Find companies:
Bright Horizons Family Solutions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
321 reviews

Bright Horizons Family Solutions Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work and very professional
Preschool Teacher Assistant (Former Employee), New London, CTJune 25, 2014
very busy. hands on. respectful. the children were great to teach and be around.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use best judgment
Teacher (Current Employee), Washington, DCJune 24, 2014
Cons: maternity pay, low raises
Me personally, I dont believe that this is a good place to work. or maybe my center. I dont like it all.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, very busy but fun place to work
CO-TEACHER (Former Employee), Tampa flJune 19, 2014
Pros: hour break, monthly workshops
Cons: not the greatest pay
A typical day would be signing children in as they arrive, implementing the planned lesson for the day, serve lunches and snacks, assisting with toileting, monitoring and ensuring safety throughout the day. What I learned here was how to plan lessons, how to manage a classroom full of 2 and 3 year olds. Management there were so kind but seemed to make – more... drastic changes much too often. Co-workers there were nice for the most part but had much hostility towards one another pretty often. The hardest part of the job would be having to work with a person who didn't know how to manage a class. The most enjoyable part of the day was to watch the little ones laugh and smile and socially interact with each other. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place that is never the same experience on any day to day
Office Manager (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAJune 17, 2014
I enjoyed my coworkers. I was given an opportunity to learn all that I wanted on a number of subjects regarding curriculum and the business of Bright Horizons. The most enjoyable part of my job was see the families come through centers knowing their children were cared for and loved every day. The hardest part of the job was finding dedicated, credentialed – more... teachers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management/ coworkers/typical day at work
Associate Teacher (Former Employee), New York, NYJune 16, 2014
Pros: okay pay, benefits
Cons: directors and regional managers only care about the money
Directors were horrible they never wanted to step in the classrooms unless kids were napping, forgot about us when we asked for potty breaks, left the center alone with only teachers all the time, never ordered supplies..etc coworkers were lazy, took naps with kids always called out...etc typical day at work it was good if we had a full staff no call – more... outs and directors if not a disaster 30min breaks instead of an hour plus asked us to stay extra, activities, cleaning, diapers etc – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Just our center
Support and Infant Teacher (Former Employee), Issaquah, WAJune 15, 2014
Pros: free lunches, you get to build great relationships with families and children
Cons: bad management, could never get time off.
I had heard of good things before, from other people who had worked at Bright Horizons. For myself, I felt like I had a unfair advantage because my personality didn't match those of one of my bosses. I felt more or less bullied, and singled out most of the time. I was glad to move on from this business. I will miss my time spent teaching the kids, and – more... giving them the best care possible. In the end though, I just never felt that my hard work was appreciated or even seen. I wish this business the best of luck. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Team Leader
Team Leader/Teacher (Former Employee), Racine, WIJune 10, 2014
Cons: work/life balance
I spent my days at Bright Horizons working with children. I enjoyed spending time with children and seeing them grow for two years. I take pride in the fact that I helped children identify letters, numbers and colors and that I was a big part for their first two years. I learned how to work with families on created a development plan for their children. – more... I learned how to hold conferences in person and on the phone with families. I also learned how to make schedules for faculty. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. We really supported each other. The hardest part of my job was the work/life balance. It was not there a lot. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Typical Day
Client Service Associate/ Assistant Teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYJune 9, 2014
7:30-4:30
1. Review my to-do list
2. Re-prioritize my list for today
The list has
• Must do today
• Should do today
• I hope I have time for this
3. Sort through my e-mail
• Delete messages
• Answer emails return phone calls
• Sort out those that require more time or extra work to answer
– move them to my to-do list.

In between all of this I answer – more... the phone and deal with the immediate needs of parents and co-workers. As the face of the business, it is important that I handle interruptions to my schedule with graciousness and unruffled efficiency.

