Find companies:
Brookstone
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
201 reviews

Brookstone Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay.
Second Assistant Manager PT (Current Employee), Florida, South.August 16, 2014
Pros: fun, great atmosphere, simple enough work.
Cons: pay, advancement.
It's a fun enough job. Just don't expect to be paid very well.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Sales Associate (Current Employee), City of Sunrise, FLAugust 10, 2014
Pros: great benefits, great bonuses
Cons: cant get massages in chairs while working
very cool and fun store to work at. the employees are team members they help one another. I love working for this company
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, but lots of downtime
Manager (Current Employee), Sherman OaksAugust 8, 2014
Pros: bonuses for meeting sales goals, large bonuses for higher priced items, employee discounts
Cons: too much downtime, no 401k match, corporate is all about numbers and does not understand the store ops
Great place to work because you meet new people every day and build the relationship,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Sales (Former Employee), Vero Beach, FLAugust 7, 2014
The people and products were great. Too bad my store shut down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good
Seasonal Sales Associate (Former Employee), San Diego, CAAugust 6, 2014
it was good, had to do a lot of over time for other co workers not showing up.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun work place
Retail Salesperson (Former Employee), Norfolk, VAJuly 24, 2014
I enjoyed learning about different appliances and how much people appreciated a knowledgeable associate. the management took me on as a newcomer and welcomed me with open arms. the hardest part of the job for me was obtaining a lot of information about a lot of items I've never seen before, let alone used. For me the best part of my job was interacting – more... wit people from all over the world. Talking to people from other countries and them telling me how much they loved visiting my store was awesome. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work but not a good place to stay
Assistant manager (Current Employee), Lake Grove, NYJuly 22, 2014
Pros: geting to play with the new gadgets
Cons: low pay, lack of costomers and a very agressive view on selling
Lots of down time waiting for people to come into the store to help. Not much was learned from standing around waiting. Depending on the manager who you are working with you can either enjoy your day and it moves fast or it drags on. there are relatively few co-worker moments since they never seem to want to have sales people working together. the hardest – more... part of the job was waiting for something to do and all the closing shifts. the best part of the job was getting to play with all the new technology and gear that was we received. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible, inexperienced management with no room for advancement
Human Resources (Former Employee), Merrimack, NHJuly 18, 2014
Pros: healthcare, cafeteria, product giveaways
Cons: management, lack of training, lack of advancement, very low pay, etc.
In my opinion, Brookstone was not a good place to work. Management was inexperienced and under qualified which left subordinates to run the department. Instead of promoting from within, new management would be hired from the outside, and the lower paying employees would then have to train the management, very backwards mentality. Training was bare minimum – more... and salary was way below industry standards and not enough to meet the standard of living. There was no room for advancement and the extent of disciplinary action was to ignore a situation instead of addressing it. The only positives of working there were: the building was clean and tidy, there were Company events that were fun and the benefits were decent. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cool Store
Store/Sales Manager (Former Employee), Atlanta, GAJuly 15, 2014
Pros: ever changing technology
Cons: holiday hours
Loved working for this company. Great cool gadgets to play with and great time with the Customers
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast pace and lack of diversity
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Boston, MAJuly 12, 2014
Pros: no pros
Cons: low pay, no training, lack of diversity
fast pace and lack of diversity
Management is fine; however, if one of your coworker takes off the shift, your schedule got messed up.
Moreover, they don't provide training.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Day at work
Sales Associate Supervisor (Current Employee), Trumbull, CTJuly 1, 2014
Pros: overtimes and incentives
Cons: hard to move up
.Pretty relaxed environment, nice co workers and easy to sell things.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Always something new and exciting
Second Assistant Manager (Former Employee), King of Prussia, PAJune 26, 2014
A great place to work and grow. Learn how to manage by leading and leading by example.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun workplace
Atlantic City, Pier, First Assistant manager (Former Employee), new jersey atlantic cityJune 18, 2014
Pros: full benefits affordable pto
Cons: not easy to take a vacation small team
Its a great company that definitely allows you to grow.
Great training program allows everyone to develop skills that will help them became professionals in what they do.
The company sells unique gift, customers are always pleased to visit the stores and to enjoy the most advanced technology games, electronics, massagers etc
