Find companies:
Broward Sheriff's Office
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
18 reviews

Broward Sheriff's Office Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Assistant to Chief of Staff (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FloridaJuly 13, 2014
The current administration has made strides in Uniting Broward County and increasing moral within an agency of over 5,500 employees. During this administration's first year in office, Crime is down by 13%. Less juveniles have been put in jail for misdemeanor mistakes and breaking the cycle of homelessness is being addressed. BSO is more than just an – more... ordinary law enforcement office. The agency cares about each and everyone in their community, regardless of race, religion or other.

Dedication is the key. Co-workers are amazing, honest, loyal and dedicated.

This is not just a 9-5 job. Many community events attended are in the evenings or on weekends. To succeed, you will need to put your heart and soul into the position. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Law Enforcement Agency
Patrol Sergeant (Former Employee), Ft. Lauderdale, FLJuly 1, 2014
Pros: great benefits and take home car
Excellent Law Enforcement Agency with numerous positions and room for advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cut Throat Agency
Former Deputy (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMay 8, 2014
Pros: money and benefits
Cons: low moral
Money and benefits are important. However, your supervisors and co-workders are just as important and this agency lacks decent supervision and not enough good people! Many can't be trusted and the agency is very cut throat. Police work is very dangerous and to have supervisors / co-workers that do not have support you / back you up makes for bad work – more... chemistry. If you choose to apply with this agency, do a ride along and see they moral of the district you are with. Let your own eyes see – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sheriff is a leader
Detective /Deputy (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLApril 24, 2014
Pros: everything is a positive
Cons: that the sheriff can be out voted at the next election
I left prior to the present Sheriff. However, Since he became Sheriff, in 2013, he has brought true police work back into Broward Sheriff's Office. I wished that I had stayed and worked for Sheriff but hopefully someday I will get the opportunity to work for him.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Community Service aid (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 29, 2014
Pros: great schedule and benifts
Cons: no team work
It was a great job. The best I've had in my career. I enjoyed working in the law enforcement field. I earned a lot of experience.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great experience
DETENTION AIDE (Former Employee), Pompano Beach, FLNovember 12, 2013
Working here was different that any job, I really learned alot. My coworkers were very helpful. I was able to take on and learn about various positions.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job security.
MAINTENANCE SUPERVISOR OF SUPPORT SERVICES (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLNovember 10, 2013
Pros: good benifits good vacations good pay
Cons: no cons
I start work by reviewing our work loads for the day any city or county projects that we are conducting. Inspect tools, machinery and reports for the day. Conduct roll call each morning and hand out work assignments. Day to day is hard I just work through it. The most enjoyable part of my job is working on new ideas to improve the facilities needs working – more... with other staff members and having a great work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
GREAT CO-WORKERS
Corrections Officer (Current Employee), Pompano Beach, FLSeptember 2, 2013
Pros: people i work with
A GREAT COMPANY TO WORK FOR. GAVE ME SUPERVISION SKILLS I CAN USE IN LIFE AND WORK.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding and Demanding
Drug Counselor (Current Employee), Lauderhill, FLAugust 14, 2013
Pros: wonderful management / supervisors
Cons: swing shifts and distant to travel to work.
I have loved working at the Sheriff's Office Drug Court. Being a Drug Counselor has given me the opportunity to change lives.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad agency/poor leadership
Detention Deputy Sheriff (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLJuly 30, 2013
Terrible agency. Politically driven. They use their employees up and spit them out. Your Co-workers are more dangerous than the criminals you deal with,
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a great place to work with excellent benefits.
Corporal (Former Employee), Pembroke Park, FLJune 25, 2013
In a typical day, it was routine patrol, making arrests, sometime acting in the capacity of the supervisor in the absence of the patrol Sergeant. Now that I've retired and relocated to Georgia, I can say it was a wonderful place to work.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BSO is a great place to work for it's people
Chief Information Officer (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale FloridaDecember 19, 2012
Pros: excellent exposure externally in both public and private sector
Cons: no growth from the cio
This is my second time as CIO with BSO and I find that i am simply in love with many of the people that calls BSO home.

The change in Sheriff or Administration every 4 years makes for C suites a bit challenging but still a great place to hand your hat for a few years.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Numerous and exciting responsibilities.
Program Specialist (Former Employee), Ft. Lauderdale, FLOctober 2, 2012
Pros: great program structure.
Great job, great program structure. Left due to relocation to TN.

October 19, 2012

Hi I applied for this job, does it take a while to hear back

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working there is a piece of cake
Detention Technician (Current Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLSeptember 2, 2012
Pros: long lunch breaks, no close supervision.
Cons: n/a
Good company to work for. The work is very easy your supervisors really care.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and family oriented place of employment
Records Clerk (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLAugust 1, 2012
A typical day at works includes communicating missing, lost, stolen (children, guns, cars, etc.) Conducting background screenings. Providing customer service to general public.
I learned
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
my poistion and where i worked was very intriguing to say the least.
County Deputy (Former Employee), Fort Lauderdale, FLMarch 31, 2012
every day something different would happen and make the job interesting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the 2nd larget Agency in the Nation
Deputy Sheriff (Former Employee), Fort lauderdale. FloridaJanuary 31, 2012
Pros: great stepping stone
Cons: very large.
Awesome training facilities, state of the art equipment and resources to get the job done.