Brightview Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growing Company, but many issues
Branch Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CANovember 10, 2017
Company is strong and still growing......but they are growing faster than they can merge companies. Two CEO's in a few years tells you where upper management is. ICE investigations by Department of Homeland Security and OSHA are ongoing. Job security-yes. Job happiness-no. Many employees leaving.
Pros
Strong company and still growing
Cons
Management is a mess.....integration and investigations makes it worse.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Technician (Former Employee) –  Rolling Hills, MDNovember 8, 2017
Best part of the job was working with the residents. The jobs gives you a good sense of self worth. The benefit package is one of the best I've ever had. The only reason why I left was for a much better opportunity.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice sights
Landscaper (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLNovember 6, 2017
it was a good job had the chance to plant flowers and different things and seeing nice sight and watch i look better as i go and get to build the rest.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
operator (Former Employee) –  Suwanee, GANovember 5, 2017
Is was a good job with excellent benefits, and it also had job growth and manager positions. With a license you could exel more and receive better experience
Pros
Fair and respectful
Cons
Hot at times and cold at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working in activities is great. Working in management was not.
Business Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Mount Laurel, NJNovember 3, 2017
Front line associates are treated very well.Upper management needs to listen and act upon complaints from middle management in regards to director issues.
Pros
Front line associates treated fairly
Cons
Middle management overworked at times.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bueno
Crew Leader/Laborer (Former Employee) –  San Jose, CANovember 1, 2017
Todo bien solo que falta gente para trabajar y capacitarlos mejor
Pros
Beneficios
Cons
Falta de trabajadores
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best Company within the Industry
Intern (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILOctober 26, 2017
Greatest landscaping companies one has the chance to work for. On the job training is hands down the best in the industry. BrightView goes out of their way to ensure each employee is trained to a specific field. Advancement within the company is earned by knowledge and time spent with the company. The company offers health insurance and retirement to ALL employees. If you are a manager level, you have a take-home vehicle.
Management consists of great managers who help out all the time. Of course, there are a handful of managers who disrespect employees and get away with it.
Most enjoyable part of the job is seeing the transformation of a property and the residents/managers congratulating yourself and your team.
One con is the regional (&above) management that does not understand what is happening on a daily basis.
When you decide to move on from BrightView, other landscaping companies jump on you because of your training and experience.
Pros
Outstanding Training, Flexible Schedules, Health Insurance, Good managers
Cons
Regional & above management does not understand what goes on
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced job that can pay off if you can keep up.
Arborist Account Manager (Current Employee) –  San Jose, CASeptember 25, 2017
Management is not very effective but the upside of that is that you get the freedom to make the most out of your position. Must be a driven individual.
Pros
Freedom from management, Extensive resources, Constant work
Cons
Constant work, Lack of effective management, Low initial pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work just doesn't save really any benefits.
Landscaper (Current Employee) –  Sarasota, FLAugust 31, 2017
Bright view is a good Company to work for. Since I started working there I've learned a lot about landscaping.
I take all that I have learned and make sure that I get the job done.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Production Manager (Current Employee) –  South CarolinaAugust 20, 2017
Great benefits and room for advancement. Be prepared to work 60 hours a week including Saturdays in a Production Management role. Overall, BrightView is a good company to work for.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fund work with machines
Driver (Current Employee) –  Oceanside, NYAugust 20, 2017
You move up in place if you put in effert to get better money and have more experiends great workers great staff they always have a good mood when you see them
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BrightView is a new company, we will need more time to evaluate them.
Project Superintendent/Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Calabasas, CAAugust 18, 2017
BrightView acquired ValleyCrest Company and is going thru numerous management changes, the future is undetermined. Employee benefits are not equal to the previous packages.
Pros
Undetermined...
Cons
Numerous management changes, lack of leadership.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work life balance
Supervisor/Manager (Current Employee) –  New JerseyAugust 18, 2017
enjoy working with different people and their backgrounds. good work life balance. Also this company has a lot of room for advancement to relocate and move up to higher positions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Buen ambiente de trabajo
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Columbia, MDAugust 18, 2017
Mi experiencia fue muy buena aprendi mucho en la rama de trabajos en areas verdes me ayudo mucho cuanto a conocimiento
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, safe, fun workplace
Irrigation manager (Current Employee) –  Broomfield, COAugust 17, 2017
Annual training, always new employees to train, free certifications, personable managers, safe work culture, morning stretching, physically challenging, goal orientated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A hard working job
Gardener (Former Employee) –  The Villages, FLAugust 9, 2017
My experience in brightview was unique, the reason i left was because i was moving states and couldn't continue with the job were i was joing but in over all a good job
Pros
Get paid good for an honest job, cold water when needed, free gear when is was necessary
Cons
When needed a brake you were required to keep working, unexpected hours at last minute
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large Company with Lots of Advancement and Opporunities
Water Management Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Long Grove, ILAugust 9, 2017
I was with them when they were Brickman. The culture at the time was excellent. They cared about the clients and employees and the profits came from that. I don't know what it is like now with the merger complete. The benefits were awesome, there were lots of positions that you could potentially move to if it made sense. You had ample training and mentoring. They made sure you did not fail. Would work for them again.
Pros
Benefits, Advancement
Cons
Can have long hours & Corporate gets in the way
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is very unsafe and hostile environment.
Accounts Payable Specialist (Former Employee) –  The Woodlands, TXJuly 18, 2017
Needs managers that can manage. Very unprofessional atmosphere where you can be treated most horribly. Sheriffs office was called at least 9 times while I was employed at Brightview.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watch your back
former employee (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJuly 2, 2017
Work was good from the start, but foremans have a secret bond that if they don't like you, you will get terminated. I worked 60 hrs a wk then the foreman fired me for no reason and said it was corporate, but corporate said it was him. nepotism. I would not recommend this place to anyone.
Pros
landscape a lot of hrs
Cons
have to watch your back every minute
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok work place
Irrigation (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLJune 16, 2017
Good company bad administration in the Orlando area
Over worked some times
Good job when just starting
Bad pay for Labour
And no good communications
Pros
Good hours
Cons
Bad pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brightview. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 51 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.3
Compensation/Benefits
3.2
Job Security/Advancement
3.1
Management
3.0
Culture
3.3