Find companies:
Brown Mackie College
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
140 reviews

Brown Mackie College Employer Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Student's first, campus environment is to support the students.
Senior Director of Admissions (Former Employee), Louisville, KYOctober 16, 2014
Brown Mackie offers focused career education that helps students to explore their educational outlook as well as their career outlook and where they fit in. Great environment to help and support he student's success.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee), Hopkinsville, KYOctober 13, 2014
Excellent leadership. Wonderful students. Both make you feel as though you are having a positive influence in the community.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding Career
Financial Aid Advisor (Current Employee), Akron, OhioOctober 12, 2014
It was rewarding to help students develop a budget and a plan to help them pay for college.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Adjunct Faculty (Current Employee), Miami, FLOctober 11, 2014
Working for Brown Mackie has been a god send. They have allowed me to blossom into a great Professor. Their focus is truly on the student and they will help, educate and mentor all faculty to ensure their students are receiving the best product possible.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall good work environment
Director of Admissions (Former Employee), Merrillville, INSeptember 30, 2014
Sr. Director of Admissions Brown Mackie College, Merrillville IN
Responsibilities included but were not limited to:
• Hired and trained the admissions staff, managed all operations of the Admissions department with added focus in areas of, staffing plans, stability, development, motivation, growth and consistency
• Conducted monthly reviews, daily observations – more... and maintained weekly team accountability one on one
• Monitored daily, weekly and monthly activity, followed with corrective plans for success
• Managed and motivated Admissions team while maintaining a consistent (78%show rate)
• Developed and implemented an aggressive referral generating program (PDL conversion 48%)
• Managed overall re-enter process to surpass monthly re-enter budget
• Managed the Practical Nursing Program to consistently achieve the monthly target 100% to budget
• Generated marketing plans to support inquiry conversion (L to E 19%)
• Act as a liaison between student and other campus departments to facilitate an outstanding student experience
• Adhere to all school standards, and remain in compliance with all federal, state and accreditation requirements – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast, hectic pace.
Business Manager (Former Employee), South Bend, INSeptember 30, 2014
Pros: great teachers, dedicated students
Cons: management was horrible, job required a lot of work outside of normal business hours and no compensation.
Serving as the Business Manager, it was my job to collect funds from students for tuition and books as this was/is a for-profit school. Because the tuition was so high and funding for students was low, student were obligated to pay a very large portion of their tuition themselves and I don't believe they fully understood their financial aid packages. – more... Therefore, I had to collect large sums of money from students who were already struggling to make ends meet (they had families and other obligations). It was often like pulling teeth to have students pay their obligations, I had to threaten to hold their schedule until their payments were made, and often they submitted bad checks which required chasing them down.

On the up side, these were students who really wanted to advance their education - often single mothers striving to success and made a better life for their children. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work if you like ruining peoples lifes that you give hope to.
Associate Director of Admissions (Former Employee), Fort Wayne, INSeptember 29, 2014
Pros: jeans on fridays?
Cons: no communication, no real support and scared to tell friend where you work.
Brown Mackie takes a person who has never been given a chance and makes them think they can be something. they charge large amounts of money only to ruin the kids lifes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits and great co-workers
Student Financial Services Advisor (Former Employee), Michigan City, INSeptember 27, 2014
Pros: benefits
Cons: no cons
Great place to work at loved my job
Great Benefits right when you start
Great interactions with the students
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Students are eager to learn.
CLINICAL INSTRUCTOR (Former Employee), San Antonio, TXSeptember 15, 2014
Pros: high pay, student appreciation
Cons: administration is very short sighted with student goals.
Enjoyed being able to answer student inquiries. I also enjoyed being involved of the testing and information retention exercises.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very intense sales enviroment
Admissions - Assistant Director (Former Employee), San AntonioSeptember 8, 2014
Pros: steady employment
Cons: the doa is the worst manager i have ever encountered
They sell you this job by continually telling you that you will help change lives by enrolling prospects to becoming students. This is true, however, once in the position it is apparently obvious that the sales tactics are extremely tough and hard on the students. By helping the student is merely a fringe benefit, it is all about numbers and not helping – more... the students. In San Antonio the Director of Admissions verbally abuses the admissions reps and made it a hostile work environment. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very toxic work environment
SR. FINANCIAL AID OFFICER (Former Employee), South Bend, INSeptember 3, 2014
Definitely not a healthy place to be employed. No concern for those working on the lower rungs of the ladder. Blatant disregard of working conditions endured by those in understaffed offices. Overall, just a very unpleasant work environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work
Student (Former Employee), Miramar & MiamiSeptember 1, 2014
Pros: scheduling, caring staff, communications
Cons: location in broward county
It's hard work but rewarding. The admissions staff members work to change lives for many first generation college students. The schedule is very flexible and most of the staff is friendly. The admission job is tough but the leadership team is very supportive of its people.The leader believes in the students and keeps us all focused even after the students – more... start their classes, earn good grades and graduated on time He really cares about the students. He walks the halls and ensure students are okay, learning and always smiling. He's like a father to many of us students. The campus provides shuttle transportation for it's students to the main campus in Miramar, FL from two locations in Dade county. The cost may be high, but so is the graduation rate. If the students have an issue and feel they are not getting the proper answers, the admissions team will walk us to the right person and ensure our concerns are addressed and resolved. This is refreshing as I have attended several other schools, both public and private, and was always simply treated as a number. Local schools in the area may present cheaper prices up front on paper, but after these same public schools finish forcing you to take all of their non-credited so called "college prep courses, using up ll of your FA for the first 2 years, you end up at others schools for 4-5 year trying to earn an Associate Degree. At Brown Mackie Miramar and Miami, you actually earn your degree in 2 years.
The Career Services Team helps you build you resume and show you interviewing techniques along with valuable job leads. The lady in HR is cheerful. She makes all the students smile with her very friendly personality. The library lady is very sweet too as she is somewhat new and very friendly. This school cares about their students and provides free tutoring to students as needed. I wish this would have been the first school I had attended when I graduated high school and they encourages everyone to be their best and graduate on time and become someone with a purpose. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping people achieve a better quality of life
Assistant Director of Admissions (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 25, 2014
It was a for profit school, so when the lines of helping someone and profit crossover someone pays the price
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Adjunct Instructors
Adjunct English Instructor (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 25, 2014
Adjunct Instructors teach three nights per week. Mornings are from 9:00-1:00 pm nad evenings from 6:00pm-10:00pm.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business Executive
Director of Career Services (Current Employee), Oklahoma City, OKAugust 19, 2014
I am currently employed as the Director of Career Services for Brown Mackie College -OKC (established in Oklahoma City in 2011). Recruited in April 2013, I was given full responsibility for creating and implementing all systems and processes to ensure the success of potential graduates. Within the first quarter, I was successful in placing all potential – more... graduates in compliance with all ACICS guidelines. This trend of successful performance has been a common trend of my overall success, being named Top Director of Career Services for the entire Brown Mackie College System of thirty plus schools which is an entity of the Education Management Corporation.

