Find companies:
Brookhaven Memorial Hospital
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
36 reviews

Brookhaven Memorial Hospital Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional Environment
Echosonographer (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYApril 7, 2013
Brookhaven Memorial Hospital is a community based hospital, both in that it serves the community it is a part of and that a majority of the employees are from the community; this creates a friendly and professional work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Corrupt "not for profit" hospital where you're treated like dirt
Staff Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYMarch 25, 2013
Cons: read above
The worst place to work. Youre job is constantly in jeopardy. Any write up is grounds for termination. If any of their "clientele" complains about you (and the clientele is mostly alchoholics and drug addicts with very bad attitudes), their side is immediately taken. The ICU's are disgusting. Literally. Most surgical cases end up septic and rot away – more... and die there. The patients are disgusting. The management treats you like peons. – less

May 12, 2013

it was summed up perfectly and truthfully although I would have been more delicate. I worked there as an Rn for over 20 years and everything that was said is DEFINITELY true.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
5 year HBO Tech , Good team , poor management
Safety Director/Hyperbaric Tech (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYMarch 10, 2013
Pros: fun and friendly work environment, learned a lot.
Cons: miss my co-workers
Worked there for 5 years , great staff,doctors,and patients care was rewarding . Management kind of went down hill through the years , but a lot stress on them too. Best Doctors and nurses ever , caring 100%.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for Brookhaven Hospital
Medical Transcriptionist (Former Employee), Long Island, NYDecember 27, 2012
I worked from home but did not know anyone personally but I love the doctors. Their dictation was so easy to transcribe and they were for the most part very clear. I only spoke with one person in the Medical Records Department and she was great. She helped me out when there was an issue with one of the docs or just a word that I had a problem with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Way too top heavy!!
best employee (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYDecember 12, 2012
Pros: benefits and coworkers
Cons: administration, understaffed, pay
The benefits were great and the staff was amazing!! If you want to be treated with disrespect and belittled than this is the place for you. Typical day was filled with anxiety and nervousness thinking to yourself, what are they going to complain about today. Wasnt worth it, there constantly changing policy to fit their needs and there such a lack of – more... communication. Never understood how people with no clinical background can be where there at. STAY AWAY!! – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration clueless!!
former employee (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYDecember 10, 2012
Pros: staff and benefits
Cons: management, administration and human resources
Loved my co-workers and patients. The benefits were excellent. Problem with brookhaven is its way too top heavy. Place is run by a bunch of clueless individuals with no clinical experience and think they can run a hospital. Stay away unless you want to work for a company where you get totally disrespected and taken advantage of.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here if you want respect and job security
Rn (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYNovember 25, 2012
Pros: feeling good when you have time to actually do your job.
Cons: overworked, under appreciated and then kicked out the door after years of service.
A typical day was understaffed and putting patients at risk with management demands. Place is top heavy. Not nearly enough indians.
What I learned is there is no such thing has job security.
If it wasn't for the patients and co-workers I probably would have left long ago.
The hardest part of the job was trying to do your job as best you can with no – more... support from management. I was a good worker and that wasn't enough.
The most enjoyable part of my job was patient satisfaction. Although management was making that even harder with limited staff and high acuity of patients. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not work here
CNA then RN (Former Employee), Patchogue NYOctober 22, 2012
Pros: 12 hour shifts
This place is cut throat. Upper management is too heavy. I worked in the ED for 8 years. Short staffed all the time. Over worked. 30 plus admissions holding in the ER while they shut down med surg units. Patient outcome and experience suffer the most. No matter how efficient you are, the work Load proves unbearable. Management engages in scare tactics – more... and you feel like your job is always in jeopardy. DO NOT WORK HERE. Your license is at stake – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and enjoyable place to work
Mammography Technologist (Former Employee), East Patchogue, NYOctober 1, 2012
Pros: friendly co-workers
My most enjoyable part of my job is when I can talk a patient into having her mammography exam and at the end of the exam she says thats it ? :) I will be back next year.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job, one best and easy job.
Unit Secretary (Current Employee), E Patchogue, NYAugust 8, 2012
Cons: short breaks
My Day starts by seeing where im going to be in the area of hopsital. then when i find out go get report by the night or day shift Unit Secretary. after that I make Rounds just to make sure if I have the same open room or full room. Then when I'm done with that. im mostly answer the phone, Take attendes for my co-workers. after Im done with that if – more... I get a new Patient I take care of there Chart to be fix, put any Orders in the computer if needed. them getting the Patient Admitting to my floor Censes. than when Im not that busy I take care ordering things, getting rooms clean. and this is just a bit of the things I do at My job. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Emergency Room
ER-Nursing Assistant (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYJuly 8, 2012
Pros: a wide range of opportunities to learn and expand my knowledge
Cons: short staff, overpopulating
As a Nurse Aide in a Level 1 Trauma Center I've learned various skills such as the care of very critical patients, the care of telemetry patients and ventilated patients. I have also learned many assessment skills on a wide range of patients. During my time at Brookhaven I have also learned to work under stress as well as working at a fast pace while – more... being efficient at the sametime. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent nurses terrible management no support for the patient and family.
Registered Nurse (Former Employee), Patchogue, NYJune 18, 2012
I was hired for the emergency room I came to Brookhaven with many years experience as both charge and staff nurse in the ED. What I realized early on at Brookhaven is that no matter how busy or how hard your day can be you only have yourself and your skills to depend on. I worked hard to show my fellow employees a better way of working together in order – more... to benefit patient, family and also us as a whole. I worked with a lot of new graduates who did not have the experience nor the skills to function to their best but I always encouraged and took time to teach. I love with the utmost respect my profession and I know all of my experiences have brought me to the point that I am at in both my professional and personnel life. At the end of the day my most enjoyable part of my job is simple caring for another who is in need. I pride myself on what I have learned and experienced and can only look forward to continue to grow in my profession. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Phlebotomist (Current Employee), Pathogue, NYMarch 29, 2012
I typically draw blood from in-patients in the hospital the whole shift. My co-workers are fun to get along with, we are always in a good mood no matter the day. I have learned how to better manage my time and multi-task between a variety of different situations. The hardest part of the job is encountering a patient who is not happy for some reason, – more... and sometimes we as employees can take the brunt of their frustration. The most enjoyable part of the job is when I receive compliments from patients about my ability to do my job well, and my happy disposition. – less

