BRILLION IRON WORKS Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Over All Very Nice Company
Professional Driver (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIMay 17, 2017
Brillion Iron Works Was A Great Company To Work For , Pay And Benefits Were Great, People Were All Friendly From The Drivers To Management And The Foundry Workers, Around 2001 Accuride Corporation Bought Brillion Iron Works , Work Was Slowly Decreasing, In Fall Of 2016 Accuride Corporation Sold Out To MPG, And They Decided To Close The Doors, It Was Time To Move On .
Pros
My Boss And The Equipment And The Dedicated Runs.
Cons
All The Times They Were Bought Out, And The Talk Of Maybe Selling The Trucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a great place to work.
Core Room Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIMay 6, 2017
Before becoming a part of "corporate" America, the DUB was a great place to work. Good bosses, reasonable expectations and a team oriented environment.
Then things changed and, well, it doesn't exist anymore. Need I say more?
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Yes
Accounting manager (Current Employee) –  Brillion, WIApril 26, 2017
Good place to work, Great people great management. Good place to work, They make quality parts with a very knowledgeable dedicated work force committed to customer service.
Pros
Great Staff
Cons
Distance from Fox valley
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management
Sr. Buyer (Current Employee) –  Brillion, WIApril 12, 2017
Employees were great.

MPG purchased the company and shut it down. Lack of trust.

Treated people fairly during the down-sizing.

No opportunities for advancement..
Pros
none
Cons
company shut-down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed
General utility relief (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIFebruary 8, 2017
Does it really matter this company is no longer, China can buy our iron ship it there melt it down ship it back and sell it to us cheaper then we can make it here
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Closed doors on all employees
Fork lift (Former Employee) –  BrillionDecember 21, 2016
Worked at this location 49 years so I enjoyed all of the people. But the place was bought and closed down. It is very hot in the summer.
Pros
People
Cons
Heat and dirt
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
Foundry Worker (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIDecember 12, 2016
Great people to work with. Very physically demanding work with long work weeks. Management only cared about padding their pockets and didn't care about the employees
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
talk to production workers if they had problems with machine
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIOctober 14, 2016
did maintain machine when they broke down. grease and oiled when machines where on down shift. did safty checks on hoists jibs and anything that moved repeatity.
Pros
good pay
Cons
very dirty work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good people
General Laborer (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIOctober 12, 2016
Too many good people lost jobs because of plant closure. Everyone worked hard in a warm and dirty environment. Best of luck too all.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and professional work environment.
Estimator/Sales (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIOctober 3, 2016
Great benefits with knowledgeable coworkers. Management would listen to issues and help resolve them. Had to do the job of multiple positions due to company cutbacks in recent years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast pasted but a preetu good place to work.
Electrical apprentice (Current Employee) –  Brillion, WIOctober 1, 2016
This was a good company to work for. It was a dirty place but it is a foundry. Over all the pay was pretty good and it had good benefits. Wished they would not have closed the doors.
Pros
Pay. Good benefits.
Cons
Very hot and dirty.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Scheduled daily work for the grinding department and Shipping department
Scheduler/Manager/Customer Service/OTD (Current Employee) –  Brillion, WISeptember 28, 2016
On a typical day, I handed out jobs to about 35 people based on customer orders.
I lined up trucks to pick up customer orders.
I schedule 2 Finishing departments on what to process based on customer orders.
I talked to customers daily by phone or email to talk about any issues with their orders.
I corrected any Inventory errors
I conducted daily meetings with the Finishing Supervisor, Shipping assistant and the Customer Service group and went through the next week's orders for each customer.
Pros
The people were good workers and understood what needed to be done each day.
Cons
Rates were based on an incentive system
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Core Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WISeptember 13, 2016
Brillion Iron Works is closing their doors, do to the lack of sales and the economy. I am a hard and dependable worker. Always on time and good attendance.
Pros
health insurance
Cons
dirty enviroment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't bother
Manager (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WISeptember 13, 2016
They lied in the interview, the place is a dump, a lot of the people are lazy and incompetent, and they are in shambles financially. I wish I would have known before almost uprooting my family.
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Quality work, quality co-workers, great benefits
Production Worker (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIJuly 17, 2016
Quality work, quality co-workers, great benefits. Too many lay-offs to support my family.

I learned that management needs to have more knowledge of how production works to effectively run the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Professional
Regional Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIJune 22, 2016
I was a Regional Sales Manager and in charge of 25 million of sales. I called on and worked with Engineers from large companies and helped design their casting needs.
Pros
Company Car
Cons
about 35000 miles a year to cover the territory.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
everyone worked good as a team
Maintenance Mechanic (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIMay 10, 2016
i enjoyed working there, but the job security was not there, only worked 6-7 months at a time then you got layed off. The people
were good to work with because there was always someone there
if someone needed help.
Pros
good pay for a hard days work
Cons
not steady
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hot and dirty work environment
general labor (Current Employee) –  Brillion, WINovember 18, 2015
This employer pays well and has wonderful benefits. But at what cost? You are breathing in horrible air and your saliva and mucus will be black! Multiple people every year both currently working and retired, all die of some sort of cancer...workers beware!
Pros
Wonderful pay, and benefits
Cons
poorly managed, lay offs, hot and dirty working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Repairman (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WIApril 21, 2014
was a good place to work until it was purchased by accuride, turned into just another bank account for the fatcats
Pros
great hardworking workers
Cons
poorly managed by owners
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but if you want something stable find something else.
General Utility Relief (Former Employee) –  Brillion, WISeptember 24, 2013
I was looking for a better paying job and liked the fact that the hourly rate I made would increase at the rate of my output. I knew they had a history of lay-offs and asked at my interview if there was any chance in the near future because I was at a stable job and wouldn't be able to cover my bills if I were to get laid off and be forced to collect unemployment. They told me there were no signs or talks of any lay offs in the coming months. I accepted and started the following week. Two weeks later we were given notice that in two weeks 198 employees would be laid off due to work shortage. I'm not a business major but I doubt a lay off that big due to work shortages would just pop up like that without any warnings or talks. I worked with a guy who was hired two days before this lay off speech, he relocated from out of state. I would never work here again nor would I suggest anyone else work there. I met some good people in my short time there and the pay was really good but my life has spiraled out of control with my bills and other needed living expenses since being laid off and am still in contact with some of my co-workers who are dealing with the same and still looking for employment.
Pros
Pay
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at BRILLION IRON WORKS. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.2
Based on 25 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.0
Job Security/Advancement
1.9
Management
2.4
Culture
3.1

BRILLION IRON WORKS Reviews by Location