My experience spans over twenty years of executive level management, from coaching, developing, mentoring some of the most talented individuals in the restaurant industry. Further, I have acquired solid general management skills in strategic planning, finance, budgeting, Human Resources and a vast array of project management experience.

I believe that my success is largely attributable to my ability to strategize a business plan, map the process, build the team, define the goals, implement the operations and deliver positive financial results. Further, I have an exceptionally strong hands-on background in business management that I believe is vital to making the right choices based on proven operational excellence.

Currently I am exploring new professional challenges in Career Services, and would welcome the opportunity to discuss any current positions you may have for a candidate with my qualifications. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great workplace environment with employees and most of management
Assistant Director of Admissions (Former Employee), South Bend, INAugust 12, 2014
Pros: employees, helping students continue education
Cons: on phones most of day, corporate guidlines
I would be on phone most of the day making appointments for interviews for interested students. Learned a lot on how to work with different types of students that came in to see the school. Learned about all our different programs we offered and was able to help direct students in to possible fields that would suit them best for their future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was Assistant Director of Nursing
Associate Director (Former Employee), Indianapolis, INAugust 11, 2014
Pros: great office atmosphere!
Cons: upper management did not back us up re: poor behavior on the part of faculty or students
I liked my job & my boss, but upper management was only there to make money and I was there to help my students and my nursing faculty. Tragically, worse upper management came in and fired the best faculty we had & left the average faculty (who were our biggest troublemakers) behind to continue to drag our State Board rates down.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, Fun, Calm work environment
Assistant Director of Admissions (Former Employee), Cincinnati, OHAugust 8, 2014
Pros: nice managers, flexibility, growth opportunities
Cons: long hours
I loved my job, it was a very busy but peaceful place to work! I would come here excited daily about the opportunity to serve my students..
I gave them tours, listened to their interest and concerns and ultimately help them start their path to a successful future.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Brown Mackie College is a very exciting place to work.
Teacher Assistant (Current Employee), Greenville, SCAugust 5, 2014
Brown Mackie College is a very exciting place to work. Management and co-workers are great to meet and greet everyday, working as a team going for the same goal. Meeting and assisting people of all walks of life. And knowing that I make a difference brings happiness to me. My hardest part is to leave. I would advise anyone who has not been to school – more... in a while and want that challenge I would advise them to attend and do the work study program at Brown Mackie College. – less
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work
Sales/Professional Recruiter (Current Employee), Atlanta, GAAugust 4, 2014
Decent place to work. Long hours but can be rewarding. Good co-workers. It is great to work with people and help them

1 2 3 4 5

About Brown Mackie College

Worried that traditional higher education could leave you enlightened but unemployed? Education Management may have the solution. – Read more