Brooks Automation Employee Reviews

Found 44 reviews matching the search
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the worst places I've ever worked
Lead IT Administrator (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MANovember 10, 2016
No sense of urgency or customer service in the entire place. Antiquated technologies with no vision on upgrading. I would never recommend anyone to this place.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place, people there are very helpful, and friendly
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAJuly 18, 2016
I love having my own work place to keep all my things organized and all of my belongings. I like the fact that I also had people around my cube too incase I needed any help. Working there was great and fun. Once I finished my trainer the work didn't seem so much like work. I liked the fact that I looked forward to go into work.
Pros
Free coffee and tea and hot chocolate
Cons
lunch room was pretty far
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract to update PCs
Helpdesk technician (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAJune 1, 2016
My contract came down to me finding a method to update hundreds of desktop PCs being used with production equipment. Exceeded expectations. They planned for 3-5 to be updated per day, ended up updating 7-10.
Pros
good team
Cons
abrupt end to contract despite direct supervisor wanting to keep me
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Assembler/Technician (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAMay 18, 2016
Fun atmosphere work kept you busy overall a good environment to get the job done. Liked the hours and flexibility. Had a nice outting once a year for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brooks automation
Software Quality Assurance Engineer (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAMay 13, 2016
Pro: Not very stressed working environment
Con: communication between employee and upper management is completely broken
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Luck
Technician I (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COApril 28, 2016
There is no documentation or SOP's in order. The good old boy club set of mind. Nothing more to say, but the manager is a wonderful guy !
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lacks Innovation
TECHNICAL SUPPORT ENGINEER IV - VACUUM PRODUCTS (Former Employee) –  Fremont, CAApril 14, 2016
There are so many highly talented individuals that are being underutilized and so few meaningful development projects of any kind.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Things went down hill as soon as the pruchased Nexus Biosystems.
Manufacturing (Former Employee) –  Poway, CAApril 13, 2016
Treated as nothing more than a cog in the machine. Work was foremost on the managements mind. There was very little home / work balance in this company. often forced to work weekends and holidays without any regard for employee's..
Was this review helpful?Yes1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very dynamic manufacturing / production environment
Buyer/Planner (Former Employee) –  Poway, CAFebruary 2, 2016
excellent work place, the most enjoyable part of the job was been able to work as a team with many other sites of business all around the world
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for Engineers
electrical engineer (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAJanuary 22, 2016
Many of the people were great to work with. They seemed to care about the company and where they were headed.
I think that the company not only presented a learning environment but also has potential for being even better.
Pros
Flexibility, available equipment, people
Cons
outsourcing engineering work, watching the company get leeched for money by the outsourcing company
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brooks Automation
Systems Architect/Developer (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAOctober 13, 2015
Typical corporate environment. lots of freedom to complete assignments within given time lines. Professional culture, you're not micro managed, I can only speak for IT org.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the work was very rewarding
Accounts Payable Coordinator III (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAAugust 27, 2015
Processed invoices, expense reports, wires. I learned a lot of special projects and the testing of Sarbanes-Oxley. Great people to work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Having fun and good people
Mechanical Design Engineer (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAAugust 10, 2015
Good place to work and have fun. You will learn a lot of new thinks. People are really open giving you any professional information you need.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Had great co-workers over the years
Materials Coordinator III (Former Employee) –  Spokane, WAJune 8, 2015
Mundane day to day routine activities.
Little to no on the job training.
GREAT co-workers.
Not enough support from corporate.
CO-WORKERS
Pros
Great Co-workers
Cons
not enough support from coorporate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to expand one's horizons and have a friendly enviorment
Quality Control Inspector R&D Technical (Current Employee) –  Petaluma, CAMay 19, 2015
Company took care of employee's but lacked in the means of ways company was moving forward and progressing. Job skills were easy to obtain and even easier to loose. Would work with again if I had a chance and had a gradfathered contract with company
Pros
Employee's, work moral
Cons
job security, job advancements
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive in Work Place
Final Inspection/Assembler (Former Employee) –  Petaluma, CAMay 5, 2015
Working hard for the company.
Learn a lot of things in Assembly of electronics mechanical system.
The management well organized.
All my co-worker cooperate each other as a team.
No hardest part of the Job.
The enjoyable part of the job helping each other in time we experience a system problem.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn and work
Mechanical engineer (Former Employee) –  Chelmsford, MAApril 29, 2015
Overall was a great place to work, lots of different projects. I learned a lot as part of there engineering team. The only downfall was that the management direction kept changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people
Materials Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Poway, CAApril 28, 2015
Company moved due to corporate management giving up on the Poway location and transferring operations to Massachusetts
Pros
Good skilled people
Cons
Many contractors - don't hire full time
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was one job that I absolutely loved!
Field Service Engineer III (Former Employee) –  Austin TXMarch 26, 2015
Working for customers on site, repairing equipment and keeping their facility going.

I learned about so many different types of robotics, sensor applications and automation systems.

Management I think was average.

Coworkers were good. Most of us had technical backgrounds.

The most enjoyable part was personal satisfaction and getting good feedback from the customer contacts.
Pros
Loved the challenge. I felt like a valuable part of the team.
Cons
Got stuck in a position where I trained the customer to the point they no longer needed my services.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun people and interesting perks
Shipping and Receiving Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Poway, CAJanuary 20, 2015
This company normal benefits are ok but it has a lot of unusual perks that I have not normally seen at a company. Coworkers like to grab drinks and hang out a bit and are friendly overall.

Management went from good to bad, new managers came in that pushed for product to go out though sacrificed quality and did not understand a global perspective when understanding logistics.
Pros
Company events and benefits
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1Report

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brooks Automation. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 47 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.7
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
2.7
Management
3.1
Culture
3.4