Find companies:
BrightStar Care
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
190 reviews

BrightStar Care Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poorly managed
Staffing Coordinator (Former Employee), Evansville, INNovember 24, 2014
Cons: no training
They hired me knowing full well that they were out of money and that the company did not have the money to continue. I was layed off three weeks after they hired. They owner also records all of the phone calls. She tried to discipline me for speaking harsh to a client because she over heard me being firm with an employee for cancelling a visit with – more... a client. Once she reviewed the tape she understood that I was kind and apologetic with the client for her worker cancelling on her. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting agency to work with
Home Health Nurse Aide (Former Employee), Berwyn, PANovember 23, 2014
This is a interesting agency to work for, they link their employee with available clients who are unable to provide care for themselves on a daily basis.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great management team
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Tinley Park, ILNovember 21, 2014
Pros: flexiblibility
Cons: territories
Over all a good company to work for. Excellent office staff.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILNovember 13, 2014
Pros: great co-workers
Cons: minimum wage
I learned how to scan bar codes from cellphones
co-workers were nice
I liked learning new things
met new people everyday
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Total mess.
LPN (Former Employee), Columbus, OhioNovember 13, 2014
Pros: supposed to be paid weekly, some nice families
Cons: very low pay, no incentives or benefits
I came to brightstar as a PRN LPN looking for some hours to pick up here and there. Let us sit through 5 hours of orientation to tell us at the end we are being paid 4.5 hours at minimum wage (said we had a lunch break which was used for us to go get our background check, which guess what we get to pay for too!) and wouldn't be paid until we worked – more... our first shift. I'm sorry, but this may be a part of the reason they can't ever find nurses to work. We are professionals and deserve to be paid fairly. $16 an hour for HOMECARE, $18 an hour for facility staffing. Very very low for someone who has student loans to pay. Turn in your hours to get paid and may get paid the next week, maybe not til 2 weeks later! Clearly they are not getting the best of the best because of this for families. One family told me everyone else was rough with their child and seemed to not care about their job. They were always so happy and refreshed to see me walking through their door when I could work. So sad. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Want Lots of Hours??
going to clients homes and assisting (Former Employee), Panama City Beach, FLNovember 3, 2014
Good company was offered alot of hours, didnt work for them too long because I relocated but definately would go back in a FLASH!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company!!!!!
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Duluth, GAOctober 30, 2014
Pros: great employers and you get paid weekly
Cons: had a hard time making full 40 hr a week
It's a great company to work for. The staff really cares about their employees. They have good cases and they treat you like family.You get paid weekly, I love that!!!. Also they allow you to make your own schedule and they don't pressure you to take clients your not comfortable with.I got a second job only because I wasn't able to make as many hr as – more... I would have liked on a regular bases. Other than that I would say it's one of the better Health Care Agencies in business. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
CNA Flexibility
Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Gurnee, ILOctober 27, 2014
Pros: independence, and freedom in my decision making
Cons: long hours. stress from behaviors and family dysfunction can be difficult.
Live in work meets the requirements for my lifestyle. I have learned that I work better in a holistic approach to patient care which envelopes the client, family and health care organization. My co workers trusts my judgment, priorities and skills while working in the field. The hardest part of my job is only being home 2 days of the week and working – more... twenty four hours a day. The most enjoyable part of my job is experiencing the trust of my clients evolve. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to get experience and very flexible schedule.
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Mesa, AZOctober 22, 2014
Pros: flexible schedule, choose your clients, m-f
Cons: hard to get full-time, lots of driving
BrightStar Care is a great place to start getting experience as a new CNA. Although it is hard to get full-time hours and you mostly do housekeeping and meals.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looks are Deceiving -
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Seattle, WAOctober 17, 2014
Pros: office in seattle
Cons: low pay, no training available, no follow up, no electronic medical records, company focused on sales and marketing - not healthcare
No Benefits provided - looks are very deceiving. This is a national corporation and each office is a franchise. What you see on the website is not what you get. Also the national corporation does not support skilled nursing - there are no electronic medical records and each office has to go by their state laws which the corporate office has no idea – more... of the variances in each state.

