Find companies:
Brigham Young University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
98 reviews

Brigham Young University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and advance
Research Assistant (Current Employee), Provo, UTDecember 6, 2014
Since I am doing a Master's degree with an emphasis in Bioinformatics, I get to interact with student bioinformaticians and with students that work in a laboratory setting. They are all willing to teach you valuable skills and have a great sense of teamwork.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor pay and lots of politics
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Laie, HINovember 13, 2014
Overall BYUH doesn't offer much compensation, but depending on what department you work for it can be a great opportunity to learn and practice skills.

The flexibility is nice for a student job.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Professional Environment
Adjunct Faculty and Office Assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UTOctober 20, 2014
Kind and supportive faculty and student body. It is nice to work in a religious institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful learning/teaching environment with various resources
English 101 Instructor (Former Employee), Laie, HIOctober 16, 2014
Pros: excellent managers and crew/staff, lasting friendships
Cons: low wage, minimal opportunities for raises or promotions, some requirements felt more restricting than helpful
A typical day at work includes scheduling appointments with students, conducting a class with a minimum. I had to create and organize a syllabus to guide 20 students through a semester. I was also responsible for introducing national and international students’ to college level reading, writing, and analyzing various ranges and genres of English literature. – more... Holding students responsible for their grades was one of the hardest parts of being an instructor, as well as grading students’ assignments and confronting those who lack in reaching requirements, daily. It was the hardest part because I would give them feedback on their work, and they almost never applied it.

I learned to be better organized, especially when taking on a major responsibility (like workshops or classes), and had multiple opportunities to assist in the development of both national and international students' reading, writing, and analyzing English.

I became a student manager once I qualified for CRLA Level 3 tutor, which is the highest I could attain at BYUH. The director and supervisor of the Reading Writing Center became close friends of mine and helped make it possible for me to teach during the Summer Semester 2014. During which, my mentor observed my class 3 times in order to give me tips on teaching and witness my progression.

My co-workers were mostly supportive and eventually felt like a work family. However, the most enjoyable part of my job was seeing the progress of an International student who could barely form a comprehensive sentence to the final research paper where a student is producing full arguments with support and conclusions. It's a beautiful sight to experience, and honestly, it made the hard parts worth it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Biochemistry -General ChemistryTutor (Former Employee), Laie, HIOctober 13, 2014
Pros: sometimes free food.
Cons: at times no one would come in for tutoring.
I tutored students nightly and would hold weekly study sessions. I also graded assignments when students were not present for tutoring. The hardest part of the job was in trying to satisfy everyone's needs if for example many students were present a particular day. I love helping students solve and understand complex problems, helping them know the – more... basics and understand the material for themselves. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained good work experience and very flexible with school schedule.
STUDENT SECRETARY (Former Employee), Provo, UTOctober 10, 2014
Brigham Young University is a great place to work. They are more than willing to work around your class and testing schedule for school. As a working student, I was able to gain a lot of experience working with students, full-time staff, and professors alike. I learned to be very flexible, yet efficient with my work as there were multiple people needing – more... my services at any given time. I enjoyed being able to work with people and not just being behind a computer the whole time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Place
IT Engineer IV - Software Developer (Former Employee), Provo, UTOctober 2, 2014
Pros: healthcare, discounts, learning opportunities, free classes
I have never worked anywhere as enjoyable as BYU. The politics was easily manageable, my supervisor was great at not micromanaging and enabling you to get your job done while still making sure that you had the understanding, tools, and assistance necessary to complete your tasks.

