Find companies:
Broadlawns Medical Center
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
13 reviews

Broadlawns Medical Center Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Health Care Technician (Current Employee), Des Moines, IAMarch 2, 2014
Pros: free lunch on saturdays
Cons: everything
Horrible place to work. I ended up leaving because of all the sexual harassment that goes on between employees. Dewey does not feel like a safe place to work and upper management is terribly greedy. When they tell people that have worked there for 5+ years without receiving any kind of raise since they started that they would "rather hire an illegal – more... than pass out more money" you know there's a problem. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent workplace culture
LPN (Current Employee), Does MoinesJanuary 5, 2014
Pros: benefits are amazing, free use of workout space, weight watchers at work
Cons: a few co-workers have been there for so long, they're lazy and need fired but that won't happen.
I have worked at all 3 of the hospitals in Des Moines and Broadlawns is by far the best one. At the major hospitals you could walk right past co-workers and they don't even look at you. It's not that way at Broadlawns. It's a smaller hospital culture, I feel like it's more of a family. I Love working there!!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Has a good mission
Registration (Current Employee), Des Moines, IADecember 9, 2013
Really enjoyed working with patients and staff. Learned about state and federal funding.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
watch out for the "good ole boy" way of working with employees
Unit Clerk (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: none on the unit i worked on it was just work, work
Cons: never got a 15 minute break in the am or pm as there was too many tasks to do in one day
Broadlawns is a good but small county hospital. I have had treatment there for about 1.5 years. The doctors are good and the hospital is through when you are seeking treatment. Because of this I submitted an application and was hired. The job was very frustrating as some of the staff had been there a long time and felt that they ran the unit I was a – more... clerk on. I had a supervisor that had come abroad and did not even know me. However, he listened to several people that did not like me and felt I should not be in the position I was in. He wrote me up based on a write up that was previously written to me when I was really sick. His write up was a mirror of the first one that I had been given. I was trained but not for as long as I was supposed to be trained for. I was not well both mentally and physically. But I gave it my best once I had gotten back on medications and I was feeling better. I was praised by the nurses I worked with and when asking my supervisor 3 weeks after his write up if I was doing better, he answered yes and sited where he had seen growth. Three days later I was fired based on a made up story that never happened. gunning for me. Mty typical day was answering non stop phones, setting up day surgery on a computer, making up packets of paperwork, checking in patients and greeting anyone that came to the wondow. There is many other duties that I did in a day but too many to list. The clinic was actually a 2 person office that was 1 person had to attempt to keep running smoothly and was not able to do so. My recommendation is that prospective really check out the unit you would be working on prior to accepting a position with Broadlawns. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice environment
Registered Nurse Team Leader-ED (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAOctober 3, 2013
Pros: free convenient employee parking
Cons: very political
Enjoyed patients and the excellent medical care provided.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
County Hospital
Utilization Management RN (Former Employee), Des Moines, IowaSeptember 4, 2013
Specialty care, outpatient surgical care, primary clinics, inpatient and outpatient mental health care and same day walk in clinic
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
LOVED this company!
Training Specialist (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJune 10, 2013
Pros: small organization, dedicated people, beautiful setting, cafeteria in the building, autonomy in my job
Cons: none that i can think of.
I was in my dream job at Broadlawns. I loved working with the new hires and patients that wanted to quit smoking. I thrived on the variety and challenges that my job entailed. The staff and management were, for the most part, focused on the mission of the organization and always looking for ways to improve.
If it hadn't been for the economic downturn, – more... I would still be there. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very exciting work environment
Patient Access Representative (Former Employee), Des Moines, IaJanuary 1, 2013
Pros: great healthcare
Cons: not being able to help some non residents since county hospital
Typical work day is fast paced always something new. I learned to care about patient needs, how to communicate with people on a different level, how to help people and in return thru staff and patients how much I could make a differance. Management and coworkers were reliable, friendly and helpful. Seeing people hurt or grieving over patients well being. – more... The most enjoyable part was helping others. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work for
Certified Medical Assistant (Current Employee), Des Moines,IADecember 3, 2012
Good coworkers and can have fun while working. The hardest is the amount of patients that dont speak English and handling the patients that get mad because they are denied pain meds.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Nurse (Current Employee), Des MoinesNovember 4, 2012
Pros: education re-embersment
I have worked at BMC for over 2 years now and have always enjoyed my job. There's always something new and interesting going on.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Place whould be shut down.
Medical Lab Technician (Former Employee), Des Moines, IAJuly 11, 2012
Pros: nothing is positive
Cons: too much to put in.
The staff is not great,poor performance, and no advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A lot of backstabbing
Tech (Former Employee), Des Moines, IowaFebruary 27, 2012
Pros: not all the people were bad
Cons: a lot of talking behind people's backs.
If you can handle the infighting this is the place for you. If you are not afaraid of gross human bi-product from surgery it might be the place for you.