Brandywine School District Employee Reviews

Showing all 16 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For the love of the students
Secondary Mathematics Teacher (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DENovember 21, 2016
A typical day begins before 715, usually around 515. I spend the time with the students exploring math concepts, making sure that the students complete the tasks. I also make sure that the students write and discuss their learning, so that it becomes permanent. My co-workers work hard so that our students learn. Management is very helpful, yet they do not hover. We are treated like professionals, which is not always present on the job. The hardest part of the job is seeing students arrive in high school with a lack of skills, coupled with a lack of confidence. The most enjoyable part of the job is watching students challenge themselves and become the kind of learners that will always enjoy learning.
Pros
Interaction with young people, coaching football, teaching and learning with the students.
Cons
Political environment, bureaucracy, kids that have multiple problems that hinder learning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place with friendly staff
ESL Teacher (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DENovember 10, 2016
I totally enjoyed working with this school district, it was a great learning experience. Very helpful and guiding coworkers.
I gained a lot of experience in teaching field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Translator/interpretor
Translator/Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DESeptember 23, 2016
It was very flexible job. I was working indecently. It was a good little part time job. The pay was pretty good. I learned a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Respect for the Arts
ORCHESTRA DIRECTOR, SECONDARY SCHOOLS (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJuly 26, 2016
Work atmosphere within the music departments is wonderful. I have enjoyed working with all of my peers. The hardest part of the job has been to organize recruitment over a program of 6 secondary schools and 9 elementary schools.
Pros
Support from Music Teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed the organizational opportunites in the work
Substitute Custodian (Former Employee) –  Various schools where and when needed.June 10, 2016
I enjoyed the ability to organize my physical and mental work. Thank you!

A typical day would last 8 hours where I had to efficiently plan and clean hallways, baths, and classrooms.

I learned how to organize my work.

Management was honest and just.

Co-workers -- though they had their opinions -- helped with the work as needed.

The hardest part of the work took a toll on sore legs,

The most enjoyable part of the job was finishing up with a clean and orderly result.

Thank you, again!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a great place to work
heating, ventilating , air conditioning technician (Former Employee) –  Claymont, DENovember 21, 2015
A great place to work where people appreciate one another. you are made to feel that you are contributing to our future- the children. people at BSD care and make you feel respected.. BSD is an awesome place to work
Pros
Security, benefits, and safe environment to work
Cons
Money could always be better.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Joy of work
Para-Educator (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJuly 31, 2015
Every job has its challenges and its rewards. The beauty of my job, is that it has allowed me to grow as an educator and as a person. There is no greater joy than watching a child of special needs succeed in life.
Pros
great people and great kids
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent place to work
Food services (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJuly 16, 2014
I prepare and serve breakfast and lunch to middle school children. I love all my co-workers. We work as a team constantly.Hardest part of the job is lifting over 50 lbs. and the best part is trying to form some kind of relationship with the children.
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 7Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company to work for.
Special Education Science Teacher (Former Employee) –  Claymont, DEJuly 7, 2014
• Teach students in the areas M.S. Science, H.S. Biology, H.S. Physic, H.S. Chemistry and H.S. Physical Integrated Science.
• Teach students according to the Delaware Common Core State Standards.
• Assign students work according to the course curriculum.
• Work with students on daily assignment according to the course curriculum.
• Monitor students in a classroom setting, as well as, discipline students when needed.
• Enhanced students learning through implementing Learning Focus Techniques.
• Formulated creative techniques to help students maximize their academic achievement.
• Acted as a mentor to troubled youth from various backgrounds and socioeconomic status.
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 9Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Longevity
Custodian (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEMay 18, 2014
There is advancement within the job and getting to know the employees and even the students when they are in the building.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 12, 2013
loved the job love working with children
worked a split shift
execllent benifits
Pros
had time to run errends during the day
Cons
sometimes not enough hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 5Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Substitute - Custodian (Current Employee) –  Claymont, DENovember 18, 2012
There is advancement opportunity.
Excellent Benefits. Substitutes sometime may have to travel from bulilding to building, other times long-term assignments are given.
Was this review helpful?Yes 21No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced for a short period of time
General Worker (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEOctober 8, 2012
It's like doing 8 hours of work in 3 hours. It's fun and also challenging.
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Really a very enjoyable place to work.
Substitute Custodian (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJuly 22, 2012
Typical day at work was maintaining the cleanliness of the school,but
the most rewarding part of the job were the children and talking to them and letting them know that there is no better feeling than earning a honest living,through education and selling drugs is not the only way out, it's the cowards way out.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed driving the school bus
Passenger School Bus Driver (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJune 13, 2012
This was a new experience for me and a new career move, but working w/ my coworkers made it easy.
Pros
new experience
Cons
maintaining discipline
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 2Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brandywine School District. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 16 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.3
Compensation/Benefits
4.2
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
3.8
Culture
3.9

Brandywine School District Reviews by Location