The longer I was there the more I liked it. The benefits are superb. – more... The pay is... okay. But the benefits make up for a lot of that because of all that the university pays for insurance premiums, etc. Anyway, I can't say enough good stuff about working at BYU. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good opportunities for students
Research Fellow (Former Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: flexible hours, good exposure to faculty
Cons: low pay and sometimes
BYU offers a variety of employment opportunities, and several of the programs and offices have paid positions with transferable skills. For example, I worked in the Political Science department's Center for the Study of Elections and Democracy (CSED), which was run like a graduate lab.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A pure joy to work there.
Adjunct Professor of religious education (Former Employee), Rexburg, IDSeptember 26, 2014
Pros: great co-workers, great students to work with.
Cons: as an adjunct, i could teach only one semester per year.
I was invited to teach freshmen religion classes for three semesters at BYU-Idaho, and I found the experience to be absolutely delightful. The staff are friendly, intelligent, caring, knowledgeable, and approachable. I had lots of support from the administration and my co-workers. I would gladly work there full-time if I could!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Opportunities to interact and excel
Teaching Assistant and Research Assistant (Current Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 22, 2014
Working at Brigham Young University gave me the opportunity to interact with students, professors, alumni, and devoted cougar fans. These diverse work relationships allowed me to understand how to excel in a professional work environment and learn from those around me. I am confident that the experiences I have had here will propel me to be successful – more... in my future endeavors. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Graduate school to attend
PhD Graduate Student Researcher (Current Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 10, 2014
If you are a LDS this is heaven on hearth for you. If you are not, its not like you are in he** either. Its a decent school with great research opportunities. Research work is at par of MIT and Stanford. They have lots of funding and lots of job opportunities. Tuition fees are probably the cheapest in entire USA. If you are a non Mormon single, life – more... will be slightly different for you here. Job opportunities after graduation varies with field of study. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Janitorial Work
Student Janitor (Former Employee), Rexburg, IdahoSeptember 10, 2014
Pros: early morning before classes started therefore i had the rest of the day for class and study
Cons: it started at 4:30am
Typical day involved taking out office garbage, vacuuming offices and hallways, and cleaning bathrooms.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great University
Research Assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 3, 2014
Great work/life balance, great research atmosphere, nice people.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
part time teaching position
Part time Clinical Instructor (Former Employee), Provo, UtahAugust 16, 2014
Pros: top knotch university
Cons: unstable position
contracted for a specific class a semester at a time. Positions are dropped when budget or enrollment changes so lack of security and benefits.
Nice people to work with and smart, motivated students. Experience can vary greatly with different clinical sites.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great working environment
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UTAugust 4, 2014
Great working environment. Co-workers are awesome to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Assistant at Brigham Young University
Teaching assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UTJuly 31, 2014
Pros: time to work on homework or reading.
Cons: grading can become tedious.
This isn't a bad job. If you are a student who needs a little extra money or if you need to improve in a subject than this is a good position. Normally you grade papers and submit the grades to grade book. Occasionally you will need to help students with their course work. Management is very hands off and they give you all the tools you need to succeed – more... without hovering over you shoulder. You will get better at what ever subject you TA and the hardest part of the job is the occasional question that is beyond your ability to answer after consulting the book. On these occasions you will need to take the student to the professor so that both of you can get help. It is great watching fellow students master difficult concepts. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Undergraduate Research Assistant
Telescope Operator (Former Employee), Provo, UTJuly 21, 2014
I was an undergraduate research assistant at BYU in conjunction with my pursuing my Bachelor of Science. Rating and review would not be reflective of a normal full-time employee.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Boss, great place to work
Web Developer (Current Employee), Provo, UTJuly 15, 2014
The culture is great and I really enjoy the flexibility of working as a student as web programmer.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working as an accounting assistant.
Accounting Assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UTJuly 9, 2014
Pros: nice yearly parties
Cons: a lot of arrogance among other employees
I love working with numbers and balancing different accounts.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great student job!
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee), Provo, UTJune 25, 2014
My supervisor was very understanding and accommodating when it came to schedule conflicts with school. He was willing to work with me and was always patient when teaching me to do new tasks.

1 2 3 4 5

About Brigham Young University

Founded in 1875, Brigham Young University has grown from a small pioneer academy to one of the world's largest private universities, – Read more