Brown Printing Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very good company but out of business
Project / Environmental Engineer (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, IlFebruary 3, 2018
- Very professional management
- Latest technology
- Quality conscious
- Respect to all employees
- Safety prime concern
- Customer oriented Company
- Overall Good Company
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
you worked 12 hour shifts
Master Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNOctober 16, 2017
Brown Printing is no longer was Bought out by Quad graphics. I did learn about lean manufacturing and dealing with lots of people and different culters
Pros
always very busy
Cons
got bought out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not open any longer
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAJuly 20, 2017
plant closed over 1 1/2 years ago. was a fair company to work for until the year before it closed.who probably not work for the company again concidering that quad bought them out.
Pros
overtime
Cons
on timely closing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Professional company
Billing/Invoicing (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNJune 18, 2017
A large company with several jobs/choices to advance. Management was super. A typical day would be to send out several invoices, reporting, and filing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
12 hour night shift
Binder Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Woodstock, ILJune 15, 2017
Fun place to work, people were nice and helpful, hard work, lots of standing and the shifts were hard to get used too. Didn't work there that long to give a better review.
Pros
Learned a lot and it was faced paced.
Cons
12 hour night shift
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Big enough to serve you small enough to know you
Senior Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAJune 5, 2017
Excellent company that was acquired in 2014. Before acquisition was a larger company with small company culture. Lean management structure allowed quick decisions and fast movement on sales matters.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
General Labor Worker (Former Employee) –  Dalton, GAMay 15, 2017
I worked their very little so didn't h e much to take in. I worked 3rd shift and I liked it but payed very little but a fun place to work as well as the people working their
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A family feel type of place to work
List Services Distribution Analyst (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNFebruary 24, 2017
Brown Printing Company proudly served premier magazine publishers, and catalog and brand marketers with premedia, printing, distribution and integrated media solutions. During its 50 years of successful operation, Brown was known for quality and customer service delivered via a state-of-the-art print-production platform. BPC cared about their employees and provided job security and great benefits.
Pros
Job Security, Great Benefits
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
bad
Jogger (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAFebruary 7, 2017
bad place to work the place is dirty and the management don't care about the people I would advise people to stay away from this place and look some other place for work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lots of hours, great benefits
Roll Tender, general laborer (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNJanuary 13, 2017
lots of hours to be gotten at the time, benefits were almost unmatchable, but shift i worked (rotating swing shift) did not work well with my growing family,
Pros
great benefits, and chance for advancement
Cons
rotating swing shift hard for family
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
maintenace electrician (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNOctober 26, 2016
High paced, nice employees, a lot of training.
Management was well organized, willing to support employees.
My co- workers were easy to work with and helpful.
Most enjoyable part was the teamwork of all maintenance personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Production Planning Manager (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PANovember 24, 2015
Working here was like working with a family. Management listened to your ideas and allowed you to act on your ideas which created a team building atmosphere. Everyone knew everyone and worked well together
Pros
Co-workers
Cons
Some of the Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and enjoyable work environment
Customer Account Manager (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PANovember 15, 2015
Brown Printing Company was well established with three printing plants in the USA.

I have had the opportunity to grow with this company during my 21 years. I started off on the production floor and moved my way up gaining experience in paper inventory, billing, estimating, contract systems analyst to customer account manager before the company was sold to Quad/Graphics.
Pros
Turkeys at Thanksgiving, Hams at Easter, Christmas Party's, Summer Picnics
Cons
The company was sold
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and medium speed job
Bindery Utility (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PennsylvaniaJuly 27, 2015
We would fill the pockets for the machines with paper. It was very repetitive but the people were really easy going and it made the job a lot better.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great benefits
PRODUCTION WORKER (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAJuly 5, 2015
been a long time since I have been there but the benefits were great, had job advancement. I noticed they had changed their name. one downfall was standing for 12 hour shifts.
Pros
great benefits, job advancement
Cons
standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun workplace. Held different events throughout the year to keep morale at a igh level
Imaging Technician (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAMay 12, 2015
Brown Printing Company was purchased by Quad Graphics in May of 2014. Many job cuts were made to streamline the operation in adherence to Quad's business model. BPC was a very successful magazine and catalog printing company. The same work is being performed there today by Quad Graphics.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good money.
Floor Employee (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAApril 30, 2015
How to stand my feet for long periods of time. Management was alright. Co-workers were awesome helped me when I messed up. The pay was the best part.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Standing for hours
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
like my job, working with numbers daily
Estimator (Former Employee) –  East Greenville, PAFebruary 23, 2015
Creating price schedules to create a printing quote for sales
Busy creating several quotes a day or additional pricing if needed
I learned a lot about how the equipment worked and what could be produced at the plant I worked at and the other plants
Coworkers were team players
The hardest part of the job was inputting the spec on both cost side and quote side
The most enjoyable part of the job was when a quote sold and your work paid off
Pros
Good people to work with
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Great Start Up Position for a Graphic Designer
Graphic Designer (Current Employee) –  Meridian, MSFebruary 7, 2015
This is a small, family-owned print shop and a new graphic designer will learn so much from being here. They aren't a big company so they can't afford to pay much, but the experience is worth it. The coworkers are more like family than coworkers, they can be so nice and funny - it never seems to get boring. The hardest part was getting used to the graphic designer in charge at the prepress graphics department. She can be pretty moody and snappy sometimes, but as long as you stay respectful and are responsible she won't be too mean... She just has her moments. I am looking forward to moving on and getting a better paycheck, but I will miss the people and flexibility that I had here. Overall it is good for a new designer who needs to learn about the printing process.
Pros
long lunch break, fun coworkers, great experience, flexibility
Cons
Not much money
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lots of mandatory overtime
Material Handler/Mail Control Sorter (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNJanuary 15, 2015
12 hour shifts, busy all day. filling pockets, back up QA, Mail Control Sorter.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Brown Printing Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 45 reviews
517
414
39
23
12

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture