Find companies:
Brookhaven Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
44 reviews

Brookhaven Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Compassionate Atmosphere Saving Lives
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), 101 Hospital Rd Patchogue NyJanuary 30, 2015
Pros: having the opportunity to help someone who couldnt help themself.
Cons: none at all
From 1992 till 2006 I worked as a Certified Nursing assistant where I had the opportunity to meet, help and love so many patients who made a difference in my life. Every day , all the time, no matter what was going on outside of work, all my patients received top of the line care with my love. No matter how short staffed the hospital was , my Care was never shorted. My attitude and work ethics always remained NY standards and requirements as well as My behavior and attitude always Maintained My true character, which is kindness, empathetic, compassionate, calm, understanding, gentle, loving, caring and always spoke to everyone with a soft spoken loving tone. Team player is my middle name.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Hospital
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYJanuary 27, 2015
Pros: help pay for school
Cons: too many cheif's not enough indian's.
This is a good place to work. Many advancements, cultural diversity, help with educational advancement. Too many chief's not enough Indians!! They would be a better rating if they didn't have so many bosses. There is not enough employees compared to all the bosses! Their nurse huddles are repetitive, boring, and demeaning to their employees. They don't appreciate good help when they have it. So they lose the good employees to others.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoy working at Brookhaven because there is a strong sense of community.
Nurse Aide (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYDecember 4, 2014
Pros: making a difference by caring for your patient and the comradery you share with your co workers.
Cons: understaffed
I work in the float pool, every day is different, and I enjoy that because it keeps me on my toes.
I've learned to care for the patient overall, compassion, and patient centered care.
Management. There is a lot of favoritism, and micro managing toward the wrong things.
Overall I love my co workers, they are my second family.
The hardest part of my job is when we are understaffed, we are unable to care for our patients properly and it can become dangerous.
Most enjoyable part of my job is making a difference to the patient, when you made their day a little better by caring for them, and them showing you how thankful they are for you.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its a job
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYOctober 24, 2014
It was a good paycheck and I liked the people that I worked with. It was a very demanding job with not a lot of praise.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
provided a great environment to learn and enhance my skills
INTENSIVE CARE REGISTERED NURSE (Current Employee), East Patchogue, NYOctober 14, 2014
grew a lot in my experiences with the critically ill patient.
Co-workers were great to work with and very helpful.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
people person
BEHAVIORAL HEALTH TECH/MENTAL HEALTH TECH (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKSeptember 9, 2014
working with the dupable can be challenging but the set up makes it rather easy and more enjoyiable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My achievements
Nurse Assistant (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYSeptember 1, 2014
Working at Brookhaven bring me more experience , help me to be more responsible , independent and patient.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Activities Coordinator (Former Employee), Tulsa, OKAugust 14, 2014
Quickly and fully executed leasing strategies and directives to ensure proper presentation, pricing, and promotional activity
• Toured market ready units and qualified prospects; determined needs, motived clients, and demonstrated ability to rent
• Implemented necessary marketing plans to drive prospect traffic and accepted applications for residency and submitted completed paperwork
• Collected deposits and informed tenants of deposit policies and completed all move-in details
• Contacted residents 60 days prior to lease expiration and initiated renewals with timely and accurate reporting
• Established friendly and helpful working relationships with residents to gain their loyalty and additional marketing through referrals
• Properly executed company performance guidelines and executed promotional and markdown activities on a timely basis in accordance to Company guidelines and directives
• Ensured that highest levels of cleanliness, neatness and sanitation standards where met in all departments within the property, including storage areas, offices and restrooms
• Ensured compliance with all Local, State and Federal employment laws, including wage and hour, breaks, human rights and equal employment opportunities while ensuring safe working conditions for employees and residents.
• Quickly and fully implemented directives from Company staff and corporate headquarters
• Maintained regular and consistent attendance and punctuality to ensure all essential duties are fulfilled to satisfactory level and other duties assigned as needed
