Find companies:
Bright Horizons Family Solutions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
353 reviews

Bright Horizons Family Solutions Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teacher
Teacher (Former Employee), Stamford, CTJune 3, 2014
Daily care of groups of children, responsible for academic and well being of each child.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunities to move up
Lead Pre-Kindergarten Teacher (Current Employee), Norwalk, CTJune 2, 2014
Bright Horizons offers many programs to their employees to help them move up the ladder to higher positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work enviroment
Teacher Assistant, cook (Former Employee), Pontiac, MIMay 30, 2014
Pros: great heatlh benifits
I enjoy working at Bright Horizons it and fun and exciting place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Upbuilding My Persona!
Teacher (Former Employee), Boston, MAMay 28, 2014
I learned the great benefit of patience with children, parents, coworker and supervisors. I really grew in this company into a very great employee. I worked hard and endured many challenges.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Provides High Quality Education & there is room for growth
Education Coordinator (Current Employee), Waltham, MAMay 28, 2014
There is always work to be done and it's fast paced environment but whether or not you are a teacher or a member of administration, it's probably the only job where you get a hug each day and can wear a superhero cape to work!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun work environment
Associate Teacher (Current Employee), New York, NYMay 28, 2014
Pros: flexible
Cons: short break
I have learned how to work with children from 6 months up to 12 years old.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Associate teacher (Former Employee), Newark, DEMay 27, 2014
While working at Bright Horizons, I on a daily basis helped to plan and implement age and developmentally appropriate activities, I changed diapers and or assisted children in toilet training, prepared lunches provided by the parents, I assisted in assessing the children in my classroom, I reported to the parents daily about their child's day as well – more... as their developmental progress. While employed at Bright Horizons, I was able to attain my associates degree which enables me to be qualified to be a lead teacher. The co-directors were exceptional and dependable. The hardest part of the job was dealing with the sometimes hard to handle children and sometimes hard to handle parents. The most enjoyable part of the job was when I would see the "Aha!" in the children as they mastered a new skill or concepts as well as the affection that I received from each one of the children in my class. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place
Teacher (Former Employee), Lebanon, NJMay 24, 2014
Bright Horizons is a great place to work. I started there when i was going to school for teaching and it gave me a lot of info to take along with me. You become so connected to the children that when you see then it puts a smile on your face to know they love you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They take advantage of dedicated personal.
Teacher (Former Employee), FridleyMay 22, 2014
Cons: does not hire within the company.
Bright Horizon is a unorganized company. They do not support your professionalism.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Workplace for children
Associate Teacher (Former Employee), Jacksonville, FLMay 21, 2014
I never had a bad experience I got along with everyone and was a good team player.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company to work for
teacher (Former Employee), Mercer county NJMay 19, 2014
Pros: loved my kids, meant great women, great parents
Cons: poor pay, under staffed, classrooms over packed with kids, bad management, lack of recognition
Where do I begin!!!!!
let me start by saying I have never reviewed a job before but I felt this was necessary. I was a lead teacher at a BH and the only thing I liked about my job was the students,their parents, and a few co workers.
-Horrible pay
-Accumulation of sick and vacation time is a joke take an extremely long time to accrue.
-Forced to come – more... in during dangerous deadly weather even during states of emergencies, is a total disregard for our lives. I have never had to work in blizzards and hurricanes until I started here
-Hard to use the restroom because there were never enough employees to cover
-Raises are like spitting in our faces, 20 cents here, 30 cents there really????
-We are asked to create lesson plans to educate our students yet we rarely ever got supplies...EVER!!
- I believe BH has great wording in their education curriculum but a lot of what they want is impractical and even unnecessary working for a childcare facility with those ages, and for the amount of pay we received
-Teachers went above and beyond for students and parents yet BH did nothing to recognize our hard work. Parents did our director and the company did not.
-Director was unprofessional and seemed not to care to much about how the center was run, was more interested in getting out there and having a drink.
-Building never properly cleaned ( only one cleaner came some nights) toys rarely sanitized.
-WAY WAY WAY TOO many kids in almost every classroom
-Never enough employees
