Brigham Young University Employee Reviews

Found 204 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible schedules
Office Specialist (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTFebruary 14, 2017
BYU is very good about working with student schedules. They recognize that you are a student and that you are in school so they work with you to have a work schedule that works for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spiritual Academia
INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTFebruary 10, 2017
If you are looking for a place to nourish both your mind and soul, it would be difficult to find a better place than BYU. Both standards there are high and it shows in the quality of everything they do.
Pros
Great Work - Life Balance
Cons
It is academia - with all that implies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Teacher's Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rexburg, IDFebruary 8, 2017
Great Place to work. Nice people are everywhere. You can always get help. People love to work. People are very friendly towards others.
Pros
Great
Cons
NO cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a wonderful place to work at
Chinese Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Rexburg, IDJanuary 25, 2017
* working with wonderful and cheerful people
* working with positive and supportive mentors
* building up leadership skills
* having open comminiocation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fulfilling work that allowed personal growth
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 18, 2017
I was able to learn much doing habitat research for the forest service, as well as develop leadership in training new team members. The hardest part of the job was the physicality and exhaustion after being out in the elements for a long shift. I learned how to work well with others and find success in working as a team.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was fun while in school
Research Associate-Political Science (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 17, 2017
This was a fun place and easy place to work while finishing my degree. On campus so can work in between classes and a nice quiet place to work on homework as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good management and a place to learn as a student
Student Secretary (Former Employee) –  HawaiiJanuary 15, 2017
A good place for student to learn and earn working experience. The school provide jobs for student to earn some income to support their living while studying.
Pros
The school job helped my finance while I was studying
Cons
Keep my student life super busy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Byu-I
Personal Training Internship (Former Employee) –  Rexburg, IDJanuary 14, 2017
BYU-I is a great place to work and learn. The environment is amazing and the employees are all super educated and kind. I would recommend BYU-I to anyone.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Latin Tutor at BYUI
Latin Tutor (Former Employee) –  Rexburg, IDJanuary 12, 2017
Working here was good. The pay was not great, but it was still a job. The tuition at BYUI is really cheap, so it's not like it was too bad considering.
Pros
Student relationships
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Secretary (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 10, 2017
Love working with the faculty and students here; great standards and ethics; love being a part of something bigger; great at understanding personal needs and abilities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter job
Custodial Worker (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 9, 2017
Cleaned buildings and performed menial tasks. Not a job I would want to keep for two long, but until you have job experience it'll work. Not for those who struggle in the morning.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being a research assistant is the perfect job for students.
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 9, 2017
I've learned more working on grad student projects than I have in a lot of my other classes. I feel that the relationships I've made with the grad students and professor have been just as important also. I also love that the hours are completely flexible- perfect for students. You never have to worry about school conflicting with your job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational with opportunities for occupation opportunities
German Courses Instructor (Former Employee) –  Provo, UT 84604January 7, 2017
Not only is this university highly accredited for their academics, but they also provide a wide variety of work experience opportunities. These work opportunities also come with the possibility of advancement.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Such a good time
Instructor (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 5, 2017
As I said before, I love working for this university and wish I did not have to leave. You'll always be happy when at BYU. If you have the chance, work here!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with lots of benefits
Delivery Driver (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJanuary 4, 2017
At BYU there are lots of job opportunities that can help you earn money while studying. There is a maximum of 20 hours per week for students.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and fun place to work
Lead Fire Alarm Student Technician (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTDecember 29, 2016
The people you work with are great and the benefits are great. It's the ideal job as it pays well and it gives you job security for years to come. The workload is usually steady with occasional needs for overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Neat experience that helped me grow
Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Provo, UTDecember 28, 2016
I grew to enjoy working with other people and collaborating with them on projects. Although the research topic I worked on was tedious and somewhat new, I enjoyed the challenge.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Enviorment
Business School Professor's Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rexburg, IDDecember 27, 2016
Great environment. You just feel at home when you are here. The people are really easy to get along with. Everybody is very welcoming. I would go back in a heart beat.
Pros
Great Enviorment
Cons
None yet
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
ENGLISH INSTRUCTOR (Current Employee) –  Rexburg, IDDecember 17, 2016
Great place to work .Not a lot of advancement opportunities for online instructors, but otherwise it's great. Highly recommending working here.
Pros
Work from home
Cons
low salary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review BYUI
Teacher and Lab Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rexburg, IDDecember 14, 2016
I enjoy working as a teacher assistant. I would grade assignments and tests every week and meet with the teacher to present the work done.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brigham Young University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.6
Based on 205 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.6
Compensation/Benefits
3.8
Job Security/Advancement
4.0
Management
4.3
Culture
4.6

Brigham Young University Reviews by Location