Find companies:
BRITISH RED CROSS
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
156 reviews

BRITISH RED CROSS Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace and hard work
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Current Employee), Carlisle, ENGAugust 16, 2014
Pros: all staff are friendly and inviting as soon as you walk through the door.
Cons: untidy most of the time and can't hardly move around the back/ office.
It is a really inviting environment and the staff are good company to work aside and it is for a good course because we are also raising money for people to learn medical procedures and save lives in the process. It is also a busy environment because we need to sort out all the deliveries that come to the shop and organise them in some sort of order. – more... It is also busy in the actual shop floor because we have loads of customers come in and sometimes ask for certain things and we have a look for them things for them and help them find another place which may have what they are looking for, so I am very proud to be volunteering there because I know that it helps people. Even the managers are outgoing and help you if you need it and make sure that you are feeling welcome, which I always do. The hardest part of the job would be tagging the products because sometimes you can catch yourself with the needle and have to change it. The most thing that I enjoy about the job is the staff and customers because I find out so much from them and learn new things each time. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work
Sunday Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Yeovil, ENGAugust 11, 2014
Pros: friendly; always plenty to do
Cons: none!
No two days are the same. You don't know what's going to be in stock - among the more mundane things are some weird and wonderful articles.

You meet a very wide variety of people, both customers and colleagues.

Colleagues are mostly volunteers, from retired people who want to do something with their time, to young ones who want to do something useful – more... and gain work experience at the same time.

You know that ultimately you are doing your part to help people in crisis and that's a great thing! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Charity Collector (Former Employee), Liverpool, ENGAugust 7, 2014
Pros: good fun atmosphere with a chance to earn good money.
Cons: long hours and a lot of travelling involved.
A typical day at work would consist of. Pitching to customers on the door step, Explaining the benefits of donating to a charity,Taking payment details and accurately filling donation forms, Working as a team to achieve set sales targets, Responsible for maintaining of self motivation as well as supporting team members, Working to a set plan. I learnt – more... how to pitch to customers and achieve sales targets. The management was good as they let me choose the days I wanted to work as I had other obligations. My co workers were all good fun and I got on well with them and we worked as a team. The hardest part of the job was arriving at work at 10 AM and not getting the bus home until 10:30 PM and sometimes knowing yo have made no sales so that days work has got you no pay. The most enjoyable part of the job was going door to door and building relationships with the customers. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understanding and helpful
Volunteer (Current Employee), Pheonix ParkAugust 3, 2014
At the Red Cross, a typical session involves cleaning any equipment that has come back the day before, checking the phone for messages, dealing with customers that have come to collect equipment, doing the paperwork for the loans and dealing with general enquiries. My co-workers are lovely people to work with, always will to help if needs be and to – more... cover if you can't make it in for your session. My manager is equally supportive with both staff and volunteers and always tries to be around for any problems. The hardest part of the job is having to try and sort out all customers who come for equipment in a reasonable amount of time and to deal with the constant influx of calls. The most enjoyable part of the job if knowing that you are helping those who need it. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Admin Assistant (Temporary Contract) (Former Employee), swanseaJuly 30, 2014
always had something to do, never a dull moment, lovely people to work with very friendly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Volunteer (Former Employee), MitchamJuly 28, 2014
I learned a lot of things through BRC. I enjoy volunteering there.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed helping there
Customer Service (Former Employee), Dunfermline,July 24, 2014
Pros: cups of tea and good conversation
Cons: had to leave
very nice manageress she became my friend and it was fun at times good to get out the house
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Therapeutic care
Therapeutic care (Current Employee), Worcester, ENGJuly 23, 2014
I take care of patients at Prrshore hspital, I talk to them, cut nail and shoulder and hand massage.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding job and good workplace environment
Sales Assistant (Current Employee), Manchester, ENGJuly 19, 2014
Pros: for charity
Cons: no pay
At the moment I volunteer work at the british red cross in Droylsden near my home. I have been volunteering there for over a year. I work every Saturday and gained many skill whilst working . I have improved my communicating skill when dealing with customers and developed my confidence.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience for a first job
Door to door sales (Former Employee), Birmingham, ENGJuly 18, 2014
This was my first ever proper job, and was great in teaching me lots of new life skills that were very much needed. Typical day was simple really you come in and serve customers with a friendly happy face whilst operating tills replenishing stock and occasionally staying behind to help clean when shop had shut.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affiliated and open minded work place and collegaues
Shop Volunteer (Current Employee), SheffieldJuly 16, 2014
Pros: working with a lot of kind of people
Cons: no payment
Keeping the store organised and tidy
Window dressing
Keeping contact with the customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional
Various (Former Employee), Luton, ENGJuly 8, 2014
As this was voluntary work, I went unpaid, but what I wanted to gain from this was experience while I attended college.
Because the work was voluntary I was able to choose what time I would come in and how often I would attend, the day would often follow a standard structure, come in, stack shelves, help customers etc. and then the day was finished.
I – more... learnt all the basics of holding a job together and learning to communicate with my collegues and the public.
The management was good, the shop was always running efficiently and it certainly proved a proffessional buisiness.
There was no real hard part for me just the constant tedious tasks we were given, but I did not mind this as I was always willing to work.
the most enjoyable part of the job was by far the interaction with the customers, I was able to help them with gratitude directed back at me. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rubish. Would never work there again.
Shop Assistant (Former Employee), Eltham, ENGJuly 2, 2014
Cons: plenty
Sarcastic managers who have nothing better to do than insult and find fault with genuine workers.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Charity.
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Former Employee), Rossendale, ENGJune 24, 2014
Pros: everything is great.
Cons: no bad things!
Charity shops are just awesome, I love how they try to help everyone. :)
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
satisfying place to work
Volunteer (Current Employee), LondonJune 23, 2014
Pros: learn new ways of learning, meet new people, meet new policy areas
Cons: price
I am currently doing training before working in contact with children, because they need to learn the laws and regulations that exist in the UK when it comes to working with children and young people. In the courses I'm learning new techniques of work, I meet new people inside and outside my professional field, which I always bring knowledge and new – more... experiences. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work place
shop assistant (Former Employee), manchesterJune 15, 2014
Pros: tea
Cons: lang hours
Hard work and busy all the time.
caring.
co-worker were great and team work.
Job was a fun same time interaction with others families and elderly
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good experience
Co worker (Former Employee), CichesterJune 15, 2014
My work was collect money and later to count them. It was a satisfaction to know that your work is for a good reason.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Retail Assistant (Former Employee), Ballymena, NIRJune 5, 2014
Pros: lunches
Cons: ok hours
I had fun in the red cross as I got on great with the other staff
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Volunteer Worker (Former Employee), Plymouth, ENGJune 2, 2014
Pros: £5 allowance for lunch.
When volunteering to work at the British Red Cross I had to play a role and get stuck in. I had to take on jobs such as working on the till, team working to put goods on the shelves and helping people within the shop.
Taking part in voluntary work has helped raised my confidence and become a better person. The manager was very polite and helpful along – more... with my co-workers.
The hardest part of the job was trying to keep up with all the customers however I did enjoy working on the till and socialising with different people. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace lovely staff
Volunteer Shop Assistant (Current Employee), newcastle upon tyneMay 26, 2014
Pros: free bus fare
Cons: flexi hours
hardest day at work is when I have to deal with a customer that wants things for free in thought its a charity shop. Staff are lovely too.

1 2 3 4 5

About BRITISH RED CROSS

The British Red Cross is part of the world's largest independent humanitarian network - the International Red Cross and Red Crescent – Read more

BRITISH RED CROSS Photos