Find companies:
Brown Shoe
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
34 reviews

Brown Shoe Employee Reviews

Company Attributes

  • Job Work/Life Balance
  • Compensation/Benefits
  • Job Security/Advancement
  • Management
  • Job Culture
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't do it!
Assistant Manager (Former Employee), Troy,miJanuary 22, 2015
Pros: nothing
Cons: not enough pay for all the things they ask from u.
This company does'nt care about there employees make u open the store alone. And receive shipment by your self at 6am in the morning.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and team enviornment
Production Operator (Former Employee), Lexington, TNJanuary 10, 2015
Pros: healthcare benefits
Cons: not enough money to live on
We had to get the work out off a line so that you could meet your production quota. The thing that I learned most from working with this company is how to get along with coworkers. the hardest part of this job was to make sure you had enough shoes to make your quota. My coworkers were enjoyable to work with.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Assistant Sales Manager (Former Employee), Jackson, MIOctober 7, 2014
A great place to work for. Typical day is helping customers and stocking shelves.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people, great stores
District Sales Manager (Former Employee), OklahomaSeptember 27, 2014
Oversee the operations and ensure a great customer experience for multi-units.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Current Employee (Current Employee), Lebec, CASeptember 21, 2014
Pros: great discounts on shoes.
Good place to work.
Benefits OK.
Good people in management team
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Where creativity goes to die...
Designer (Former Employee), St LouisAugust 28, 2014
Pros: soda/coffee free, opportunity for movement
Cons: work load, hours, culture, no bonuses lower than director level
BWS is the epitome of big business. If you want to be a true designer, Brown Shoe STL is not for you. Quantity over quality is standard practice. The bottom line (profit margin) is the top priority. Sales force fears change and new concepts and will only get behind whats proven very safe. Brands end up chasing trends rather than staying on leading edge or even contemporary. Management style in design & development is about pointing the finger rather than solving the problem.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service rep
Customer Service (Former Employee), Clayton, MOApril 16, 2014
Pros: $2 shoes
Cons: stablitiy
Received inbound calls for placing shoe orders, I tracked packages, I was corporate office for shoe store so we handle customer complaints and commets
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do yourself a favor and run.
store sales manager (Former Employee), elko nvFebruary 12, 2014
Pros: not a thing
Cons: everything about this company
I have never walked out of a job in my life until this one. The company has ridiculous expectations and crazy policies. They micromanage you to death and don't actually let their managers manage. The "training" is a joke. I guess this would be the perfect job for those who don't like to think for themselves and want no challenge except trying to figure out who's stealing shoes. On top of all of that they spy on your Facebook and other social media pages, that was really the last straw for me. Good luck to anyone who needs a job so badly they take this one!
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I like working here a lot of mulititasking. Fun , nice co-workers
Inventory Control Clerk (Former Employee), Fontana, CAFebruary 3, 2014
Pros: the vacation, being thank for the job well done
Cons: not the greatest lunch room.
Start with little supervision, learn other position on daily biases . My manager was very good by cross training in everyway. I get along well with co-worker very well. The hardest part of my job was keeping busy when we found out we were closing.
Most enjoyable part was when we were busy I love to be busy all the time ....
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Hardest Part Of The Job
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee), Allen Park, MIJanuary 19, 2014
Keeping up with every customer , while watching who may be shoplifting.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Sales Associate (Former Employee), Oklahoma City, OKNovember 12, 2013
Solid job. Great staff. Doesn't provide a stress free environment.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was a fun place to work, didn't like co-workers
Order Filler (Former Employee), Sikeston, MOOctober 29, 2013
I liked working at Brown Shoe. It wasn't a tough job and could be fun. I had ran into a problem with sexual harassment and nothing was done to fix the problem so I left because I didn't feel comfortable knowing something more could of been done.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun at times
Assistant Store Manager (Current Employee), Niagara Falls, NYOctober 23, 2013
Too focused on money. Employees get little time with families on weekednds and holidays.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun place to work
Product Imaging Associate (Former Employee), Elizabethtown, KYSeptember 18, 2013
Pros: we all went out to lunch together on payday friday
Cons: moved to wisconsin
A typical day was to be able to work hard and play hard. It was lot of fun but we always got our work done and on time and effectively and efficiently. I learned a lot of self-confidence and self esteem at that job. All of my co-workers worked well as a team, like a well oiled machine. The hardest pat of the job was spring when the new lines came out and we 15,000 shoes come through. Everything was enjoyable
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Catalog Sales Agent (Former Employee), Salem, ILSeptember 18, 2013
enjoyed this job very much - best perk was the discount on shoes
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to Work
Store Manager (Current Employee), CaliforniaSeptember 1, 2013
Great place to work, great benefits. Pay is decent but not great, minimum 45 hour work weeks can be a drag. Upward mobility is very limited.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unprofessional
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee), St. Louis, MOJuly 19, 2013
I enjoyed working here to an extent. Some of hte management were quite unprofessional. The atmosphere for the most part was quite positive.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun cooperate environment with a close knit feel
Store Sales Manager (Current Employee), Seattle, WAJuly 9, 2013
Pros: located in business district with lots of available food options for lunch and after work, close to parks and entertainment options
Cons: small city feel
-very big on internal promotion
-exciting industry
-great vision for where company should go
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to come in as a entry level associate
consumer service associate (Current Employee), st. louis, MOMay 14, 2013
Pros: the functions... united way events, corp challenge, march of dimes
Cons: having a adherence schedule... meaning scheduled 15 min breaks and lunches
i never worked customer service before (call center) and being a degreed employee, degree in *Remains anonymous* , i took the approach "just get in the door" meaning starting at a entry level position i can work my way up or get the position i desired, being a internal candidate. WELP i was wrong. its difficult to advance, the pressure they put on you to take calls should be a crime. everyone cant have that "cheerful uppity voice" brown shoe looks for in every associate, NO MATTER YOUR ETHNICITY... the playing field is not fair.. and the quality assurance is terrible and bias!!! that is a big factor on your career advancement.
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
IT Department VERY POORLY RUN
IT Software Developer (Current Employee), Saint Louis, MOJanuary 25, 2013
Pros: shoe discount
Cons: management
Not organized. Incomplete documentation to work from... No communication. Negative finger pointing environment.

Management should get their own skills up to par, YOU NEED IT BADLY –

.
.

About Brown Shoe

There's no business like the retail and wholesale shoe business for Brown Shoe Company. Brown Shoe operates about 1,100 value-priced – Read more

Brown Shoe Salaries

Store Manager
$43,000 per year