The company states they have "state of the art" software - that is only software for accounting and marketing and they expect nurses to use that as medical records? This was a totally unusable and unsafe practice yet there are no plans to improve the situation.

The company is focused on sales and marketing - not healthcare as they advertise. There is currently a lawsuit in Arizona regarding some of these issues of misrepresentation with regards to support for skilled nursing.

Extremely low pay for the expectations of the job - not competative at all with area standards.

What was very distressing was the fact that there was no orientation and one was expected to do mandatory training for no pay. No training for positions and no ongoing training available or supported.

Little or no oversight of CNAs in the homes - people are stretched too thin and no follow up for issues that arise.

All in all, I would not consider this a safe practice and would not work for any outfit like this again. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
CNA/HHA (Current Employee), Danbury, CTOctober 17, 2014
its a job like the people I go to they are fun to be with don't know very many of the other aides those I have meet are nice
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very strict company
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee), Libertyville, ILOctober 13, 2014
Cons: one luch and one break
I learned how to pick up the pace safety, my co-workers very helpful, kind, the hardest part of the job is to make labels different sizes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
taking care of elderly
Caregiver (Former Employee), Erie, PAOctober 9, 2014
i learned to care about elderly and what they did when they where younger and enjoyed there company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
C-
Caregiver (Former Employee), San Luis ObispoSeptember 29, 2014
I was compensated unfairly to my experience, and I did not feel appreciated by my clients or employer. . .

I do however love the work that caregiving entails and was very satisfied with the work itself.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Calm and Productive work place.
CNA (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 28, 2014
• Assist with daily living
• Assist with Shopping
• Assist with Medication
• Light Housekeeping
• Take patients to the Dr. Office
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
care more about marketing and sales than nursing
RN (Current Employee), WashingtonSeptember 28, 2014
Cons: low pay, no benefits or compensation for on call, no support from corporate for nursing
Corporate cares more about sales and marketing than nursing. No support for skilled nursing, no continuity of care. Corporate does not support local franchises in electronic medical records or billing insurance companies. National website is very misleading - local franchise scrambling - lack of appropriate orientation and training of staff - no resources – more... - owner has very poor management skills - unable to prioritize and scatterbrained - does not respond to questions and concerns of nurses - unreasonable expectations of employees and gets angry when she thinks people are not being flexible - thinks everyone should put their life on hold - a scheduling nightmare - – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Communication
Personal Caregiver (Current Employee), Erie, PASeptember 22, 2014
Work hours differ all the time, never stay with the same client. Have to fight to get hours and they don't always call you back after hours. They get an attitude if you try and call off even if it is the day before your shift!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for.
LPN (Current Employee), Mount Lebanon, PASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: one on on patient care
Cons: transfers when your by yourself
Great company to work for. I really enjoy home health care. A typical day at the job consists of giving the patient their medications and treatments. Preparing their meals (if needed), doing light household chores. Being a companion to the patient. i learn something new every day at the job. Nursing is a profession where you can learn something new – more... every day. The hardest part of the job is usually transfers. Sometimes the patients are a assist x2, and you are the only one there to transfer them. The most enjoyable part of my jo is the one on one care i provide for my patients. I am currently in my last semester in a ASN program. I will be graduating in the second week of January. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible company!
CNA (Former Employee), Brighton MISeptember 16, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything about this company
Worst place I've ever had to work for. No compassionate care! I wouldn't let these people care for my dog! Most of the time they don't have an aid when needed. Sent one girl who smoked with an oxygen patient, also was a heroine user and admitted it and the company did nothing about it! No drug test or anything just sent her off to another client. They – more... don't care about their employees or their patients. They only care about how much money you have. Horrible horrible people! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Caregiver (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: na
Cons: na
great company to work for, great boss, the pay was good, great leadership

1 2 3 4 5