Find companies:
Brickman
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
29 reviews

Brickman Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent career opportunities
Operations Supervisor (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 4, 2014
I have learned a lot on safety with in and outside the work place…
Dealing with many personalities at any given time.
The hardest part of the job was dealing with retirees or people whom have just given up on their love for the landscape industry.
My favorite part of the job is the outcome of any given project as well as the clients approval of a finished – more... product. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), New Albany, OHApril 1, 2014
• Recorded employers time sheet in system to index out to their Area managers.
• Responsible to open the phone line system.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good learning experience
West Branch Manager (Former Employee), Long Grove, ILMarch 20, 2014
Pros: free lunches
Cons: food was spoiled
Co-workers were the best! Most enjoyable part of the job was advancement for the most qualified
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice office, not much else
Area Manager (Former Employee), New Albany, OHFebruary 14, 2014
Pros: nice office and location
Cons: high stress, little chance for promotion, low job security.
Very high stress work. Very high turnover from people quitting to people being fired. Management appears to lack a clear sense of direction. Most who actually got promoted, ended up then being demoted, and or fired.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized and Unstable
Account Manager (Current Employee), Avon, OHFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: company vehicle
Cons: lack of sales culture
Brickman is a great nationwide company that was just bought out by a large private equity firm and has changed it's basic company philosophy. The west side branch is void of direction, leadership, positive culture and organization. With the buy out complete things have changed greatly and very quickly. They want new sales but have no game plan on how – more... to get there, plus they can barley produce what they currently are taking care of. Overall this position was great on paper and in the interview process but has failed to offer what was originally discussed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Tenacious worker who enjoys being with others and enjoys improving productivity.
Branch Administrator (Former Employee), Alpharetta, GADecember 16, 2013
Typical work day,

