Find companies:
Brookdale Senior Living Inc.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
261 reviews

Brookdale Senior Living Inc. Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management needs some help
LPN (Current Employee), Hockessin, DESeptember 18, 2014
Pros: free food, and trips
Cons: hour have been cut
Management needs to focus on the most important things first.
A routine from beginning to end when nothing crazy happens. Coworkers get along and work as a team. Hardest part of the job is when there are miscommunications.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Atlanta, GASeptember 13, 2014
A typical work day consists of performing maintenance work orders
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They had a good activity department
Rehabilitation Technician (Former Employee), The Villages, FLSeptember 11, 2014
Day started with getting therapist setup with patient's charts, then making sure the gym had all the supplies it needed. Next going around setting schedules up for patients to see Therapist for ADL.
I learned how to setup and maintain different types of equipment that would help patients do ADL.
Co-workers were great to work with, we were a team.
The – more... hardest part of this job was to convince patients to get up and live, and to go do therapy. Most hurt so badly.
Best part of this job was seeing patients finish their therapy and to be able to go home. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented
Maintenance Technician (Current Employee), Richboro, PAAugust 31, 2014
Pros: free lunch
Cons: management
We are are family but needs improvement in appreciating workers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fast pace work environment
Server (Former Employee), Lisle, ILAugust 29, 2014
Pros: met many new people and made lots of friends
Cons: dining room could have had some improvements in the way it was run
A typical day at work would be to arrive for each shift on time and memorize the featured menu items of the day. As soon as the dining room doors open we were to immediately begin to care for our tables and start them out with their soups and salads as well as take their dinner orders and place them in the kitchen. In between tables we were to help – more... to clear and set up other tables for business. Near the end of the shift we were to serve desert and then begin to clean up and set up for the next shift as well as to complete any side work. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
N/A
Shuttle Bus Driver (Former Employee), Niles, ILAugust 28, 2014
N/A

•a typical day at work
•what you learned
•management
•your co-workers
•the hardest part of the job
•the most enjoyable part of the job
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing retirement home, good management and a fun work environment.
Waitress/Server (Former Employee), Colorado Springs, COAugust 22, 2014
Everyday I would start out by doing some quick assigned chores before the seating started along with setting tables for my section. Once my section was ready I would go to the hostess stand and call residents by name and seat my first table, take orders, put orders in and get drinks. Then over the night more and more people would be seated in my section – more... and I would wait on them as well. At the end of every shift I would bus all my tables, clean my section and do some quick chores. My coworkers were very funny and made work much more tolerable. The hardest part of my job would be when we were short on waiters because we would all have to take on there section as well as our own. My absolute favorite was all of the residents because they were so nice and patient. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast and challenging work place
Resident Aide/CNA (Former Employee), McMinnville, ORAugust 22, 2014
Pros: the residents
Cons: the management.
I did not really enjoy working for Brookdale because of the management. I never got assistance on swing shift. i learned that patience is a big thing in this field. The management was not well at all, it seemed like they did not really know what they were doing and a lot of bad stuff started to go on and happen. The co-workers were nice, some of them – more... were a bit lazy. The hardest part would be if i needed help but could not get any, i had to come up with a different solution. Especially when they were two person transfers. The best thing was seeing the residents everyday and their smile. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brookdale Senior Living (Sterling House of Florence) is a premier facility that truly cares for the residents in all aspects of their lives.
Activities Coordinator (Current Employee), Florence, NJAugust 20, 2014
I come to work with the intention of enhancing the lives of the residents. It is a joy to work with them and find out what their concerns are and respond to their needs.
Doing activities with the seniors can be very rewarding; to see them respond with laughter and a certain sense of aliveness is what fuels my fire.
What I have learned about myself in – more... this new work is that, for me in my second career, I have discovered new skills that provide positive experiences for folks who yearn for meaning and purpose in their senior years. I count this as a privilege.
I have always enjoyed collaborating with others and being part of a team. I find the supportive environment at Brookdale a plus as I look for new ways to make their mission succeed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Brookdale Senior Living House Keeper (Current Employee), HousekeepingAugust 16, 2014
It is a great place and I need more income, I have learned a lot.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, organized, team oriented workplace
CNA/HHA (Former Employee), Vernon Hills, ILAugust 4, 2014
I assisted residents with all ADLs. I did charting as well as reporting to nurses and other RCA's that I worked with. I learned to have tougher skin for the more difficult residents and how to just jump right in and assist at the most confusing times. I enjoyed some management but they are not the best. There was barely any support when things were – more... mixed up in some of our more confusing situations. I loved my co-workers because we had to stick together to get the job done. We supported each other as much as possible. The hardest part of the job is the not so pleasant residents that were unhappy for many different reasons. The most enjoyable part was meeting new people and hearing some of their amazing life stories. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK Company to work for
Lead Certified Medication Aide (Former Employee), Edmond, OKJuly 30, 2014
Learn about patient care and different health care techniques
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Management and very professional staff
Speech-Language Pathologist (Current Employee), Dallas, TXJuly 27, 2014
Pros: staff really enjoy their jobs. no attitude
Cons: none that i can think of.
Enjoy my day at Brookdale. Enjoy the patients.

