Brands Employee Reviews

Found 60 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits competitive pay
Product Inspector Utility II, Hostess (Former Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILJune 23, 2017
A typical day at work for me would be inspecting thousands of product to be shipped to customers. This was a very fast paced position and i had to be accurate and able to multitask. I also had to be team player when the line went down and my team members fell behind. The hardest part o this job was working mandatory 12hr shifts 6 days a week. The most enjoyable part about this job was the advancement opportunities and perks from the employer.
Pros
competitive pay
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it alright
Wrapper Operator (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAMarch 5, 2017
You have 2 break that is 30 min each and great co-worker that will help/ or fill in when you in or call out sick.there will be time where you will be getting off early.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brand Delivery Opertations MGR
ASSISTANT STORE MANAGER (TRANSFERRED) (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLFebruary 27, 2017
I loved the company and the culture. I felt completely supported and groomed to advance with the company when I was with them. I would recommend hem to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The owner's would good people. Always was will to help their employee.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Schiller Park, ILJanuary 20, 2017
A typical day was USDA inspection of the production department of all equipment at the start of the shift. Checking with the Department Managers on any schedule changes for the day. Check with all supervisor to see if we have all the product need for today's productions. Check to see if all employee were punch in and ready for work in the production area for today. make adjustment when needed.

The management team schedule daily meeting to go over all concern of each department. They were good at getting,what the production supervisor needed at all times and keeping supervisor informed on all activities.

The hardest part of this job for me was losing good people.

When we have a project that we had limited time to prepare and get the job done. Customer was satisfied with the end result of their product.

What I learned as production supervisor, all USDA regulations, HACCP, SOP,,GMP, ETC. Also to treat all people with respect, help them if i could. If i couldn't not help them then i would find somebody who could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
vary fast moving
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 29, 2016
fast moving sometimes unconformable to work ,good people a lock of upermanagement involvement sometimes made it difficult to perform your work properly .
Pros
room for improvement .
Cons
needs more attention from managers
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess Brands
Production Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSOctober 25, 2016
Company runs on buddy system and doesn't provide any clear growth for hard working employees. Company does provide bonuses to team members.
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Quincy, ILJuly 4, 2016
long days but very rewarding career, pay is good, job is a challenge daily. management was easy to work for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSFebruary 2, 2016
Pros: Have provided new and improved break areas/lunch rooms.
Pay has increased with value of knowledge.

Cons: Short breaks, long shifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess Brands
HOSTESS (Former Employee) –  Rochester, MNJanuary 14, 2016
Typical day started at office to make sure all routes where on road and no product shortages. Took care of payroll weekly. Enjoyed being engaged in all parts of sales
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work at.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, LAOctober 15, 2015
Great place to work at. Coworkers arevery nice and easy to get along with. Are on many sites across the US. The company went Bankrupt years ago.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay for entry level
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTApril 5, 2015
Hostess Brands paid employees a fair wage for the unskilled work expected by its employees. The company continued to struggle and seemed to decline quickly. Eventually, the company closed its doors.
Pros
Decent money, room for advancement
Cons
Bad morale, unprofessional management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment
MANAGER HOSTESS (Former Employee) –  Lima, OHMarch 21, 2015
Hostess Brands was a very challenging workplace. I enjoyed my job there very much. I learned many management ideas from my district manager and classes that the company provided.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place Good people
Lead Sanitation (Former Employee) –  Emporia, KSJanuary 21, 2015
Keeping the plant and grounds clean,Help all departments(Maintenance, shipping, Production) are equipped with with all products needed to operate.
Making sure crew is following all guidelines and safety protocols.
Inform Supervisors of job duties and completion of projects.
Co-workers are the best part of the job, working as a team and making the job fun and enjoyable.
Hardest part is cleaning the all the Production Equipment in a short amount of time, but as a team it is accomplished.
Pros
People, clean, Moving to each department is easy
Cons
Sanitation department lacks advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess Brands is now out of business:
Extra Man Route Driver (Former Employee) –  Champaign, ILAugust 20, 2014
Horrible work environment. Dangerous equipment & filthy for a distributor of snack cakes & bread products.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to build business
Licensed Cosmetologist (Current Employee) –  Papillion, NEAugust 14, 2014
Ulta does alot of advertising and promoting of the salon. they have ongoing education classes. Opporunity for advancement exists as long as you are willing to put in the effort. Insurance benefits were not the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The job was fast paced and enjoyed working there.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Columbus, GAJuly 23, 2014
Almost everyday was a new challenge. Very fast paced atmosphere but everyone worked together and enjoyed working together.
The hardest part about this job was the heat in certain areas.
The best part about the job was the people I worked with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy frist job with great benefits
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Summerville, SCJune 22, 2014
If you asked for more hours, you got them gladly!
Nicest first job ever.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hostess
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 16, 2014
Nothing really good. They took our benifits, cut salaries and liquidated.
Pros
ehhh
Cons
mismanaged
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a relaxed work place with encouragement of teamwork.
Hostess (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAApril 15, 2014
My typical work day started with the distribution of mail and recording daily deposits from surrounding sites. I had to to review the submitted paperwork from the route delivery drivers and compare figures from our reports. I also had to keep track of the expenses ( gas receipts and delivery expenses).

My co-workers and immediate supervisor were a pleasure to work with. The hardest part of the job was unloading the mail bags because sometimes they were heavier than fifty pounds. The most enjoyable part was that we always had a chance to sample the newest product from hostess.
Pros
free hostess cakes
Cons
plant closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company provided good benefits and great pay.
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Decatur, ILApril 5, 2014
I learned to work as a team and this company provided me to advance up in the company. I was disappointed to see them close.
Pros
Great pay, great benefits
Cons
It no longer had job stability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 79 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.4
Culture
3.6