BrownGreer PLC Employee Reviews in United States

Showing all 18 reviews
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A Day at BG
Financial Claim Reviewer (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LANovember 2, 2015
Working at BrownGreer is not only challenging, but very family oriented. The bonds that were built and the people that I've met, definitely taught me things about myself that I never knew.
Pros
Flexible Work Schedule
Cons
Micro-managing
Was this review helpful?YesNo1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
BG is the best of the best in terms of industry standard.
Analyst I (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAAugust 8, 2015
BrownGreer is considered the best of the best in terms of claims administration. The company values individuals with a background in the legal field.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Strong work enviroment but poor Stability
Claims Processor II (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 30, 2015
this company is a very Strong company to work for work ethics are very very high , but they keep the employees on edge of being fired all the time
Was this review helpful?Yes1No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work atmosphere
Financial Claims Reviewer, Level III (Current Employee) –  New Orleans, LAMarch 3, 2015
I have been employed at BrownGreer PLC since Feb 2013. The most enjoyable part of my job is that I get to help these victims of the oil spill reclaim their businesses and their livelihoods.

On a daily basis, I review business economic loss claims submitted as a result of the BP oil spill in 2010. This includes the analyzing ownership, financial and tax documentation (federal and state) of claiming businesses to determine how much compensation they should receive for their loss.

I enjoy everything about my job (management, co-workers, overall environment), except for the fact that I do not believe that I am challenged. This is the most difficult part of my position. I have been within the top 5% of reviewers (accuracy, productivity & efficiency) since my first quarterly evaluation and am currently within the top percentile.

Overall, working at BrownGreer PLC is a great experience and has provided me with working experience within the accounting finance fields.
Pros
good management and relaxed work environment
Cons
uncertain date of release of employment
Was this review helpful?Yes2No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for as a contractor
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Richmond, VAFebruary 7, 2015
I am currently a contractor there and looking for a full time position there or with another company. I have bee given projects that have helped me build my skills to further my career into becoming a project manager.
Was this review helpful?YesNo3
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting
Litigation Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VANovember 2, 2014
I was able to put my data entry skills to work and learn how to put information from a file onto a website. It was a good learning experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNo5
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun work place
Quality Assurance Claims Reviewer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAOctober 9, 2014
Was a good experience. Unfortunately there is no room for growth and no job security.
Pros
frosty fridays
Cons
no security
Was this review helpful?Yes2No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst place to work
Financial Claims Reviewer (Quality Assurance Team) (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJune 19, 2014
This company hires a bunch of people through temp agencies and some are direct hires. They put you through a series of tests which determines whether you stay or go. I was there for two years and never received a raise. They do not give raises. Chances of moving up in the company are slim to none. They do massive lay offs that nobody knows about until an email is sent on a Friday right before the shift is over which leaves employees stressed the entire weekend wondering if on Monday they will be one of many to be let go.Management is a joke. And God forbid you have an issue...they will claim to be "investigating" but do absolutely nothing. They walk around all day like buzzards looking for deceased corpses. The work is easy but the level of stress is beyond what is necessary. HR is also a joke. Bonuses are given to people who do not deserve them which makes those who do feel like its not something to be proud of. Job security is 0. No one knows when a project is ending which would lead to everyone losing their jobs. They talk down to employees in the most nastiest and rude way through email.
Pros
very generous bonuses
Cons
no job stability. poor management. stressful work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes19No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Financial Claims Analyst
Financial Claims Analyst (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LAJanuary 16, 2014
Processing financial claims was a great experience that helped lots of the people here int he New Orleans and surrounding areas, unfortunately this was a temporary position, as the company was based in Virginia. Although we all knew that the work would not last it was a great experience. I was able to advance in career as a manager, as well as gain experience with orientations and teach newcomers about the process, the job responsibilities, and express my gratitude, as well as showcase my thorough knowledge of the business.
Pros
great experience
Cons
contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes5No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive Company
Claimant Assistant (Former Employee) –  Gulf Shores, alJanuary 2, 2014
Very productive company with an energetic staff. Loved working for the company.
Was this review helpful?Yes3No
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace.
Subsistence Interviewer (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAOctober 20, 2013
A typical day at work began at 8:30 AM and ended at 5:30 PM and was pretty to the point. I have learned many things; including: how to be a better leader, be a great listener, type faster, review claims and analyze information, how to communicate on a more professional level, to sympathize with clients, and to be a better person all around. Management was very professional and task oriented. The job was great! I did have to retain a good bit of information and stay on top of policies that would change quite often. Really, the only hard part was knowing the job was temporary. The most enjoyable part of the job was being promoted and learning new roles.
Pros
paid holidays, great benefits and insurance, and every paycheck earned 6 hours of vacation time.
Cons
the job was temporary.
Was this review helpful?Yes1No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This place is a joke!
Claims Reviewer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, vaOctober 9, 2013
This place was one of the worst managed places I ever worked. Whenever there was a question asked, there was never a straight answer provided. One person would tell you one thing and another person would give a different answer and then you were held accountable if your work was incorrect. My supervisor was the most unprofessional supervisor I have ever had, making the statement that she had no idea why she had not been fired because she had no idea what she was doing and to me, it was obvious that she was telling the truth.
Pros
absolutely nothing!
Cons
lack of professionalism
Was this review helpful?Yes13No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work.
Claims Quality Assurance Analyst (Current Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAAugust 10, 2013
I have learned a lot as a BrownGreer employee. Management and co-workers are very supportive and always work together as a team. The hardest part of the job is that there is always so much to learn and a person must be able to stay alert and give 100% at all times.
Pros
there is always something new to learn working here.
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNo4
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Claims (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJuly 30, 2013
If you are not an attorney, and you show any sort of aptitude, be prepared to work all hours of the day and night. A lot of this is because management doesn'tt know what they are doing. Once the BP case is over they will go through massive layoffs. They aren't getting enough business to justify 1200+ employees. Be careful if you decide to work here.

The atmosphere is a place where hopes and dreams go to die. Unless you are in the right clique, your soul will be crushed like a grape.
Pros
you're kidding, right?
Cons
management, atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes17No2
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Benefits
Claims Assistant (Current Employee) –  Mobile, ALJuly 20, 2013
Great Co-workers and Great benefits, Good shift, High Volume environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNo
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Call Center
Claims Reviewer (Former Employee) –  Glen Allen, VAOctober 8, 2012
Leadership was very helpful and professional. Reviewing claims for accuracy was challenging because of the length and details in each claim.
Pros
hours of operation were great
Cons
temporary employment
Was this review helpful?Yes3No1
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Depends on where they put you
Claims Reviewer (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJune 19, 2012
The office is mostly filled with young people, which is nice. The work itself, on the other hand, is entirely dependent on the case you're working on, or "team" you're on. I personally had a lot of moral issues with the work I was doing there. The job also changed in nature while I was there, which is to be expected, but the way in which it changed (very suddenly, from analysis-based work to call-center) was extremely off-putting and a tough transition to make. There was no transparency whatsoever above the floor-level of employment.
Pros
lots of young people
Cons
ethical ambiguity, lack of transparency
Was this review helpful?Yes14No

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 18 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Culture