Broward County Public Schools Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Butterfly World
SUBSTITUTE TEACHER (Current Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLOctober 12, 2017
The typical day for substitute teacher has to be one of the most challenging job there is; we enter other peoples space and take charge for a day. You learn to adapt to no two days are the same.
Pros
the progression in students
Cons
no benefits or compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cultural Diversity Work Place
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 30, 2017
Broward schools are a good place to work, however working as a substitute teacher, I think that we should be paid more. Many substitute teachers like myself are qualify and still doesn't get paid more than those that have less qualifications. Working as a substitute teacher is an essential service and for us not get any compensation during the summer breaks like usual is not right. I really feel that paying us on a scale level according to qualifications would be a fare deal.
Pros
We paid the same price for lunch as regular teacher
Cons
We got no benefit, neither do they pay social security for substitute teachers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Educational Environment
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Hollywood, FLSeptember 21, 2017
Most underpaid and under appreciated workforce. For the required amount of stress and workload a member of staff must truly feel a passion for educating the next generation.
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not all schools are good place to work
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 24, 2017
Typical day at work:
Arrive on time to school. Receive instructions bout class room, policies and lesson plan. Develop manger classroom to stimulate students to complete assignments and to reach good and secure behavior.
Left report to actual Teacher.
Pros
Good exoerience with collaborative students and colleages.
Cons
There are schools where the discipline is hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a real sweat shop
part time (Former Employee) –  ft lauderdaleAugust 23, 2017
sent to kangaroo court courtesy of management services which runs interference between florida retirement system and broward school system .was designated temporary but did the same job for 15 yrs.i worked side by side with other vested teachers , doing the same job [same number of students, same student evaluations, same hours]
Pros
none
Cons
pension fraud, refused to pay pension credits for vested employee
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A county I would recommend
Substitute Teacher (Current Employee) –  Pembroke Pines, FLAugust 23, 2017
Working for Broward County Public schools is fine. I mostly work in elementary schools and do middle schools a few times when the work choices are slim. For the most part, I enjoy subbing. It is hard to give a review on the county because basically each school is different and you just have to find the schools you feel comfortable working at. Which is a positive because you get to choose which schools to work at. This is great for people who are just entering the education field because you get to visit different school environments and network. This helps to build rapport with a lot of school staff and administers which lead to opportunities for advancement.

There are different types of substitutes: daily substitute (work at different schools that they choose, make $11.27/hour), pool substitutes (work at only one school which they are hired by the principal, makes $12.67/hour), and interim substitute (which is temporally subbing for a teacher who is own leave, must have a degree, and makes $27.21/hour). So far, I have only done daily subbing and have been a pool substitute.

I would say if you're curious about substituting for Broward to go to their site under instructional staffing and see if the requirements and pay is something you're willing to do.
Pros
Freedom of choice, gain experience, opportunities for advancement and network
Cons
Not always daily for daily subs, no benefits, pay is not the best
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work environment
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 22, 2017
I enjoyed working within the Broward County Public School System and providing support to the teachers especially those with classrooms for children with learning disabilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place of employment
6th Grade Teacher (Current Employee) –  Oakland Park, FLAugust 13, 2017
Teaching middle aged students state approved curriculum. Using various instructional strategies and teaching practices. Usually a middle school teacher has 5 classes and a period set aside for planning. The opportunity to work with a diverse students, staff, and administrators is a plus. During the school year you will receive 3 day Thanksgiving break 2 week Christmas break and a 1 week Spring Break. There is opportunities for Professonal Development and Advancement within the District.
Pros
Summers off
Cons
Time Constraints
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upward Mobility
Teacher/Coach (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, FLAugust 9, 2017
If you are looking for a organization that will allow you to grow, then Broward Public Schools is a perfect place. I have seen custodians become Principal. If you are willing to work hard and invest in your professional as well as your personal development, it will not go unnoticed. It is hard to get in the door, they promote from within, sometimes you have to take the lesser position to eventually land a better position.
Pros
Hours of Operation
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work.
Substitute Teacher K-12 (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 7, 2017
I enjoy working as a substitute because I love making a difference in the children's lives. I also take pride in teaching them because I use it as practice to prepare me in the future when I get my Bachelor's degree.
Pros
teaching the kids
Cons
no insurance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

Want to know more about Broward County Public Schools?

Ask a question
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent workplace, no complaints
FULL TIME MAINTENANC E & CUSTODIAL WORKER (Former Employee) –  Deerfield Beach, FLAugust 7, 2017
As long as you can do your job to the best of your ability, nothing really pressing should arise. I had a fine time there. Great people and you get health benefits and holidays.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like it
Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FL 33301August 6, 2017
working with the school system was a good experience. I was able to create my own schedule and off on the week end. xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Pros
off on week end
Cons
no health care
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly workplace
Special Education Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 31, 2017
Broward County is in the top ten of the largest school districts in the United States. There are many different schools and positions in which one can chose to work. Throughout my time in the district, the support and assistance that I received at each step in my process whether it was just starting to work or applying to a different position was excellent. They are definitely committed to helping you find the right fit for you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
One of the best internships for growth
HEART Intern (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 26, 2017
At BCPS I found myself advancing more and more each day. The time I spent shadowing supervisors and directors helped me to easily maneuver from job to job. After my internship experience with BCPS I felt well prepared to seek employment in this field.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
Teacher (Former Employee) –  Hollywood, FLJuly 25, 2017
A typical day at school is very fast paced. I learnt how to stay on task when teaching and engage my students, Management was awesome and took care of their teachers. The workplace culture was very respectful. The hardest part of the job was having enough time to teach and complete all paperwork. The most enjoyable part of the job is seeing students excel.
Pros
Summers off
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable
Teacher/Instructor (Current Employee) –  Sunrise, FLJuly 21, 2017
Teaching is very rewarding in the impact the capacity of helping to create productive citizens. The downside is the ever increasing workload and expectations. The salary does not meet the constant rise of the cost of living.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing Autistic Cluster Team
Certified Teacher Assistant (Current Employee) –  Coconut Palm Elementary schoolJuly 13, 2017
Love the school and staff. Started working there when the Austistic Cluster opened. It has grown due to the amazing team work. Every one is caring and very professional. I would recommend this program to any parent that has an autistic child.
Pros
Great team work
Cons
Pay is low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well when there fast pace, when you sub go from school to school
Florida (Current Employee) –  FloridaJuly 8, 2017
You get to go from school to school when you a flooder, perma workers get jealiius think you want they job. Great place to work some employers nosey. Great hours.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Great benefits if you get fulltime perm postion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great fun job
Social Worker / Substitute Teacher (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 4, 2017
Loved working with the teen moms and a great team that worked for me. I would have stayed in this job but it was a temporary appointment that ended. Loved working in the school system.
Pros
Great hours and benefits
Cons
Temporary appointment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Improvements Could Be Made
Grade 1 Teacher (Current Employee) –  Coral Springs, FLJuly 3, 2017
I enjoy working at my school, but the county itself needs to improve the pay raises they give the teachers. In addition, Broward County seems to be behind on a lot of things compared to up north where I grew up. They need to grow with their technology and curriculum. They are making changes slowly, but this needs to be sped up in order to benefit the children and the teachers. There is too much inconsistency between schools and within the county.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Broward County Public Schools. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 105 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.0
Compensation/Benefits
3.5
Job Security/Advancement
3.6
Management
3.6
Culture
3.8