures investor sentiment in the stock market. I check to see if there is – more... a correlation between certain words, such as depression, appearing in newspapers, the the overall performance of the market. I tend to work alone, but have the ability to go to various people if I need help. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corporate banking
Records Management Assistant (Current Employee), Waltham, MAApril 2, 2015
Credit Europe Bank is a Dutch registered bank owned by the Turkish financial holding company FIBA Group. The bank is focused on corporate lending as well as on retail banking and operates in the euro-zone – more... countries of the Netherlands, Belgium, Germany, Malta as well as in China, Dubai, Russia, Romania, Switzerland and Ukraine. The bank's strategy is to offer easy-to-use retail banking and SME products as well as private banking. It also offers trade finance and corporate banking services. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Plenty of learning opportunities
Research Technician I (Current Employee), Waltham, MaMarch 13, 2015
Brandeis University is an amazing instituition filled with many intelligent researchers. Would recommend working here if you appreciate independent research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Basic Office Job
Events Coordinator (Current Employee), Waltham, MAMarch 4, 2015
This job is a basic office job that requires a number of hours on the phone and at email. Though I enjoy it I see myself working in a fast-paced environment that really shows off my personality and skills that I have developed throughout the years
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent environment for skill development and independent work
Master's Thesis (Current Employee), Waltham, MAFebruary 3, 2015
Pros: well taken care of, good research talks hosted
Cons: communication
Freedom to flourish under phenomenon guidance.
Friendly coworkers.
Good trouble shooting strategies
Prompt response to any questions or doubts
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Manager of Custodial Services (Current Employee), Waltham, MAJanuary 12, 2015
Great learning environment with good growth. Faculty, students and staff are a pleasure to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great research institution, very collaborative
Graduate Research Student (Current Employee), Waltham, MAOctober 27, 2014
Brandeis University's sciences are highly esteemed and well funded. The environment at Brandeis fosters cross-collaboration between the Biology, Biochemistry, Physics, and Chemistry departments, allowing students (and faculty) to continually learn and apply new ideas and techniques to their research. It has been a great place to learn how to research.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Doctoral Degree Program in the Life Sciences
Graduate Student Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waltham, MAOctober 5, 2014
Great program. Had several advisers and in-depth coursework.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent people to work with
Research (Current Employee), Waltham, MAAugust 25, 2014
The people at the university are great to work with and the benefits are fantastic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
faculty (Former Employee), Waltham, MAAugust 8, 2014
great place to work
good people
hard working folks
great atmosphere
good academics
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Data gathering and analysis
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Waltham, MAJuly 9, 2014
Currently, as a Research Assistant at Brandeis International Business School, I am working on a project in which I study the relationship between the CEO incentives and the IPO underpricing to investigate – more... potential insider trading. My professor trusted that I would give accurate information, thus she chose me to be the Research Assistant for this project which is going be used for publication. In more detail, I examined whether CEOs who sell more shares at the time of an IPO have greater incentives to negotiate with the underwriters, and at the same time would be willing to spend more to promote the issue. In order to determine the relation, I hand-collect the data on CEO stock ownership and CEO stock sales from IPO prospectuses of 543 firms that were listed in the U.S. stock market and entered data obtained into complex Excel documents. Following data gathering, I ran regression to analyze the impact of CEO incentives on IPO promotion. As I spend more time appraising and questioning the fundamentals of this, as my awareness of the finer intricacies and evolution of the subject flourish. I would bring my passion and interest in this discipline to my future job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review From Graduate Student at Brandeis
Graduate Research Assistant, Health Psychology Lab (Current Employee), Waltham, MAJuly 2, 2014
Brandeis has allowed me to grow exponentially as a researcher alongside wonderful people with whom I am very happy to work. I have gained significant training biological and statistical research, and am coming out of a master's program as an even more adept research scientist than when I came in.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small collegiate community with competitive, impactful research
Postdoctoral Research Fellow (Current Employee), Waltham, MAJune 24, 2014
Brandeis University is a small school, yet it invests greatly in being a competitive research institution. Coming in with a background in protein biochemistry, I have been fortunate to learn behavioral – more... neuroscience as part of a collaboration project between Brandeis and MIT. The professors are invested in one's learning, willing to offer advice and help, and focused on keeping their labs productive and competitive. The postdoctoral and graduate communities are close-knit and also provide wonderful intellectual contributions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience.
Junior HCI Research Assistant (Former Employee), Waltham, MAMay 20, 2014
Learned how to run HCI experiment. Get the results and write notes during the experiment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Web Development
Web developer (Former Employee), Waltham, MAApril 13, 2014
Pros: people
Cons: bland setting
The job revolved around a ticketing system that would list what tasks needed to be done. For example, when someone wanted to enter a new user into the content management system, they would file a ticket – more... and I would use my access privileges to create the new user. In this job I exercised my research skills when I needed to figure out what needed to be done to solve problems. The management was nice and my coworkers were friendly. The hardest part of the job was the fact that I needed to figure out what needed to be done. The tickets were quite different from each other. The most enjoyable part of the job was that the job was challenging enough to keep me thinking. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of changes
Shuttle Van Driver (Former Employee), Waltham, MAFebruary 24, 2014
Brandeis is making lots of changes, they hiring outside companies.