I have learned how to be more efficient in a short time period. The hardest part of my job is the short time span and turn around time. The most enjoyable is listening to the children play and laugh. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher
Teacher (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJune 3, 2014
Daily care of groups of children, responsible for academic and well being of each child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to move up
Lead Pre-Kindergarten Teacher (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTJune 2, 2014
Bright Horizons offers many programs to their employees to help them move up the ladder to higher positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Teacher Assistant, cook (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIMay 30, 2014
Pros: great heatlh benifits
I enjoy working at Bright Horizons it and fun and exciting place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
classroom
Senior staff in Toddler program (Current Employee), Rockville, MDMay 30, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: healthcare is expensive
The ratio is 1-3 for infant and toddlers some centers are 1-4.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Upbuilding My Persona!
Teacher (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 28, 2014
I learned the great benefit of patience with children, parents, coworker and supervisors. I really grew in this company into a very great employee. I worked hard and endured many challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides High Quality Education & there is room for growth
Education Coordinator (Current Employee), Waltham, MAMay 28, 2014
There is always work to be done and it's fast paced environment but whether or not you are a teacher or a member of administration, it's probably the only job where you get a hug each day and can wear a superhero cape to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun work environment
Associate Teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: short break
I have learned how to work with children from 6 months up to 12 years old.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate teacher (Former Employee), Newark, DEMay 27, 2014
While working at Bright Horizons, I on a daily basis helped to plan and implement age and developmentally appropriate activities, I changed diapers and or assisted children in toilet training, prepared lunches provided by the parents, I assisted in assessing the children in my classroom, I reported to the parents daily about their child's day as well – more... as their developmental progress. While employed at Bright Horizons, I was able to attain my associates degree which enables me to be qualified to be a lead teacher. The co-directors were exceptional and dependable. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the sometimes hard to handle children and sometimes hard to handle parents. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I would see the "Aha!" in the children as they mastered a new skill or concepts as well as the affection that I received from each one of the children in my class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Teacher (Former Employee), Lebanon, NJMay 24, 2014
Bright Horizons is a great place to work. I started there when i was going to school for teaching and it gave me a lot of info to take along with me. You become so connected to the children that when you see then it puts a smile on your face to know they love you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They take advantage of dedicated personal.
Teacher (Former Employee), FridleyMay 22, 2014
Cons: does not hire within the company.
Bright Horizon is a unorganized company. They do not support your professionalism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace for children
Associate Teacher (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 21, 2014
I never had a bad experience I got along with everyone and was a good team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
teacher (Former Employee), Mercer county NJMay 19, 2014
Pros: loved my kids, meant great women, great parents
Cons: poor pay, under staffed, classrooms over packed with kids, bad management, lack of recognition
Where do I begin!!!!!
let me start by saying I have never reviewed a job before but I felt this was necessary. I was a lead teacher at a BH and the only thing I liked about my job was the students,their parents, and a few co workers.
-Horrible pay
-Accumulation of sick and vacation time is a joke take an extremely long time to accrue.
-Forced to come – more... in during dangerous deadly weather even during states of emergencies, is a total disregard for our lives. I have never had to work in blizzards and hurricanes until I started here
-Hard to use the restroom because there were never enough employees to cover
-Raises are like spitting in our faces, 20 cents here, 30 cents there really????
-We are asked to create lesson plans to educate our students yet we rarely ever got supplies...EVER!!
- I believe BH has great wording in their education curriculum but a lot of what they want is impractical and even unnecessary working for a childcare facility with those ages, and for the amount of pay we received
-Teachers went above and beyond for students and parents yet BH did nothing to recognize our hard work. Parents did our director and the company did not.
-Director was unprofessional and seemed not to care to much about how the center was run, was more interested in getting out there and having a drink.
-Building never properly cleaned ( only one cleaner came some nights) toys rarely sanitized.
-WAY WAY WAY TOO many kids in almost every classroom
-Never enough employees
Whoever the CEO and owner of BH is is surely making out because our pay was unlivable, with 20 cent raises and we rarely got supplies even though one of my students tuition covered one of my checks with $ to spare, so where does the $ go??????? – less

About Bright Horizons Family Solutions

Bright Horizons Family Solutions® is a leading provider of early education and preschools, employer-sponsored child care, – Read more

Bright Horizons Family Solutions Photos