• Excellent understanding of sales process; proven track record in leasing and/or sales with professional image; with great organizational skills
• Team player with excellent leadership, supervisory, analytical and reasoning skills
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great foot-in-the-door job
Team Assistant, Home Care Department (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYAugust 1, 2014
• Place orders for medical supplies: Wound Care, Wound Vac, DME, Oxygen
• Place orders for Home Care supplies stock and create invoices
• Place orders for lab work
• Prepare and process payroll for Fee-For-Service nurses and therapists
• Assist supervisor with all scheduling
• Make referrals for PT, OT, ST, MSW, NT
• Facilitate phone calls- high volume
• Prepare admission charts
• Serve as a liaison between DME companies and Brookhaven Home Care
• Obtain insurance authorizations and assist in reimbursement services resolving visit discrepancies and billing related issues
• Intake: the interdisciplinary homecare referral process
• Cross-trained in all department clerical functions
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Hospital
Executive Secretary (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYJune 14, 2014
Pros: learning from the nurses
Cons: not enough staff at night
A typical night at work is helping the nurses and doctors function on a timely basis by making sure that the patients information is entered in correctly that consists of tests, scans or x-rays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital Review
Patient Access Associate (Former Employee), patchogue nyApril 1, 2014
Pros: working with amazing people
Cons: working every holiday
A typical day working in brookhaven hospital consisted of registering patients including trauma patients. The hardest part of this job was defiantly dealing with the trauma patients that came in from house fires to suicides to car accidents. I loved working here. The people were amazing and great to work with
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Patchogue - Master Electrician (Current Employee), Patchouge, west mainFebruary 7, 2014
Pros: stress free environment
Cons: none really, i can handle anything thrown at me
Good people, like working with patients.
sometimes slow but create my own work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
active hands on and great experience in central transporting
CENTRAL TRANSPORTER (Former Employee), Brookhaven, NYJanuary 28, 2014
Pros: interacting with patients
Cons: not enough over time
Responsibilities
Escorts or transports patients within hospital or other medical facility.
Determines patient name, destination, mode of travel, time, and other data, following written or oral instructions.
Assists patient in walking to prevent accidents by falling, or transports nonambulatory patient, using wheelchair.
Transports patient, alone or with assistance, in bed, wheeled cart, or wheelchair to designated areas within facility during patient stay.
Patient confidentiality with there personal information at all times.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work at
Dietary (Former Employee), Brookhaven,NYJanuary 24, 2014
Pros: benefits, pay, environment
Cons: n/a
you have great coworkers and its a good working environment. you learn something everyday from your coworks and patients
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK
Unit Secretary / P.D (Current Employee), patchogue, new yorkJanuary 9, 2014
Pros: discounted lunch
Cons: no hours time available
OK place to work. Enjoy patient interaction and job responsibilities.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience
Internal Medicine, Three-month externship (Former Employee), Brookhaven, NYNovember 27, 2013
Presented patients to attending.
Give talks and lectures to residents on a specific medical topic.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and a nice place to work
Phlebotomist/ EKG (Former Employee), Medford, NYNovember 20, 2013
Pros: good benifits
Cons: have to work some holidays
working here was a great experience and was willing to stay but they had no f/t position for me.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace environment
Environmental Service Worker (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYOctober 30, 2013
The best part of my job is far and away the people I work with. They are genuinely good people and many are my closest friends.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting place, needs better management
Mental Health Technician (Current Employee), Tulsa OkOctober 28, 2013
Pros: steady, feels like family with coworkers
Cons: less pay and poor benefits
I have enjoyed my time at Brookhaven Hospital, but would like the opportunity to advance and obtain better benefits. There are good people that work in the administration office but need better communication when it comes to management
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do NOT work there.
CNA (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYOctober 8, 2013
Cons: no union for cna's.
Horrible Management, Always short staffed, Too many patient load. All they care about is HCAPS. Floor Managers are unprofessional, do not how to appropriately speak to employees. Employee's are tired of being treated like dirt.

Don't waist your time applying there.

1 2 3

About Brookhaven Memorial Hospital

Brookhaven Memorial Hospital Medical Center is an acute-care facility with more than 300 beds that serves patients primarily in – Read more