Broward Sheriff's Office Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 33 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broward Sheriff's Office
Child Protective Investigator (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 12, 2016
I enjoyed my career with the Sheriff's Office. Investigating child abuse someday's was very hard but yet rewarding because I was making a difference in a helpless child's life.
Pros
Excellent pay and benefits
Cons
long work hours not a job necessarily for a person with children with no support system
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Broward Sheriff's Office
Probation Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FlAugust 7, 2015
Communicating with clients was the most important part of my job as a Probation Officer and help them to work on the conditions of their sentences was the most satisfying part. The hardest part was seeing people violating their probation and go back in jail because their circumstances didn't allow the do what they were supposed to.
I never had any problems with the management neither with any of my coworkers. I did this job for about 20 years and I left with the satisfaction that I made the difference in many peoples lives.
Pros
Job security and benefits
Cons
stressfull, long days, hard to get time off.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent employer with great benefits
Criminal Investigator (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FloridaSeptember 22, 2015
If you are interested in a law enforcement career, BSO is a wonderful place to work. There is significant room for advancement, employees are professional and conduct themselves with honor and integrity, and the agency provides an outstanding retirement and benefits package (among the best in the US).
Pros
Compensation, job security, employee benefits, professionalism
Cons
Not a very creative or intellectually stimulating environment
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work Environment
Detention Technician (Current Employee) –  Pompano BeachOctober 13, 2015
A typical day on the job is like any other day, dealing with inmates, lawyers, doctors and nurses. The exciting part of my day is the fact that everyday I learn something new, but most of all I have learned not to take my job home with me. Management on my job is the key word of the day because without management there would be no academic discipline, management is an organization which follows production. My co-workers falls in the category of family, they have strong work ethic, respectful, high standards of support, and always there in time of need. The hardest part of my job is during Christmas, and the most enjoyable part of my job is putting a smile on everyone's face on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Child Protective Investigator (Current Employee) –  Plantation, FLNovember 2, 2015
Great agency with great benefits. This is a fast paced job and everyday is a new day. Great team work. Long hours can be stressful. Never a boring day.
Pros
Uniforms
Cons
long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes3No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding career
Deputy Sheriff (Former Employee) –  Tamarac, FLMarch 1, 2016
Under general supervision, exercises responsibilities for the enforcement of state and local laws relating to public safety and welfare. Exercises independent judgment in dealing with dangerous or unusual situations, exercising safety practices and procedures. Works under stressful, high risk conditions. Reports to assigned Sergeant or Lieutenant.
Was this review helpful?Yes2No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Public Safety at its finest
911 Communications/Certified Training Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 30, 2016
I have worked with wonderful people in dispatch, the dedication to public safety and teamwork was just incredible. We spent more time together and experienced more situations then with our own families, we were a family in every aspect.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Courthouse and Jail Administration
Confinement Status Specialist (Current Employee) –  Ft.Lauderdale, FLOctober 20, 2015
My department consist of about 20 people. My position is called Confinement status specialist. Part of my job is attending Magistrate court. Magistrate court is the first hearing inmates legally attend after they have been incarcerated. I run, update, review our jail administration system. The other part of my job is in the office where we deal with In and Out of custody programs, transportation, Baker act and etc... The hardest part of my job is making sure that all the inofrmation matches between defendant and paperwork. I enjoy not working week-ends.
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great agency to work for
DEPUTY SHERIFF / CORPORAL (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 13, 2015
Every day was something different. Large law enforcement agency with many avenues for advancement and assignments. Good training offered and required on a regular basis. Very professional agency.
Pros
GOOD BENEFITS
Cons
BENEFITS SLOWLY BEING TAKEN AWAY...
Was this review helpful?YesNo2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Benefits
Communications Operator (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 16, 2014
Loved the company culture..very professional organization. Did not see an opportunity for advancement with other positions.
Pros
benefits
Cons
work life and schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes11No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Law Enforcement Agency
Patrol Sergeant (Former Employee) –  Ft. Lauderdale, FLJuly 1, 2014
Excellent Law Enforcement Agency with numerous positions and room for advancement.
Pros
great benefits and take home car
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dynamic Agency
Command Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FloridaDecember 19, 2014
The Broward Sheriff's Office is the largest fully accredited public safety agency in the United States with nearly 6,000 employees. BSO provides law enforcement, fire rescue and detention services to the nearly 2 million residents of Broward County. BSO provides law enforcement services to 17 municipalities within the county.
Pros
opportunity for advancement
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes4No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat Agency
Former Deputy (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 8, 2014
Money and benefits are important. However, your supervisors and co-workders are just as important and this agency lacks decent supervision and not enough good people! Many can't be trusted and the agency is very cut throat. Police work is very dangerous and to have supervisors / co-workers that do not have support you / back you up makes for bad work chemistry. If you choose to apply with this agency, do a ride along and see they moral of the district you are with. Let your own eyes see
Pros
money and benefits
Cons
low moral
Was this review helpful?Yes10No5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Communications Operator III (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJune 24, 2015
Very structured organization with knowledgeable staff who are helpful. I would recommend anyone who has a chance to work for this organization.
Pros
Very exiciting workplace
Cons
shift work
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting
Purchasing Agent (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 22, 2014
Busy and challenging
I am learning new things every day
Management is fair
Co-workers are great
Hardest part of my job is not being able to make everyone happy
The most enjoyable part of my job is having the team of co-workers that I have to work with.
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security.
MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR OF SUPPORT SERVICES (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 10, 2013
I start work by reviewing our work loads for the day any city or county projects that we are conducting. Inspect tools, machinery and reports for the day. Conduct roll call each morning and hand out work assignments. Day to day is hard I just work through it. The most enjoyable part of my job is working on new ideas to improve the facilities needs working with other staff members and having a great work environment.
Pros
good benifits good vacations good pay
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes2No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great to work for
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLJanuary 5, 2015
it's a great company to work for with excellent pay and benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes8No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant to Chief of Staff (Current Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FloridaJuly 13, 2014
The current administration has made strides in Uniting Broward County and increasing moral within an agency of over 5,500 employees. During this administration's first year in office, Crime is down by 13%. Less juveniles have been put in jail for misdemeanor mistakes and breaking the cycle of homelessness is being addressed. BSO is more than just an ordinary law enforcement office. The agency cares about each and everyone in their community, regardless of race, religion or other.

Dedication is the key. Co-workers are amazing, honest, loyal and dedicated.

This is not just a 9-5 job. Many community events attended are in the evenings or on weekends. To succeed, you will need to put your heart and soul into the position.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and grow friendships.
Firefighter/First Responder (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLOctober 20, 2014
We worked a 24 hour shift with 9 other people on the shift. We worked, trained, socialized, cooked and became a team and family. The toughest part of the was dealing with injuries and lose of patients, victims and fellow employee's. The best part of my job was the success and rewards of personnel and team accomplishments in the line of duty. The friendship that you develop over the time of service.
Pros
it was like a family hanging out together.
Cons
round the clock service. calls at 3am were not fun.
Was this review helpful?Yes4No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Demanding
Drug Counselor (Current Employee) –  Lauderhill, FLAugust 14, 2013
I have loved working at the Sheriff's Office Drug Court. Being a Drug Counselor has given me the opportunity to change lives.
Pros
wonderful management / supervisors
Cons
swing shifts and distant to travel to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No1

Overall rating

4.5
Based on 33 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
4.2
Compensation/Benefits
4.6
Job Security/Advancement
4.3
Management
4.1
Culture
4.3