Find companies:
Brigham Young University
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
88 reviews

Brigham Young University Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Student Job
Teaching Assistant (Former Employee), Provo, UTMarch 14, 2013
Pros: flexible hours
Awesome student job. Good pay. Great mentors and training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment and I work with autonomy
College Math Instructor (Current Employee), Provo, UTFebruary 27, 2013
I work as an adjunct math professor and I love the quality of the students who attend BYU. I enjoy working with the students and the autonomy I am afforded to get the job done. However, you don't always feel appreciated as an adjunct faculty member.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BYU is a private, church owned, university that stresses research, teaching, and moral values.
Professor of Mathematics (Former Employee), Provo, UtahFebruary 25, 2013
Pros: high quality of professors, students, and values.
Brigham Young University was an excellent place to work, with a balanced emhasis on research and teaching. It required strict moral behavior and stressed family values. I taught there for 33 years and then retired, and with our children raised and still in posession of good health, pursued other teqaching experiences at different kinds of educational – more... institutions. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Education
RESEARCH ASSISTANT (Former Employee), Provo, UTFebruary 19, 2013
Overall, BYU is a great place to get a Graduate Education/Post-Doc. The chemistry department has great faculty and a wide variety of research opportunities. Compared to other Chemistry Institutions the faculty does not demand tons of hours from their students. Due to the religious nature of the university, many people opt for other universities. The – more... indirect result of this is that there is far more funding and resources per capita (due to religious funding) than would exist at many other places. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance is awesome with high values and cultural awareness
Maintenance Supervisor (Former Employee), Laie, HIJanuary 26, 2013
Pros: health and wellness; values
Cons: pay
Ability to manage work life and personal life balance was easy when working for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most rewarding job working with artwork worth millions
Assistant Manager of Fabrication (Former Employee), Provo, UTJanuary 7, 2013
Pros: working with all kinds of artwork.
Cons: 3/4 part time.
go around the muesum and change all the burned out lights.check on all the exhibits to see if anything needs to be fixed or adjusted. check on all the students to see how their jobs are coming. proceed with my assignments, Frames, cases, display's.

how to take students not in the field of woodworking and produce a gallery to exhibit artwork.

I have – more... a supervisor who recieves plans from Curator and design team then tells me what needs to be done.

4-5 student employees mostly, but have to deal with design team, registration (art handlers), Curators.

waiting for Curators to give us the plans.

seeing the end result on the exhibits. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace is very diverse and fun.
Network CSR Technician (Former Employee), Laie, HIJanuary 4, 2013
I worked with people from all over the world. Learned so much about different cultures.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
School Job
Director of Internships (Former Employee), Rexburg, IDJanuary 2, 2013
Great opportunity during school.

Some teachers need help and should not be there. Others are extremely awesome.

Overall great institution.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brigham Young University - Hawaii is world's largest diverse educational institute.
Accountant and Database Administrator (Current Employee), Laie, HINovember 10, 2012
Pros: great learning experience...
Cons: none.
Student life is busy, some socializing and healthy fun is necessary to keep the life moving on...
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great on campus jobs
Teaching Assistant (TA) (Former Employee), Provo, UTNovember 2, 2012
Various on campus jobs available for students. Helps greatly in work study balance.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and study
Dishwasher - The Crossroads (Former Employee), Rexburg, IDOctober 17, 2012
I learned the importance of following guidelines. Great place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment with very flexible hours
Teachers Assistant/Research Assistant (Current Employee), Provo, UTSeptember 28, 2012
Pros: work environment
I'm the Teacher's Assistant for a Plastics Manufacturing class, and an Advanced Composites Manufacturing class
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great enviromenet
System Consultant (Current Employee), Laie, HISeptember 3, 2012
Learned most of I know here. The part time offered here help me develop many skills.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coworkers, great environment
Course Improvement Specialist (Former Employee), Rexburg, IDAugust 2, 2012
Pros: fun environment, good coworkers, easy pace job, with flexible deadlines
Cons: short breaks, low pay.
It was a great environment, really fun coworkers, I worked improving the online courses for BYU - Idaho, I learned different skills, such determine different problems and find their solutions. Worked closely with instructors to ad/remove information and fix problems(typos, deadlines, etc) with the courses. The hardest it was the fast pace that at times – more... I had several course to work on, or fixes and improvements. The most enjoyable was the flexible deadlines, and the great coworkers. Fun and easy going supervisor. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Camera Operator/Video Editor (Former Employee), Rexburg, IDJuly 1, 2012
Pros: lunch breaks and company events
Cons: weekend hours
Loved the environment and work assignments. The boss and co-workers were friendly and stuff got done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Lead Custodian (Current Employee), Provo, UTJune 13, 2012
Pros: hours flexible
Cons: late shift
Work takes place in good environment. Co-workers are students just like me, and supervisors are friendly and easy to work for.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and open to opinion.
Camera Operator/Video Editor (Former Employee), Rexburg, IDJune 6, 2012
Pros: work celebrations
Cons: no transportation
A typical day at work, I was in an office with hi-def screens and sound to edit video. Some days were spent filming different things on campus. My co-workers and I all loved working together and everything was fun. The hardest part of the job was sometimes working odd hours for an event, but the best part was doing what I loved.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BYU is a wonderful place to work!
Capital Needs Analysis Database Manager (Current Employee), Provo, UTMay 24, 2012
Pros: half-tuition benefit for children, great pension plan.
BYU is a great place to work, and it gives one the feeling that he or she is really contributing to something worthwhile.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Welcome to the RB, would you like a Tennis Court?
Information Desk Operator (Former Employee), Provo, UTMay 18, 2012
Pros: time to do homework
Cons: angry people
Brigham Young University (BYU) is a great institute of higher learning and home to many, many, on-campus, student jobs. Mine was possibly the best. I worked for the campus rec center. My job was at the front desk dealing in information and tennis court reservations. It is not the most exciting job, but important and you get a lot of down time to do – more... your homework. As a busy college student, it doesn't get any better than that.

The hardest part of the job is dealing with the angry public. Such is the nature of customer service as we all know. The staff is friendly, as is everyone in Utah and you don't have to be Mormon to be "in the know" with the staff. It's all one big happy family with plenty of hugs and giggles. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A flexible and supportive workplace
Consultant (Former Employee), Provo, UTMay 1, 2012
I worked as a teaching assistant while in a grad program. The work life balance was a little stifling, but more because of education than work. My work load was reasonable and the flexibility about when it was completed was very accommodating to my academic schedule.

About Brigham Young University

Founded in 1875, Brigham Young University has grown from a small pioneer academy to one of the world's largest private universities, – Read more