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun but didn't work much
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Albuquerque, NMJune 16, 2014
This was only a seasonal job but the manager made it seem like they would keep me on as a full on employee going into the next work year. Enjoyed my co-workers. They were very welcoming.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never the same day twice.
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Plano, TXJune 16, 2014
I liked this job because no two days were ever the same. Some days I was cleaning the store rather than selling products or vice versa. Most of the days I was marketing a big ticket item for promotion. The staff liked to have fun when the time was appropriate.
The hardest part of this job, and the part I did not care for was carrying large items such – more... as hammocks out to peoples' car. Overall, I learned a lot from my coworkers and working there, and used the knowledge I gained. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unique work enviornment where you have the opportunity to meet lots of interesting people and network.
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Wauwatosa, WIMay 31, 2014
Pros: easy work, great wage, great place to meet interesting people and network
Cons: no benefits, lots of down time, not enough hours.
I love Brookstone. I love working for Brookstone. If you have the necessary skill set to perform on the sales floor and constantly meet and exceed sales goals then it is a great job! My biggest problem is the lack of hours I receive as a second assistant manager. When coming on I was told that I would receive a minimum of 25-30 hours per week. Untrue. – more... There are weeks I will work 10 and 15 hours. more often than not I get 22 but I rarely see a 30 hour work week. No benefits of course. I literally obliterate the sales floor and have never missed a sales goal for any month of sales since I have been working there. I out-perform the management that I answer to. I have regular customers and I perform operational tasks without being prompted. I always take initiative. None of this matters however because there is no room for advancement. This is the only Brookstone in Wisconsin and they refuse to have just one second assistant manager in this location. If they had just one instead of two then they may be able to solidify someone in this slot long-term. The position remains a revolving door because it simply boils down to the fact that a person just cannot make a living there. There is also lots of down time in which you won't see much traffic in the store even if the mall is packed. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
For Brookstone
Sales associate (Former Employee), San Jose, CAMay 30, 2014
Pros: converse with people, sell items
Cons: short breaks, mall environment, parking
I Was hired at Brookstone for a seasonal position over the holidays last year. I started working there in November and stopped on the first of January. Most of my shifts were busy. Brookstone is a unique store with a lot of cool gadgets so we get a steady flow of traffic. The management was a little scattered due to the overwhelming traffic as we got – more... closer to the holidays. My co-workers were all on the younger side, so i really enjoyed working with people my age. Toughest part of the job was selling the massage chairs. The massage chair retails for over 3k, so i had a tougher time selling those to walk ins. I had the most fun talking and ringing people up at the check out line. I thoroughly enjoyed the fast paced tempo at the register, – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Toy store for Adults!
Seasonal Store Manager (Former Employee), Chestnut Hill, MAMay 30, 2014
Pros: great products, regular sales, return customers
Cons: some items overpriced, 8 hours standing
My experience with Brookstone, goes as far back as 1998 when I first worked there as an Assistant Store Manager. It was a fun challenge as we introduced our products to adults and children as well. I called it the "Happy Hardware" store because many products we sold added fun to things you do every day. I brought enthusiasm to my sales team by teaching – more... new ways to introduce products to our curious customers. My most recent position held at Brookstone was Store Manager where I was responsible for opening and closing the store, counting the safe, organizing displays, ordering merchandise, training my sales associates as well as other duties required. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT COMPANY
Assistant Manager (Current Employee), Stamford, CTMay 29, 2014
With destructing of the company im excited to see what the future holds
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good company
SALES ASSOCIATE (Former Employee), Orlando, FLMay 19, 2014
Pros: you get to enjoy the massage chairs on your break time. get to try the new products that came in.
Cons: not enough hours.
For seasonal position it was fun and enjoyable. You learn how to engage with the customer and make them feel welcomed. Have the customers try out the products. Management was good and made training fun. Co-workers helped you out and also showed you how things should be done. They do know the meaning of team work. Hardest part about Brookstone was to – more... make your sales goals by the end of the day, but with management coaching you it was possible. – less

1 2 3 4 5

About Brookstone

Need a putting green for the office? How about an alarm clock that responds to your spoken commands? Then Brookstone is the place – Read more

Brookstone Photos