Brooklyn Hospital Center Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and comming together in celebrations
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 4, 2017
i would like to work with God fearing people that is plesant,friendly,kind,and hard working also having fun times on holiday sesons with many different dishes.
Pros
i learned to work in different areas
Cons
bad managments
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Understaffed hospital, lack of resources, economic instability
SENIOR DIRECTOR CRITICAL CARE (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 1, 2017
Each day began with listening to report and examining where to place patients holding in the ED and determining what staff could be re-allocated or called in. The hospital had problems with their suppliers due to lack of payments to suppliers. I think management was trying to do all they could but they needed an infusion of money. Prior to current management there were unethical practices occurring in key areas which resulted in prior hospital going bankrupt. Equipment was very old and badly maintained. All these factors caused my risk management barometer to rise.
Pros
dedication of staff
Cons
lack of resources
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team is essential
Patient Care Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 22, 2017
We worked as a team we communicate as a team. it provided alot of opportunity for growth. From management to the worker everyone was friendly with one another.
Pros
loved working with the staff and learned alot
Cons
temporary
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace
Volunteer (Current Employee) –  New York, NYSeptember 21, 2017
I learned to improve my English. I enjoyed going there even if its part time. Recommand this place for people. Productive workplace, teamwork. I would like to have Health and life insurance.
Pros
Team work
Cons
Health
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive but short staff
Medical Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 29, 2017
A typical day at Brooklyn Hospital employee works at a high pace but efficiently everything gets done.Building relationships with patients is our priority by providing them the most efficient quality healthcare.
Pros
free lunch for patients
Cons
short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
they did cultural lunch with the workers.
TECHNICAL ASSISTANT (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYAugust 26, 2017
a day in the brooklyn hospital is taking care of patient that come to take they examations..
what a learn is to have a lot of patience with people that are sick
management is very helpful with yours needs
the hardes is with patients that are very very sick
when you see a patient that got much much better with your help...
Pros
same times we got free lunch..
Cons
yes we got short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cut throat/political
Security Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 19, 2017
IF you plan on staying in a union while working at this location then you should not have a problem, however once you step outside the union be ready to defend your job. The perception at this place is that management is doing there job if the fire people that make a mistake regardless of how significant or insignificant the mistake is.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work
Billing Coordinator of the Pediatrics Department (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJuly 9, 2017
Working for brooklyn hospital for 8 years was a good experience.The people you deal with on a daily basis is what help make your day, also the doctor is very friendly and supportive.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A very nice place to work. But staffing is an issue.
STAFF RESPIRATORY THERAPIST (Current Employee) –  121 Dekalb ave Brooklyn NY 11201July 8, 2017
A very nice place to work. But staffing is an issue. I have worked at this hospital for a long time but staffing was always an issue. If staffing wasn't an issue it would be a great place to work.
Pros
12 hour shifts
Cons
heavy work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work environment
Program Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYJune 19, 2017
Fun place to work, however some staff can be very mean at times. My purpose everyday is to serve my clients, making sure that their needs are being met.
Pros
finish work on time
Cons
good health benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun workplace
Phlebotomist/Medical Assistant Intern (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYApril 17, 2017
the nurse at my department are kind and good at the job, all my stay at the center was not wasteful, my supervisor is the best. learning is always a priority.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
break
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No fun
Ambulatory Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 7, 2017
It seems you are penalized for having experience and having a voice. If you are not a favorite among management you're a trouble maker. Moral is extremely low.
Pros
Helping the patients is motivating
Cons
Penalty for being a seasoned employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Disorganized and Unprofessional
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 14, 2017
This hospital had a two week training program but was not an informative orientation. Some floor nurses were bullies to new grads and the orientation with a preceptor lasted for two months or so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is never a dull day at work
Patient Care Technician (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 27, 2016
There is always something going on that your day go by so fast. The working environment was safe and clean. Your co workers help you out when they can
Pros
Your day is never boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYDecember 20, 2016
I enjoyed working at the Family Program.Coworkers were helpful.The hardest part of the job was when a patients expired.The most enjoyable part of the job was seeing patients viral load decrease after taking antiretrovirals properly.
Pros
Free lunches
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional work enviorment
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYMarch 11, 2016
co worker were professional.
provided me with some office, and clerical experience
enjoyed the time spent there
learner excellent organization skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Medical Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 23, 2015
The environment is good, need to know how to do the job. The Co-Workers are little intense but mean well. overall good place to work.
Pros
good lunches
Cons
staff not always nice
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a nice place to work
Credentials Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYNovember 4, 2015
Co-Workers were social and helpful. It is easy to get to. I definitely enjoyed working here. Work load kept me busy therefore the day went by quickly. the atmosphere was pleasant and everyone worked as a team.
Pros
good place to work
Cons
lunch was to early
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Medical Assistant (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYOctober 1, 2015
a typical day here started with cleaning and ended with cleaning. Cleaned the procedure areas before the patients arrived and cleaned up after closing time. I learned that this job is what I want to do for the rest of my life. The management was awesome and helpful as well as the co-workers worked as one unit. THe most enjoyable part of the job was being in a setting where you helped take care of patients on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lot of empty promises
managment (Former Employee) –  Brooklyn, NYFebruary 24, 2015
Brought in to help make changes, the first changes they made was to replace me. State they want to turn things around, but when things started heating up, they turn their tails.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brooklyn Hospital Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 34 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.5
Compensation/Benefits
3.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.2
Management
3.2
Culture
3.5

Brooklyn Hospital Center Reviews by Location