January 24, 2013

Hi! I read your review regarding employment at Brookhaven. I am originally from NY but now reside in Florida. I am very familiar with Long Island having lived there many years. Anyway my question to you is: I am currently contemplating going back to school to become a phlebotomist. I would like to ask you a kindness and respond back telling me of your job--I mean the rewards(not monetary) is it a good job for an older person? I am 55. I would love to hear back from you. Thank you so much!

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pleasant work environment; supportive fellow employees and VP of Development
Coordinator of Special Events (Current Employee), Patchogue, NYJanuary 1, 2012
Pros: excellent benefits, good work environment
Cons: compensation incentives, advancement opportunities limited
The Office of Development and External Relations is an exceptionally supportive group of individuals who provide input and support to each other in their various roles as ambassadors for the Medical Center. The VP of Development is generally a good person to work for. In my dealings with them, the clinical staff has been helpful and supportive of my – more... events and fund-raising initiatives. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Admitting Clerk (Former Employee), Brookhaven, NYDecember 29, 2011
Pros: discount lunches
Cons: have to stay if someone doesn't come in
There was definitely a team work environment. The supervisors were understanding and willing to adjust schedules for future time off needed.

About Brookhaven Memorial Hospital

Brookhaven Memorial Hospital Medical Center is an acute-care facility with more than 300 beds that serves patients primarily in – Read more