Have learned the ins and outs of home health patients.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Regional management team is very supportive and proactive in the success of the associates.
Executive Director (Current Employee), Boise, IDJuly 27, 2014
Pros: myraid of taining tools available
Cons: work/life balance
Diverse working environment, residents keep you on your toes, outstanding team work, hard work balanced with fun.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor place to work
Personal Living Assistant (Current Employee), Cypress Village, Jacksonville, FloridaJuly 19, 2014
Pros: the family atmosphere that is available to dedicated, responsible employees.
Cons: strong mismanagement, overpriced.
If you love low wages, lousy schedules, and constantly changing staffs then this is the place for you. I have been there almost two years and have never seen anything like it. I don't know how they keep it running. Our department is in constant flux and often cannot offer enough hours to their staff. Up to recently, we did not even have a break room. – more... I work a split shift. I work with Alzheimer and stroke patients and am very unpaid for their constant care. There is no retirement plan and they expect you to make your own on matching funds. The raises are lousy. I have seen numerous employees on all levels come in for a short time and leave within a few months. Many of my co-workers have left for unhappiness with their job, especially because they cannot provided them with enough hours. They schedule clients one on top of the other so you never get the full amount of time you are paying for. The other departments are a total mess and cannot provide the services expected of them, I know this through personal experience trying to get care for my residents. What's worse is that many of the residents are far overpaying for living there and are very unhappy with their experiences. Hardest part for me is to watch them put up with such poor quality since this company is supposedly number one in the field. The most enjoyable part of my job is working directly with them daily to ensure the highest life quality I can provide for them. I would highly recommend shopping around thoroughly before you come to live at one of the Brookdale facilities. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brookdale
Lead Resident Assistant (Current Employee), Owatonna, MNJuly 17, 2014
Pros: getting to know families, being able to make a difference in someone's day.
Cons: no pay increases.
I work in a secured memory care house. I enjoy working with memory care. I assisted with 5-7 residents in a house with 26 beds. The most hardest part of the job would have to be seeing the residents confused through out the day and not having the correct words to always comfort them. I handle behaviors almost daily with some residents and I have learned – more... to be patient with assisting residents with daily activities. I love being there for the residents on a daily basis. Knowing that even though they are confused and unsure about what is going on around, knowing that I am there to help me that see that smile or even have a small conversation with them makes up for the hard times through out the shift. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful caregivers and residents
Community Liaison (Former Employee), Tucson, AZJuly 15, 2014
Pros: caregivers and residents
Cons: no cons great communities
Touring families explained features and benefits, Marketing hospitals, worked well with Hospice, Home Health. Great and beautiful community
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work as part of a team and build lasting relationships with coworkers and residents
Server, Host, Line/Prep Cook, Busser, Dishwasher (Former Employee), Menifee, CAJuly 11, 2014
Pros: willing to work with college students' school schedules, free lunch, friendly coworkers and community residents
Cons: relatively low pay
Brookdale Senior Living is a great place to develop skills in dining services as well as work as part of team in which every position is important. I worked there for 7 years and worked in almost every position available in the dining room and kitchen.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun friendly office environment
Payroll Specialist (Former Employee), Chicago, ILJuly 7, 2014
Pros: office environment
Cons: moved to milwaukee
This company closed most of its Chicago operations and moved them to Milwaukee, WI.
Chicago office was a very friendly productive place to work. There was a lot of work to get done but it was manageable.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible!
Dining Room Manager (Former Employee), Charlotte, NCJuly 3, 2014
Pros: beautiful campus
Cons: see above.
I worked for Brookdale Senior Living the entire time I was a manager for them, however Brookdale "culture" wasn't fully in place until about three months before I turned in my resignation.

Brookdale Senior Living, rated the 5th worst place to work for, should be number 1. Starting with the treatment of residents. Brookdale "culture" is code for, profit. – more... So, if profit isn't being made, the resident suffers so the stock holders are left flush.

Under our previous culture, residents were treated to fantastic meals and could even submit their own recipes, something that really intertwined our entire campus, staff and residents alike. I was able to hold meetings, and manage the dining room in a restaurant style manner, as this was our goal. At rates starting at $3,800 a month and constantly increasing, I think that this type of treatment was what was expected at those rates. Each staff member in the Dining Room had the ability to get to know the resident and his or her preferences. Residents were constantly complimentary on how great the food and service was.

When Brookdale "Senior Solutions" came in, I became not only a working manager (ie, doing hourly jobs and going beyond my actual job responsibilities), but I was then made to cut 35% of my staff, offer less food choices, implement often times confusing management polices, and than constantly switching things around because our corporate leaders weren't happy with the policies they would make me put in place.

After several months of low staff morale, angered residents, and a general feeling of "we" weren't doing a good job; I turned in my resignation. There were many times where our Brookdalien (our "Brookdale Pro-Temp", someone who stays a week and changes everything and then leaves so the next person can come and change it again) would come into my office and talk about how "stupid" my staff members were. Not something I would tolerate from anyone about anyone else; I took pride on hiring bussers and cleaning people who had handicaps, so this was not something to bring to me in such a manner.

My reputation as one the best managers on campus, was quickly being ruined by things that were out of my control. I always met my numbers and always kept a good report with my managers.
"Brookdale Senior Solutions" was very surprised by me leaving, 6 months later I got a call to go back, as all the staff that they hired in replacement of other staff in my previous department, were terminated. You can probably guess what my answer was. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Brookdale Senior Living Inc.

Over the brook, and through the dale to grandmother's house we go! Brookdale Senior Living operates assisted and independent living – Read more

Brookdale Senior Living Inc. Photos