Whoever the CEO and owner of BH is is surely making out because our pay was unlivable, with 20 cent raises and we rarely got supplies even though one of my students tuition covered one of my checks with $ to spare, so where does the $ go??????? – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a happy experience
teacher (Former Employee), ConnecticutMay 18, 2014
Mid management was terrible. Site director sat in her office all day never venturing into classrooms to see what was taking place or offering support to staff. Did not like the corporate aspect,it left little opportunity for teacher individuality never mind students.
There was a lot of gossiping and back biting among staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career
Regional Manager (Current Employee), Watertown, MAMay 17, 2014
Lots of great people to work with every day!
Rewarding career.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My first IT experience
IT Service Desk Coordinator (Former Employee), Watertown, MAMay 17, 2014
Pros: atmosphere
Cons: favoritism
My day would consist of customer service work, resetting passwords and assisting employees with account lockouts. I would also assist with upgrades as well as work remotely with the people who worked at a different site or out of state.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative, fast paced, and compassionate workplace.
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee), Fairfield County and Westchester CountyMay 13, 2014
Pros: encourage advanced education.
Cons: as a substitute you're not guaranteed minimum numbers of hours.
On a typical day at work, I supervise eight children with the help of another teacher in the classroom. I usually read books with the children, play, and help getting lunch ready. I learn a lot about different children' allergies and how to avoid cross-contamination. Working as a substitute teacher helps me stay organized and focused more on details, – more... since every child is unique and every single one of them has a different schedule that I have to follow. My co-workers are hardworking. We collaborate well and always complete all the daily tasks. My co-workers are funny and caring towards the children. They have great leadership skills and able to respond in a calmly manner when parents or children are being difficult. The most enjoyable part of the job to me is bonding with the children. Working with children thought me patience, improved my creativity and communication skills. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable days with developmental growth with children
Teacher Assistant and Head Cook (Former Employee), Hillsborough, NJMay 12, 2014
I was the head cook and teacher assistant at this job, unfortunately when the job got bought out with the company everything changed. Under new management things changed for the worse therefore i had to part ways.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Many wonderful colleagues!
Regional Manager (Current Employee), Multiple LocationsMay 2, 2014
This is a place where you can make a positive impact on the future of the world!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good to start
Associate Teacher (Former Employee), New York, NYApril 26, 2014
Pros: watching the children grow and hit milestones
Cons: short breaks, low pay, lack of praise, favoritism
Great company to start with, loved working with children. Loved being able to work with children of mostly all ages. Lots of training but sometimes unable to put it into practice because management won't put certain people in certain rooms yet the training is still mandatory. Had to call every day to see if I was working. Hard to take bathroom breaks – more... because of lack of coverage. If you aren't a favorite be careful management will be quicker to write you up. Management makes promises and never fulfills them but it's your fault. A lot of times your out of ratio and if the children are to loud it's your fault. A lot of cliches and lead teachers who sit and bark orders at coworkers. Very short unpaid lunch and low pay for someone with a degree. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Office Manager (Current Employee), New York, NYApril 22, 2014
This company is good if you want to work for a big corp. I'd like something smaller.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utilize the tools available, and you'll go far
Interim Business Manager (Current Employee), San Francisco, CAApril 19, 2014
Pros: lots of freedom for creativity
Cons: not a whole lot to do. pay isn't great.
I've worked at Bright Horizons as an associate teacher, a lead teacher, and now the interim business manager. By far, the business manager position is my favorite and I am grateful to the AD and director of my center for recognizing my potential for this position.
I have learned a lot from the interim director, but mostly it's been trial and error experiences – more... which have taught me the most.
The hardest part of the job is probably not having enough to do. I don't enjoy downtime and like to remain busy.
The most enjoyable part of the job is at the end of the month when I go through the profits and loss report and fix our general ledger so that everything is within budget. – less

About Bright Horizons Family Solutions

Bright Horizons Family Solutions® is a leading provider of early education and preschools, employer-sponsored child care, – Read more

Bright Horizons Family Solutions Photos