Review all emails and work orders.
Process all new work orders and assist the Operations Managers and Account managers with their needs toward making new commitments and delivering on existing commitments.
Process payroll, accounts payable, and accounts receivable.
Verify turf program. Attend any meetings scheduled with the Branch – more... Manager or Account Management or Operations Management team.
Continue to prepare for monthly close. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Coordinator (Former Employee), Boca Raton, FLNovember 28, 2013
Pros: we all carried our lunch.
Cons: short breack
First, When I worked for Brickman Group, I learned a lot from them, such as, how they made bed, using fertilizer to plant flowers. Pick up plants and flowers to delivery to the station, sometime to the shop for the next day. time sheet, daily activities reported to the operation Manager. Led the team to work, and double check, if they aren't left something. – more... Some coworker made it a little difficult for me when they can not perform the task well, in this case what I did was. I went quickly forward with who can perform the job and I get back to help and taught this coworker to wake him up. the harder part is using ladder to stand, and tchim high fichus. Enjoyable driven, and explain the work procedures. No benefit in Brickman Company, such as, personal day, sick day, Holidays, vacation nothing.
Wellness Company
Some time I worked in the front, doing patient registration, the other time, I worked in other station, doing finger sticks, and the third station doing, consultation to the patients on their medical finding, including answered any question they may have, and transferred them to the Doctor for further process.
Assisted Living Facility
worked in the Front Desk received the Patients family, opened and closed for the families. have them signed and answered question if they have, took the request, and called the patient for their family. helped the patient with wheelchair doing transportation to their rooms. In the administrator Office, I did filing,
JP Family Medical Practice
did paper worked for the patients, and called them, doing vital signs, prepares treatment rooms for the patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a place to build a career
Supervisor (salaried) (Former Employee), avon, ohOctober 28, 2013
Pros: crews are full of good guys, some good feild supervisors
Cons: mid managment is apathetic, branch managment is deceitful and unethical
Company is an absolute cluster f. Most days were spent trying keep customers happy while trying to skip as much contractually promised work as possible(thats the big secret to brickmans profits). Brickman is NOT a drug free workplace. I stopped bothering to learn that names of the people that got hired because there was so much turnover. In the 6 months – more... i was with the company we had well over 100% turnover, of the 10 people with the same position as me i watched 26 people fill those 10 spots in 6 months. I watched mid level managers get fired, demoted, suspended for H.R. issues and fired for getting a DUI in a company vehicle.
I was lied to in my interview about the number of hours the job entailed each week (told 50 when 70 was reality), i was promised a raise on my 90 review, which i hadnt received as of my 6th month review (never got it), and when a job posted that would have been a promotion my branch manager lead me on for 2 months about it before telling me (on my last day; you do that math) that i didnt know that internal workings of the branch well enough for the position, yet they were hiring someone from the outside with no landscape expeiriance.
Not a place to build a career, use it for a fill in between jobs if you need to, anyone with a drivers licence can be a supervisor because the place turns people over so fast. insist on being paid hourly.
NO ONE will be promoted from within the branch as long as current branch manager is in place. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad management
Acct mgr (Former Employee), DelawareOctober 16, 2013
Cons: 60+ work week. managers are verbally abusive. unprofessional
This company is only worried about money. They take no pride and work your butt off. They speak to you like children. If you want to get burned out and verbally slammed all the time...oh and dont ever not meet your quota to upsell or for gosh sake...never loose a client...go for it
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very corporate and well structured business
Mowing Crew Supervisor (Former Employee), Columbus, OHAugust 29, 2013
Goal oriented and large nationwide company. Co-workers are friendly and easy to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was great to work with them
Landscape Laborer (Former Employee), Greenville, SCAugust 13, 2013
i learned a lot from workin at brickman they have teached a me a lot ab landscape an do a quality go at all times
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I learned a great deal with this company about the commercial landscape/snow management industry.
Account/ Operations Manager (Former Employee), Avon, OHJuly 6, 2013
Pros: great branch level employees
Cons: no comment
Days began at 6:00 a.m. and often lasted until 7:00 p.m. or later. I had both account management and operations responsibilities. I strived to keep customers informed and assured their needs were being met. Providing training for the branch staff remained a daily focus. Consistently dividing my time between operations and account management proved to – more... be extremely difficult as needs of clients and employees fluctuated daily. Amidst the chaos there is a very strong core group within the branch that are like family and having that close knit group beside me kept me going on the most hectic days. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
best job
brickman (Former Employee), Annapolis, MDJune 14, 2013
i loved this job! you basically just had to work on the computer to organize paperwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and focus driven
Supervisor (Current Employee), Louisville, KYJune 6, 2013
The best aspect about working for Brickman is the reward of a job well done. With our scope of work you can receive immediate satisfaction because our work is out for all to see.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every employee is accounted for at Brickman. Most are required to wear a variety of hats.
Branch Administrator (Former Employee), Upland, CAApril 29, 2013
There is one individual that is responsible for all of the administrative tasks for each branch. It is essential to balance the branch’s daily accounts receivable, accounts payable, human resources, contract maintenance and other general office duties. I learned more than ever how to prioritize my schedule, being that in the past multiple people would – more... have their own personal administrative tasks. The hardest part of the job was not knowing when it was your time to be let go, when constantly seeing others around you get laid off. The most enjoyable part of the job was the relaxed environment and working so close to home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Integrity??
Acct. Mgr/Op Mgr (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INMarch 18, 2013
Cons: unprofessional, no professionalism. rip off artist
The branch I worked at was managed by someone with very little integrity. As a landscape professional, I was alarmed to see how little my fellow managers knew about the trade. Underperformance, lack of integrity and flat out unprofessionalism is something you will have to excel at in order to belong to this family.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Chester, VAMarch 15, 2013
I enjoy this job
People are amazing
I learned alot
great customer service
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a bad place if you enjoy being bent over and taking it up the rear!
Supervisor (Former Employee), OhioJanuary 30, 2013
Pros: if you don't have a life, you can have yours dominated here!
Cons: the entire company cares only about itself and not clients and especially not employees!
I would work 60+ hours a week all while going to college and even woke up an hour earlier in order to go to "management training" only to have people promoted over me and then eventually these people quit, resigned or got fired. I was then told that if I wanted to continue with school that I would get demoted which would cause me to lose health benefits – more... for my family. The only way they care about you is if you give up every aspect of your life to work ALL of the time and they have no room for anyone who wants to better themselves outside of their company. In one summer of working there almost every single Supervisor quit and I believe that they tick people off on purpose so that they can higher people in at a lower hourly rate. They also say that they do not cut corners, but they do and they have lied to clients by charging them for things, like salt in the winter, that was never used so that they can pad their bottom line. The most evil company that I have ever worked for and I have not met someone yet that was not completely happy the moment they quit and found a real job in a company that actually cares about their workers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Experience
Machine Operator/ Executive Mow Crew Leader (Former Employee), Portage, MIJanuary 21, 2013
Cons: everything
I have never worked in a more unprofessional workplace with no communication and no rewards for going above and beyond your job description. I was told i would receive a raise after being promoted and never received one. I was driving over an hour one way to work for my promotion and never received any kind of compinsation. I talked to my branch manager – more... about problems with my supervisor, he assured me and my whole crew things would change and they did everything got worse. I have no good things to say about this company. It was a horrible experience. I was making 16.00 an hour and driving a 1/4 of the disatnce then got cut to 9.50 and that was my promotion plus driving 2 1/2 hours a day. More responsibility less pay and using more of my gas. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Knowledgeable management
Landscape Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Newark, DEDecember 7, 2012
Long hours in season, sometimes had to babysit laborers. laid off due to revenue decline.

About Brickman

The Brickman Group offers landscape design and maintenance services for college campuses, municipal properties, sports facilities, – Read more