Brevard Zoo Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJuly 10, 2017
It was a fun place to work and never the same work something new every time and good people to work with and I got to work with animals every day and see smiling faces
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviroment, sick from within administration.
Adventure Service Guide (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJune 23, 2017
Brevard zoo is a pleasant and wonderful place to visit and work in, although administration is filled with people who have been apart of the zoo for years and have become comfortable with their position and feel as though they are elevated from the other employees. This can encourage toxic and possibly immoral behavior to flourish within the powerful administrators.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun workplace with friendly coworkers and management.
Guide (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJune 18, 2017
Holidays are busy.
Always extra hours to pick up.
A good place to make new friends.
Great benefits such as health care, dental, and vision insurance for part time and full time.
Very fun workplace with friendly coworkers and management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun work environment
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLApril 18, 2017
Fun place to work with a lot to learn, great benefits as well as the hours. Closes fairly early so you never have to work nights unless you volunteer for certain events
Pros
benefits
Cons
no room to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work full of friendly people.
Event assistant (Current Employee) –  Viera, FLApril 17, 2017
I enjoyed my time here, great management and employee culture. I unfortunately had to leave due to personal issues. I would recommend this job to anyone.
Pros
Free Membership, discounts etc.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLJanuary 16, 2017
I volunteered for three years and I loved every minute I got to spend here. You learn so much about the animals as well as the people around you. There are so many opportunities to try new experiences. Its a very rewarding job.
Pros
Working with animals, spending time in nature, zoo discounts
Cons
The florida heat
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice environment to work in
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLNovember 10, 2016
Working at the zoo is great. I enjoy the people that work there and interacting with the animals on some occasion. They also keep you very up to date with all the cool things that happen there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
safe environment and fun workplace
Safety Officer (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLAugust 9, 2016
the job requires extra safety in case of an accident happens. the work place has a fun atmosphere. everyone and everything about this job is good.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was fun volunteering with the animals.
Zoo Teen (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLFebruary 18, 2016
This was a fun place to volunteer because you get to interact with animals and teach guests about conservation. There were different jobs to do and all of them were fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
House keeping
house keeping (Current Employee) –  Viera, FLMarch 16, 2015
Cleaning the zoo bathrooms, classrooms, offices, and more cleaning
.
Its a fast-paced job
A cool people to work for.
Its nice worker
The classrooms
See people having fun.
Pros
30 mins
Cons
yes
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational and a neat place to work.
Keepers Aide (Current Employee) –  Melbourne, FLOctober 6, 2014
Worked as a keepers aide. Cleaned cages of small animals. Educated patrons about thees animals while handling them. The most enjoyable part of the job was handling and educating patrons about these animals which many came from different parts of the world. Management was enthusiastic and always leet you know how much they appreciated you.
Pros
Free membership at the zoo. Discounts on food and in the gift shop.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Volunteer position, very fun.
Aviary Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLFebruary 26, 2014
Our work as aviary volunteers included cleaning the station at closing, selling bird snacks to the customers, monitoring and ensuring the safety of the birds and customers, and keeping the area clean. Management wasn't invasive or too necessary, we were able to keep order pretty well. Other co-workers were fun to chat with when customer flow slacked, and everyone did their share of the work. The hardest part for me was that one of the birds took an intense dislike to me and would try to attack me. The most enjoyable part of the job was how peaceful it was, even with customers there.
Pros
Fresh air, good company.
Cons
Angry bird
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun seasonal volunteering.
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLDecember 4, 2013
It was a seasonal job, and I was technically working under a Dance Academy(went out of business) and MAZ Academy when I was working Boo at the Zoo. But the employees at the zoo were more than friendly and solved a most problems that arose. Working at the Zoo was fun for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Paws on Play Guide
Paws on Play Guide (Former Employee) –  Melbourne, FLSeptember 10, 2013
This was by far one of my favorite jobs. I only left to advance in my career in education. I was very sad to leave and would return in a heartbeat! Everyone there was very friendly and helpful. The job was not to difficult and was enjoyable. My only complaints would be the pay and working weekends.
Pros
Staff and working enviorment
Cons
Pay, Working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 12NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brevard Zoo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.8
Based on 15 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.8
Compensation/Benefits
4.1
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
4.3
Culture
5.0

Brevard Zoo Reviews by Location