Brazosport Regional Health System Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work life at BRHS
Lead Receiving Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXOctober 11, 2015
Working at BRHS as the lead receiving tech is a pleasurable experience for me. I have co workers that get along well, we use great communication among ourselves to complete the job with excellence. The most enjoyable part about my job is the workload per week; it starts off light and ends the same way. Mondays are pretty light whereas Tuesdays are heavy. Wednesdays tend to fall in between and Thursdays are heavy. Fridays are light just like mondays. The hardest part of the job typically fall on Tuesdays when all the trucks arrive at the dock at the same time, but with our teamwork we manage to complete the work. Management of my department couldn't be any better than what it is now. My supervisors are very understandable, and devoted to their employees. Overall, my job is a great place to work with a team that get along well. This job has truly made me learned that hard work pays off. Prior to now, there were numerous times where I was the only one working the dock and did it effectively and that's why I was awarded the Lead position.
Pros
Balanced life, Job security, Insurance
Cons
No overtime, Distance from home, No advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work most days
Patient Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXFebruary 1, 2016
Most days was fun because of the people I worked with. My co-workers made it worth coming into work everyday. I learned a lot about the process of registering a patient for different procedures, and about a hospital environment. The hardest part of my job was explaining to a patient what type of procedure they were getting done because many didn't know what they were coming in for and where they needed to go to get the procedure done.
Pros
Work enviroment, co-workers.
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Central wide scheduler (Former Employee) –  Buisness officeApril 21, 2016
I was a central wide scheduler, it was a horrible experience, you can do nothing right and depts constantly mad at you for scheduling what another dept told you to schedule. Under staffed not enough people for a growing community. They put you in the very back of the buisness office where you are basically a dept that is forgotten about. The team lead thinks she is the department head. And the very worst part is there is no team work, the people are horrible to eachother and if you try to say something to fix it, the problems get worse. Lots of bullying. The ethics they tell you that they implement during orientation are not portrayed in this department.
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Watch your back
Hospital staff (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXDecember 5, 2015
This is not a hospital that values hard working nurses, lab, CNA's, or other staff members. Most Directors are great, but there are a few that are either close the HR Director or don't have the life experiences and skill to lead a department. The "HR Director" is quick to throw anyone and everyone under the bus to keep the heat off him. Seeing how that place is run...I advise all to go else where for treatment. And definitely don't work there unless you want to worry daily about getting fired. Snakes in the grass.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Home away from home
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXFebruary 1, 2016
Sad I had to ever leave. Management was amazing. It was hard work, but everyone worked together to make it enjoyable and rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they take advantage of hard workers.
Chef (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXJanuary 23, 2016
Horrible place to work. I worked 70 hours a week to be let go without even being able to speak my side. Hr is a joke and the food director can't keep people because they don't pay, and they don't care.
Pros
decent insurance
Cons
no love
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No job security
Clinical (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXDecember 18, 2013
I enjoyed the people I worked with. The benefits are horrible. Management needs to practice what they preach. Not enough employee training. Training on Balloon Pump included watching a video & a post test which is crazy. Lack of communication between management & departments. Constantly running around looking for equipment, especially in ER, in emergent situations. Doctors should not be allowed to hang up on a nurse if they are covering. Employees should not be in fear of their jobs. Patients shouldn't have roaches to deal with. Lots of unnecessary tests ordered in ER
Pros
small community hospital.
Cons
hr director is a bully, drs hang up on nurses at night
Was this review helpful?Yes16No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Medical Laboratory Scientist (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXAugust 7, 2015
Smething you have to experience to believe. Once you walk in the doors, one realizes that you are not in Kansas anymore. Everything is bigger in Texas.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Comfortable and productive work place. Fun and professional in all aspects.
Student Radiology Technologist (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TxDecember 5, 2013
A typical day at work is completing various x-rays, fluoroscopic, and special procedures throughout the day. Satisfying patient's needs in all ways possible. Providing optimal images for the radiologist to read. I've learned that x-rays can't always be done the traditional way; that sometimes the technologist has to be creative in getting the image that was ordered. Management was satisfactory. Everyone was treated fairly, but there were some things that occurred that weren't professional. The hardest part of the job was working with critically injured patients and trying to complete the exam without causing to much more pain for the patient. The most enjoyable part of the job was making connections with every patient; hearing their stories and giving them the best care possible.
Pros
steady work, not too stressful, interesting work, good food served at lunch, fun environment
Cons
short lunches, gossiping among co-workers, bathrooms weren't always kept clean
Was this review helpful?Yes9No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My most favorite work place
Contract Travel Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXAugust 23, 2013
We worked as generalists on different shifts. I learned new instrumentation and methodology. Management was just Great! I loved my co-workers like family and we all got along, helped one another accomplish our mission and treated each other with respect.
Pros
lunch discounts with badge, recognition for good deeds with free lunch or gift from gift shop.
Cons
my contract with them ended too soon.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible position to add to pride of our hospital
Radiology Transcriptionist (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXJune 3, 2013
I transcribed radiology reports/edited and insured they were delivered to the physicians or hospital records, handled phone calls regarding reports, helped out in file room as allowed. I enjoyed the responsibility of getting out an important, correct document for a patients medical record and took pride in that.
Pros
flexible when need off work to handle personal business/illness, discounts on food in cafeteria, enjoyed my job duties
Was this review helpful?Yes1No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work.
Family Nurse Practitioner (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXJuly 17, 2013
I was offered a job as a Director in a particular department. I moved nine hours from my home only to find that I wasn't going to be the director. They did not tell me for three weeks after getting there! Their ED is horrible. I know that in the short time I was there, they let two people have massive MIs in the ER waiting room. Their HR director is a joke. The hospital is a joke. Avoid this place like the plague!
Was this review helpful?Yes25No7
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Executive Management
Registered Nurse/Staff Nurse-ICU (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXMay 17, 2014
Administration is punitive and unavailable to staff. Frequently understaffed and expected to work in areas with too many patients or patients that are out of your skill set. Forced to float frequently to areas that were out of a comfort zone. Poor, short, inadequate orientation and high turnover rates.
Cons
you wonder if every shift is your last.
Was this review helpful?Yes15No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place full of knowledge
Phlebotomist (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TexasJanuary 17, 2012
I worker for this hospital after I graduated high school. I loved interacting with the patients. Customer Service was a big key to my sucess here at brazosport Regional Health System. This job was only a summer job. I unfortenetly had to leave this job to attend a University eight hours away. The university was called Angelo State University located in San Angelo, Texas.
Pros
great co-workers
Cons
prn position on call night or day
Was this review helpful?Yes3No8
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcoming coworkers
Internship (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXSeptember 6, 2014
The employees I had dealt with were of the Information Systems department and they were very warm. They helped me learn everything I need to know and were always there to assist me whenever I required it. They always asked me to join them in any special classes or trainings that took place.
Was this review helpful?Yes9No6
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Co-workers
Benefits Coordinator / HR Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXSeptember 5, 2013
The BEST....could not have ask for better. Even hospital wide employees, they are more my family than my co-workers. Loved my time with all of them.
Pros
learning opportunities
Cons
managers inconsistent with pay
Was this review helpful?Yes3No4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place with great coworkers
Systems Analyst (Current Employee) –  Lake Jackson, TXNovember 23, 2013
Great family place to work. A hospital that cares and gives back to the community.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture

Brazosport Regional Health System Reviews by Job Title